Tuesday 10 March 2015

Blood Brothers - James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell - The Order of Sanguines Book 1.5

Blood Brothers
Sanguines Book 1.5
James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell
William Morrow an imprint of
Harper Collins
ISBN 9780062326621

As I have stated before about this series, it has been a long time since a new author or series has seized me as much as these authors and this series. In a few days I read this short story, the first novel and the prequel short story. In fact The only reason I did not jump into book 2 was to take some time to write reviews of the first three I read. 

The Order of Sanguines is a secret society within the Catholic church, they are sworn to fight the Strigoi, vampires, but they also have other secrets. And this story follows two brothers Christian and Arthur, it also follows a series of murders that took place in the 70's and the story is being recounted by Arthur. It provides some interesting backstory about the Order of the Sanguines. It really wets the appetite foe book 2 Innocent Blood.  

I know it has become a trend for publishers to want short stories set in and around series. Either to draw attention or hype to new books, back fill stories, and keep readers interested. But sometimes these stories are just fodder to fill time, this is not one of those books. This was a great little read. The introduction to Christian and his story is excellent. In fact it left me desperate to read book 2. In fact this short story was so good it is a pity there was not one before book three came out. 

A great short story well worth checking out.

Books by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell:
The Order of the Sanguines Trilogy

0.5 City of Screams
1.0 The Blood Gospel
1.5 Blood Brothers
2.0 Innocent Blood
3.0 Blood Infernal

Tucker Wayne Series with Grant Blackwood:
The Kill Switch
War Hawk

Books by James Rollins:
SIGMA Force Series:

1. Sandstorm
2. Map of Bones
3. Black Order
4. The Judas Strain
5. The Last Oracle
6. The Doomsday Key
6.5 The Skeleton Key
7. The Devil Colony
7.5 Tracker
8. Bloodline
9. The Eye of God
10. The Sixth Extinction
11. The Bone Labyrinth

Kids & Adult Series
Jake Ransom and the Skull King's Shadow
Jake Ransom and the Howling Sphinx

Stand-alone Novels:
Deep Fathom
Ice Hunt
Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
Altar of Eden

Written as James Clemens:
The Banned and the Banished Series:

Wit'ch Fire
Wit'ch Storm
Wit'ch War
Wit'ch Gate
Wit'ch Star

The Godslayer Series:


Books by Rebecca Cantrell:
The Man in the Attic
A Time of Night and Fog
Cigarette Boy and Other Stories

Joe Tesla Series:
The World Beneath
The Tesla Legacy
The Chemistry of Death
The Steel Shark

Hannah Vogel Series:
A Trace of Smoke 
A Night of Long Knives 
A Game of Lies 
A City of Broken Glass 
Hannah Vogel Short Stories\Novella’s:
Cigarette Boy

As Bekka Black:
iMonster Series:

Tucker Wayne Series with Grant Blackwood:
The Kill Switch
War Hawk

Malibu Mystery Series with Sean Black:
"A" is for Actress or "A" is for Asshat 
"B" is for Bad Girls 
"C" is for Coochy Coo 
"D" is for Drunk 
"E" is for Exposed 
"F" is for Fred 
"G" is for Groovy 

No comments: