Thursday, 8 May 2014

The Desecrator - Steven Brust - A Draegaran Empire Short Story

The Desecrator
A Draegaran Empire Short Story
Steven Brust (Author)
John Stanko (Illustrator)
TOR.com Original
ISBN 9781429994569

This is another TOR.com Original short story by Steven Brust. This one is part of the Draegaran series of stories. This story is set prior to the Vlad Taltos novels. There are three characters of focus in this story. First the story is told from the perspective of Telnan who is also known as Zungaron and is a Dzurlord, or more specifically as Zungaron Lavode but that is another story. We also encounter the Hawklord Daymar, fans of the Vlad series will appreciate the younger Daymar and his interactions with both Telnan and with our third player. And finally Nightslayer, a great sword and one of the seventeen Great weapons, Daymar wakes up Nighslayer. Telnal tries to negotiate with the weapon.

Readers of Brusts other works will recall Telnan an assassin we first met in Dzur. Daymar we have encountered a number of times and it always proves interesting. Telnar is here at the bidding of Sethra Lavode and the story is his recounting events to her. Daymar is here as a desecrator, he is performing an archeological dig of sorts on an abandoned Serioli dwelling.

It is a rather humerous story some some great dialogue. However if you are unfamiliar with the Dragaran empire, and other works of Brust it could turn you off. But I believe it has a strength and typical Brust appear that will be enjoyed by all who like a good yarn.

Books by Steven Brust:
Vlad Taltos Publishing Order:

Jhereg (1983)
Yendi (1984)
Teckla (1987)
Taltos (1988)
Phoenix (1990)
Athyra (1993)
Orca (1996)
Dragon (1998)
Issola (2001)
Dzur (2006)
Jhegaala (2008)
Iorich (2010)
Tiassa (2011)

Hawk (2014)
Vallista (TBD)

Vlad Taltos: Chronological Order:
Taltos (1988)
Dragon, main chapters (1998)
Yendi (1984)
Dragon, interludes (1998)
Tiassa, section 1 (2011)
Jhereg (1983)
Teckla (1987)
Phoenix (1990)
Jhegaala (2008)
Athyra (1993)
Orca (1996)
Issola (2001)
Dzur (2006)
Tiassa, section 2 (2011)
Iorich (2010)
Tiassa, section 3 (2011)
Hawk (2014)

The Khaavren Romances:
The Phoenix Guards (1991)
Five Hundred Years After (1994)
The Viscount of Adrilankha, published in three volumes:
The Paths of the Dead (2002)
The Lord of Castle Black (2003)
Sethra Lavode (2004)

Other Books:
Brokedown Palace (1986)
To Reign in Hell (1984)
The Sun, the Moon & the Stars (1987)
Cowboy Feng's Space Bar and Grille (1990)
Agyar (1993)
My Own Kind of Freedom (2008)

Co Written:
The Gypsy (1992) with Megan Lindholm
Freedom & Necessity (1997) with Emma Bull

Incrementalist (with Skyler White):
The Incrementalists
The Skill of our Hands

Incrementalist Short Stories
Fireworks in the Rain - Steven Brust

Strongest Conjuration - Skyler White

Short Stories:
An Act of Contrition - Liavek (1985)
An Act of Trust - Liavek: The Players of Luck (1986)
A Dream of Passion - in the convention chapbook for Ad Astra (1986)
An Act of Mercy - Liavek: Wizard's Row (1987, with Megan Lindholm)
An Act of Love - Liavek: Spells of Binding (1988, with Gregory Frost and Megan Lindholm)
Csucskári - Excerpt from The Sun, The Moon, and the Stars in The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: First Annual Collection (1988)
A Hot Night at Cheeky's - Liavek: Festival Week (1990)
Looking Forward: Excerpt from Athyra in Amazing Stories, March (1993)
Attention Shoppers - Xanadu (1993)
Abduction from the Harem - in Timewalker Issue 14 (October 1996)
Drift - Space Opera (1996)
Valóság and Élet - in Sandman: Book of Dreams (1996)
Calling Pittsburgh - in Lord of the Fantastic: Stories in Honor of Roger Zelazny (1998)
When the Bow Breaks - The Essential Bordertown (1998)
The Man From Shemhaza - in Thieves' World: Enemies of Fortune (2004), reprinted in Year's Best Fantasy 5 (2005)
Klava with Honey - Eeriecon Convention Chapbook #4 (2005)
Chapter One - in Eeriecon Convention Chapbook #6 (2007)
The Desecrator - on tor.com (2011)
Fireworks in the Rain - on tor.com (2013)

No comments: