Tuesday 8 February 2011

Invasion - Jon S. Lewis - CHAOS Book 1

CHAOS Book 1
Jon S. Lewis
Thomas Nelson
ISBN 9781595547538

This book took me completely by surprise. From the promo blurb about the book it looked interesting, but once I was reading it, I came to the conclusion that it is fantastic. In some ways it reads like classic science fiction by authors like Robert A. Heinlien, Isaac Asimov and others, yet with a slight religious twist much like C.S. Lewis's Space trilogy. The story is extremely well written. The characters are fresh and exciting. The plot has some amazing twists.

Colt's life has changed more than he ever thought it could but this is only the beginning. His parents are killed in a car accident. He moves from San Francisco to Arizona to live with his grandfather. But soon he finds out that the comics he read as a child about an organization called CHAOS - Central Headquarters Against the Occult and Supernatural, were real and his Grandfather was the original Phantom Flyer during World War II. He soon discovers that his father was an agent and so are his older brothers. Soon he is informed that his parents' death was not an accident. His mother, an investigative reporter, was working on an expose of Trident Industries. With his long time friend Danielle and his new friend from school Oz, they start to try to put the pieces together about what his mother uncovered.
The story is filled with gadgets and gizmos aplenty, enough to make James Bond look under equipped. With jetpacks, flying motorcycles and killer robots the adventure is fast-paced and a thrill ride from start to finish. Combine that with aliens from parallel universes and a visit to another world, this story has everything in classic science fiction and adventure novels all rolled up in one. This book was a great read and I cannot wait for the next book in the series to come out.

(Note: I received an electronic galley of this book through NetGalley, courtesy of Thomas Nelson. The book was read on my Kobo eReader. As per my general disclaimer, free books have no impact on my review.)

Books by Jon S. Lewis:
Grey Griffins :

The Revenge of the Shadow King (2006)
The Rise of the Black Wolf (2007)
The Fall of the Templar (2008)

Grey Griffins Clockwork Chronicles:
The Brimstone Key (2010)
The Relic Hunters (2011)
The Paragon Prison (2012)

C.H.A.O.S. Series:
Invasion (2011)
Alienation (2012)
Domination (2013)

Free Realms:
Free Realms (12 part comic book series.)
Free Realms Book 1 (Issues 1-6) Graphic Novel (2010)
Free Realms Book 2 (Issues 7-12) Graphic Novel (2010)

The Mysterious Journals of J.S. Lewis (????)

Author Profile Interview with Jon S. Lewis.

No comments: