Monday 25 April 2016

The Lost Stone - Jordan Quinn and Robert McPhillips - Kingdom of Wrenly Book 1

The Lost Stone
The Kingdom of Wrenly Book 1
Jordan Quinn
Robert McPhillips (Illustrator)
Little Simon an imprint of
Simon and Schuster
ISBN 9781442496927

This book was a recommendation based on other books read and reviewed. I showed the cover to my youngest two and read them the summary and they were clamouring to read it. That enthusiasm stayed through this book and we are now part way through book two. The book was so exciting to children they often did not want to stop and kept asking for one more chapter. Reading the eBook we pause and expand every picture and take a closer look at it.

This is a short story about friendship, responsibility and adventure. It is the story of Prince Lucas, and his desire to have friends, after sneaking out of the castle his father relents and allows him to play again with his only childhood friend his age, Clara the daughter of the queen's seamstress. The adventure is Lucas and Clara receive permission to hunt for the Queen's lost emerald. So together Clara and Lucas travel around the kingdom retracing the Queen's steps for the past few days, to try and find the stone. The two set out to retrace her he way through Primlox, Burth and Hobsgrove.

As an adult reading the series it seems a lot of time is setting up things for other books. There are currently 9 books out in this series and a tenth on the way in under two years. As such this story is a little slower than the next in the series.  The kingdom of Wrenly is composed of a mainland and four magical islands, Each island is predominately inhabited by one type of creature, Primlox for the fairies, Hobsgrove for wizards, Burth for the trolls and Crestwood for the dragons.

Overall it was a good read. The kids loved it and love the illustrations and there are lots of them. We will continue on and see how the series progresses.

Books in the Kingdom of Wrenly Series:
The Lost Stone
The Scarlet Dragon
Sea Monster!
The Witch's Curse
Adventures in Flatfrost
Beneath the Stone Forest
Let the Games Begin!
The Secret World of Mermaids
The Bard and the Beast
The Pegasus Quest

No comments: