-->

Thursday, 31 December 2015

Top Ten Fiction Books 2015

Top Ten Fiction Books 2015

I was really surprised by my reading this year. 177 books is one of my best years since I started keeping track. So here is my list of Top Ten Fiction Books 2015. You can also read my book lists. You can see the list of all books read here, and favourite books here. There is even a favourite list of authors each year here

1. I Am Margaret - Corinna Turner

2. The Fire Within - Chris d'Lacey - The Last Dragon Chronicles #1

3. The Scorpion Rules - Erin Bow

4. The Blood Gospel - James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell - Sanguines Book 1.0

5. Stone in the Sky - Cecil Castellucci - Tin Star Book 2

6. The Giant Smugglers - Solomon Matt and Chris Pauls

7. Station Eleven - Emily St. John Mandel

8. Mythmaker - Marianne de Pierres - Peacemaker #2

9. Redacted

10. The Dragons of Wayward Crescent - Chris d'Lacey
Gruffen - Guage - Glade - Grabber

11. Need - Joelle Charbonneau

It was really hard to narrow down my picks from this year to a list of just 10.

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Wednesday, 30 December 2015

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2015

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2015

It was a really good quarter I managed to read 58 books this quarter and a good mix of fiction, and non-fiction. I have discovered some great authors and am already building my reading list for 2016. So here they are The top ten books of the third fourth 2015!

Fiction:
1. The Fire Within - Chris d'Lacey - The Last Dragon Chronicles #1
2. The Giant Smugglers - Solomon Matt and Chris Pauls
3. Station Eleven - Emily St. John Mandel 
4. The Dragons of Wayward Crescent - Chris d'Lacey
5. The Prompter - Chris d'Lacey
6. Judy Moody: Mood Martian - Megan McDonald and Peter H. Reynolds - Judy Moody Book 14
7. Stink and the Shark Sleepover - Megan McDonald and Peter H. Reynolds - Stink Moody Book 9
8. Stella Batts - None of Your Beeswax - Courtney Scheinmel - Stella Batts #7
9. Diary of a Grumpy Old Git: Getting Through Life One Rant At A Time - Tim Collins
10. Shadowhunter Academy - Cassandra Clare with Maureen Johnson, arah Rees Brennan and Robin Wasserman
The Fiery Trial Book #8 - Born to Endless Night Book #9 -Angels Twice Descending Book #10

Non-Fiction:
1. To Be A Father - Stephen Gabriel
2. Recovering Faith: Stories of Catholics Who Came Home - Lorene Hanley Duquin
3. Overcoming Sinful Anger - Rev. T.G. Morrow
4. Welcome Baby Jesus: Advent and Christmas Reflections for Families - Sarah A. Reinhard
5. Rediscover Advent - Matthew Kelly        
6. Prepare Him Room: Advent Family Devotions - Amy Welborn
7. The Motivation Code - Anthony Smits
8. Inspiration Language - Anthony Smits
9. Bulletproof Health and Fitness: Your Secret Key to High Achievement - Michal Stawicki - Six Simple Steps to Success Book 3  
10. Shift Work - Tie Domi 

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Monday, 28 December 2015

Glade - Chris d'Lacey - The Dragons of Wayward Crescent #3


Glade
The Dragons of Wayward Crescent #2
Chris d'Lacey
Orchard Books
Scholastic

ISBN 9781408302347

I have now read seven of Chris d'Lacey's books in the last few weeks. Most I have read with my children and a few myself to check their level for reading with my kids. I have been impressed with all of his books that I have read. This one I have read three times now and even after three readings in a short period of time it is entertaining and a great read.  Some of my criteria for great children's books are, first can an adult read it and enjoy the story, second, do I want to share it with my children and third, do children want to read it over again. This one passes all three of those tests with flying colors. In fact while reading this one to my younger two children, my oldest came into the room, when we finished reading, she asked me to start over with her so she could finish it with the others. I cannot give a book a higher rating that that my kids and I all loved it.

Liz and Lucy Pennykettle have a secret, even though Liz makes her living creating clay dragons and selling them in the market and at local fairs, some of her dragons are special dragons, they are alive and have a spark of real dragon fire inside them. In this instalment in the series a new special dragon has been made with the name Glade, She has a ring of ivy around her throat and it appears to change colors. Glade has asked Liz to come to the market, and is spotted by another young girl, named Melanie, the girl so wants Glade, but Glade believes she should go there to help with Melanie's Grandad. Glade seems to be able to make things grow, and she can sense feelings and emotions in people and respond to them. Pop's is forgetting things and life is a little hard right now for Mel and her mom. Maybe Glade can help but you will need to read to find out if so and how.

The Dragons of Wayward Crescent are a rare bread, both in dragons and in books. There are 4 great little books in this series and this series leads into The Last Dragon Chronicles. I understand that this series was originally planned for 12 books but alas we have only 4 to date, though there is hope d'Lacey will go back and write more after his current series is finished. But if not these are still 4 great stories and this one is especially touching and can be enjoyed by the young and young at heart. A great book in a great series!

Books by Chris d'Lacey:
Dragons of Wayward Crescent
Gruffen (2009)
Gauge (2008)
Glade (2009)
Grabber (2010)

The Erth Dragons
The Wearle (2015)
2. Dark Wyng (2016)

The Last Dragon Chronicles with David Rain
The Fire Within (2001)
Icefire (2003)
3 Fire Star (2005)
4 The Fire Eternal (2007)
5 Dark Fire (2009)
6 Fire World (2011)
7 The Fire Ascending (2012)
Rain and Fire: A Guide to the Last Dragon Chronicles (2010)

The Unicorne Files
1 A Dark Inheritance (2014)
2 Alexander's Army (2015)
3 A Crown of Dragons (2016)

Fly, Cherokee Fly Series
Fly, Cherokee Fly
Pawnee Warrior

Other Books
Henry Spaloosh! 
Horace
Shrinking Ralph Perfect
The Snail Patrol
The Table Football League
Riverside United
Lofty
From E to You
Scupper Hargreaves, Football Genie
The Salt Pirates of Skegness
Falling for Mandy
The Prompter

Picture Books:
A Hole at the Pole
Juggling with Jeremy
A Break in the Chain
Read With Bubble and Float
Dexter's Journey
Frankin's Bear


Contributed to:
On Me ‘ead, Santa
Nice One, Santa
The Usborne Book of Christmas Stories
Heroes and Villains
In the Frame

Midnight Feast

Author Profile and Interview with Chris d'Lacey.
























Saturday, 26 December 2015

The Big Bad Blackout - Megan McDonald and Peter H Reynolds - Judy Moody and Stink Book 3

Judy Moody & Stink: The Big Bad Blackout
Judy Moody and Stink Moody Book 3
Megan McDonald (Author)
Peter H Reynolds (Illustrator)
Candlewick
ISBN 9780763665203 
eISBN 9780763670320

There are now over 35 books between the different series that include Judy Moody and Stink Moody. And while some of the books that focus more on one or the other of them the best books are the four when they are featured together. In part because they come fully illustrated by Peter H Reynolds in full color, and in part because Jody and Stink are always better together. The first two cross over book The Holly Joliday focused on the holiday of Christmas, the second cross over book focused on family vacation and The Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad Mad Treasure Hunt. This one focuses around an extended blackout during a hurricane. And as usual when they Moody's are working together rather than fighting some great things happen. The chapters in this book are:

Crash Landing
Elmer
Big Bad Blackout
Ghost Toasties
Hurricane Annabelle
Annie Oakley and the Fireman
Mr. Drybones and the Viper
The Ghost of Weejie
Up Periscope!
The Ghost-Toastie Oath

As mentioned a hurricane hits and the Moody's are at home, and it is so bad that Gradma Lou has been evacuated and she comes to wait out the storm with them. But of course being a Moody adventure it is not that simple, Granma Lou had to being the neighbour's pets that they could not take to a shelter. So We now have mom, Dad, Granma, Judy, Stink, a cat named Mouse and a Pug named Pugsy, Milo a ferret and Candy Cane a snake. The Moody household is packed full and then the power goes out. No TV, little radio, but they have a fireplace, games and the family together. A great stay at home adventure takes place.

I really enjoy all the Moody books, but these joint books are always just a little more fun. It is a great book in a fun series that is linked to so many other good reads. So if you have not yet met the Moody's give it a try and if you have I am sure you will love it.

Books by Megan McDonald and Peter H Reynolds:
Judy Moody books:
1. Judy Moody
2. Judy Moody Gets Famous!
3. Judy Moody Saves the World!
4. Judy Moody Predicts the Future
5. Judy Moody, M.D. The Doctor Is In
6. Judy Moody Declares Independence
7. Judy Moody Around the World in 8½ Days
8. Judy Moody Goes to College
9. Judy Moody: Girl Detective
10. Judy Moody and the NOT Bummer Summer
10a. Judy Moody and the Not Bummer Summer (Movie Tie-In Edition)

11. Judy Moody and the Bad Luck Charm
12. Judy Moody Mood Martian

Judy Moody Activity Books:
Judy Moody's Double Rare Way Not Boring Book of Fun Stuff to Do
Judy Moody's Way Wacky Uber Awesome Book of MORE Fun Stuff to Do
Judy Moody's Mini-Mysteries and Other Sneaky Stuff for Super-Sleuths


Stink Moody Books:
1. Stink: The Incredible Shrinking Kid
2. Stink and the Incredible Super-Galactic Jawbreaker
3. Stink and the World's Worst Super-Stinky Sneakers
4. Stink and the Great Guinea Pig Express
5. Stink: Solar System Superhero'
6. Stink and The Ultimate Thumb-Wrestling Smackdown
7. Stink and the Midnight Zombie Walk

8. Stink and the Freaky Frog Freakout
9. Stink and the Shark Sleepover 

Stink-O-Pedia Volume 1: 
Super Stink-y Stuff from A to Z
Stink-O-Pedia Volume 2: More Stink-y Stuff from A to Z

Judy and Stink Books:
Judy Moody & Stink: The Holly Joliday
Judy Moody and Stink: The Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad Treasure Hunt

Judy Moody & Stink: The Big Bad Blackout
Judy Moody & Stink: The Wishbone Wish

Judy Moody and Friends:
Stink Moody in the Master of Disaster
Jessica Finch in Pig Trouble
Rocky Zang in The Amazing Mr. Magic
Frank Pearl in The Awful Waffle Kerfuffle
Amy Namey in Ace Reporter
Triple Pet Trouble

Stink and Judy Moody a Visual Bibliography

Books by Megan McDonald:
Sisters Club:

Sisters Club 1
Sisters Club 2 
Rule of Three 
Sisters Club 3 Cloudy With a Chance of Boys

Books by Peter H Reynolds: 
The North Star
ish
The Dot
Rose's Garden
I'm Here


Friday, 25 December 2015

Merry Christmas 2015

Merry Christmas
From 
Book Reviews and More
and
Yogi By Accident

Hope you have a blessed holiday season, and may you find many good books under the tree, or sent to you device for eReading.


Wednesday, 23 December 2015

Bulletproof Health and Fitness: Your Secret to High Achievement - Michal Stawicki - Six Simple Steps to Success Book 3


Bulletproof Health and Fitness: 
Your Secret to High Achievement
Six Simple Steps to Success Book 3
Michal Stawicki
AISN B019MJNEM0

I had the privilege of reading an early draft of this book a few months before it was released. I loved it. This final version was updated significantly, so much so that I reread it before writing my review and to be honest it is even better now. Michal has a way of motivating, inspiring and encouraging his readers. He is just an ordinary guy who through consistent practice and dedication to daily habits has achieved great success, physically, mentally and in his work life. He attributes much of his overall success to the start he got making health and fitness changes. Is he a fitness expert, no, does he have all the answers, no, but what he does offer is some sound simple advice based on research and personal experience. He states "Mastering your body is just a question of a few simple disciplines that you intimately understand: eat less, eat better, move more, drink smarter, and sleep better." And goes on to give some great advice to make those things happen. The chapters in this book that Michal works us through are:

Your Body Is Your Basic Asset 
Moderation Guarantees Results 
Biggest Mistake 
Your Life Is Made of Habits 
Sleep Quantity 
Sleep Quality 
Hack for Undersleeping 
Diets Don't Work
Fasting Is Not Fatal 
Variety and Weight Control 
Drinking Problem 
Fitness Shortcut: High-Intensity Interval Training 
Steady State Cardio 
I Like to Move It, Move It 
Can You Have a Successful Body? 
Success Through Your Body

Michal says "I only feel comfortable writing in-depth about solutions that I have experienced myself. Transforming a body is something that I have done well, and the "doing of it" started miracles in my life." And he offers some guidance for achieving the same in your own life. He declares "However, once I had recognized my ability to control my body, I was able to grasp the idea of control over my mind. The almost immediate feedback made me realize I had power over my life. Bodily transformation led to life transformation."  He reminds us of the truth that "Sadly, most of us are taught self-imposed helplessness. Our fears paralyze us. We don't take consistent action to achieve our dreams." So maybe this book can be the beginning of you going after your dreams, firth physically and then from the confidence that brings much bigger dreams. 

Moderation Guarantees Results is a great chapter, Michal says "My purpose in this book is not to present you with an out?of?the?box "21-Day Program for Rapid Body Transformation." What I can do is explain what a successful body is, and which avenues can lead you there. You'll need to be responsible for picking up the pieces that are right for you, the ones that will work for you." And he offers enough advice to get you heading in the right direction. He also states "To reiterate: this book is NOT a fitness program. There is no diet you must stick with to get results. That thinking is nonsense. I'll show you the elements I consider important in sustaining your body so your body will maintain you in your pursuit for success." He intends this book to be the basis for you creating and crafting your own lifelong health and fitness strategy. He gives us the tools and information and we make it our own and make it happen. 

One of the best pieces of advice in the book is "Therefore, I invite you to do what any reasonable person should do when met with contradictory advice: filter my suggestions through your experience, try my ideas one by one, and continue implementing the things that work. After all, we are talking about your body and your routine, not about the behavior of laboratory rats!" Again Michal is helping us to shape our own plan and giving us tools to help us achieve the goals we set. Later on he says "Moderation is the key to a successful body, and eating is the key to optimal body weight. If your body weight is outside the optimal Body Mass Index boundaries, I seriously encourage you to take some steps to change it. The majority of modern society has a problem with an excessive mass, and getting to your optimal weight means shedding some fat."  And a few paragraphs later "To summarize this chapter, I recommend a diet called "your diet." It is the one that allows you to keep an optimal body weight and energy level, not the one your friend (or even your doctor) recommends. "Your diet" should be one you can sustain (think ten years or more)." What immediately comes to your mind when you think 1, 3, 5 or 10 years out. Where do you want to be and how are you going to get there?

Michal reminds us again and again in his writing it is about small steps consistently done. He declares "Keep trying. Be persistent and do something every day to improve it. Once you achieve a satisfying level of energy, be mindful and don't slip into your old ways." Keep at it and slowly add to it. In the conclusion he says "More energy, higher self-esteem, and increased awareness about what you are able to do with your life are only a beginning. From those foundations, your life transformation will start. You'll be able to think with conviction about pursuing success, however you define it." With the help of this book and others Michal has written you can do it. So read the book, set some goals and go for it!

Books by Michal Stawicki:
The Art of Persistence: Stop Quitting, Ignore Shiny Objects and Climb Your Way to Success
A Personal Mission Statement: Your Road Map to Happiness
Trickle Down Mindset: The Missing Element In Your Personal Success

Slicing the Hype
99 Perseverance Success Stories: Encouragement for Success in Every Walk of Life

Six Simple Steps to Success
Simplify Your Pursuit of Success - Book 1
Know Yourself Like Your Success Depends on It - Book 2
Bulletproof Health and Fitness: Your Secret to High Achievement - Book 3
Making Business Connections That Count - Book 4

How to Change Your Life in 10 Minutes a Day Series:
The Fitness Expert Next Door - Book 1
Learn to Read with Great Speed! Only 10 minutes a day! - Book 2
Release Your Kid's Dormant Genius In Just 10 Minutes a Day: Parenting Your Smart Underachiever With Consistency and Love - Book 3
Master Your Time In 10 Minutes a Day: Time Management Tips for Anyone Struggling With Work-Life Balance  - Book 4
From Shy to Hi: Tame Social Anxiety, Meet New People, and Build Self-Confidence  - Book 5


Author Profile and Interview with Michal Stawicki






































Tuesday, 22 December 2015

Monday Of The Fourth Week Of Advent from Rediscover Advent by Matthew Kelly

This reflection is one of the best this holiday season. The emphasis in red below is mine. Taken from:



Rediscover Advent
Matthew Kelly
St. Anthony Messenger Press
ISBN 9781616361648
eISBN 9781616361648

Monday Of The Fourth Week Of Advent 
Judges 13:2-7, 24-25a; Luke 1:5-25 

Your Life Will Change When Your Habits Change 

The angel of the Lord appeared to the woman and said to her, "Although you are barren, having borne no children, you shall conceive and bear a son. Now be careful not to drink wine or strong drink, or to eat anything unclean, for you shall conceive and bear a son. No razor is to come on his head, for the boy shall be a nazirite to God from birth. It is he who shall begin to deliver Israel from the hand of the Philistines." Judges 13:3-5

Reflection 

What are your habits? What are the things you do every day, every week, every month? Are your habits helping you become a-better-version-of-yourself or are they self-diminishing? 

If you can tell me what your habits are, I can tell you what sort of person you are. Socrates, Aristotle, Thomas Aquinas, and Ignatius of Loyola established that habits create character. Good habits create good character, and bad habits create poor character. From a person's habits it is easy to deduce what his or her future will be like, because habits create character, and your character is your destiny. The good character created by good habits in turn creates a prosperous future, relationships, and in eternity. 

Most people live in the misguided fantasy that one day they will wake up and suddenly their lives will be magically different. It doesn't happen. These people grow old and die waiting. Others live in the illusion that if they make more money, get a new car, buy a bigger house, get a promotion, or vacation in the Bahamas, then their lives will change. This doesn't work either. 

Our lives change when our habits change. How would you like your life to be different this year than it was last year? How will this change come about? 

Meditation 

Which of my habits are helping me to become the-best-version-of-myself? Which habits are moving away from becoming the person God created me to be? 

Prayer 

God of love, as I come to the end of this Advent season, my heart is ready to celebrate the birth of Jesus. I join with Mary in saying, "Here am I, the servant of the Lord; let it be with me according to your word." Nothing is impossible with you, O God.


Books by Matthew Kelly:
Rediscover Jesus
I Know Jesus
The Long View
Decision Point: The Workbook
Decision Point: The Leader Guide
The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic
Rediscover Advent
The One Thing
Rediscover Lent
Off Balance: Getting Beyond the Work-Life Balance Myth to Personal and Professional Satisfaction
Rediscover Catholicism: A Spiritual Guide to Living with Passion
Why Am I Here?
Perfectly Yourself: 9 Lessons for Enduring Happiness
Building Better Families: A Practical Guide to Raising Amazing Children
The Dream Manager
The Seven Levels of Intimacy: The Art of Loving and the Joy of Being Loved
The Rhythm of Life: Living Every Day with Passion and Purpose
Building Better Families - 5 Practical Ways to Build Family Spirituality
The Book of Courage
The Shepherd: A Modern Parable about Our Search for Happiness
Mustard Is Persecution, Matthew Kelly Foundation
A Call to Joy - Living in the Presence of God
The Rhythm of Life: An Antidote For Our Busy Age
Words from God
Resisting Happiness
The Narrow Path
Our Father
Beautiful Mercy

Audio by Matthew Kelly from Lighthouse Media:
Becoming The Best Version Of Yourself
The Best Way To Live
Don't Just Try, Train
Faith At Work & The Holy Moment
The Four Signs Of A Dynamic Catholic - Excerpt
The Jesus Question
My Spiritual Journey
Our Lives Change When Our Habits Change
Raising Amazing Children
The Seven Levels Of Intimacy
The Seven Pillars Of Catholic Spirituality

Monday, 21 December 2015

The Prompter - Chris d'Lacey

The Prompter 
Chris d'Lacey
Corgi a decision of
Randomhouse
ISBN 9780552549349
AISN B0057WR3WY

Lately my children and I have been enjoying Chris d'Lacey's dragon books. But I wanted to give something else he has written a try. And this book was amazing. While reading it I thought of a few children I know, I could place many of them as characters chaptered in this story. Miss Everdue is putting on the play of Peter Pan and she believes there should be a spot for every student that wants to be in the play. 

Robin, is rambunctious, sometimes does not focus, it excitable, and maybe a little shabby or sloppy in his dress but he has a big heart. At first he lands the roll of Smee the pirate. But after one too many incidents the Head of the school Mrs Meredith ban's Robin from the stage. However Miss Everdue soon realizes Robin has a photographic memory and has memorized the whole script. He can prompt from the wings and not be on stage. But sometimes the best laid plans go awry, especially when 3 cast members come down with the chicken pox. Soon the play is in jeopardy. The head agrees to play the crock, and Hook's understudy steps in.

This was a wonderful read with a few fun and interesting twists. I thought of a young friend of the family, he recently said he would never win the sticker race at school for a prize. When asked why in a sad voice he responded he is always messy and does not always listen well. It was so sad. And Robin had the same kind of attitudes pushed onto him, until that one fateful night … but you will need to read the book to find out of Robin can turn the tables in the production of Peter Pan.

This is a great read for those with children who struggle to be part of the in crowd. Or for those whose kids are in that crowd so they can learn what it feels like. Overall a great book for young readers and those who love them. As stated at the beginning another amazing book by Chris d'Lacey so give it a try.
    



Books by Chris d'Lacey:
Dragons of Wayward Crescent

Gruffen (2009)
Gauge (2008)
3 Glade (2009)
Grabber (2010)

The Erth Dragons

The Wearle (2015)
2. Dark Wyng (2016)

The Last Dragon Chronicles with David Rain
The Fire Within (2001)
2 Icefire (2003)
3 Fire Star (2005)
4 The Fire Eternal (2007)
5 Dark Fire (2009)
6 Fire World (2011)
7 The Fire Ascending (2012)
Rain and Fire: A Guide to the Last Dragon Chronicles (2010)


The Unicorne Files
1 A Dark Inheritance (2014)
2 Alexander's Army (2015)
3 A Crown of Dragons (2016)

Fly, Cherokee Fly Series
Fly, Cherokee Fly
Pawnee Warrior

Other Books
Henry Spaloosh! 
Horace
Shrinking Ralph Perfect
The Snail Patrol
The Table Football League
Riverside United
Lofty
From E to You
Scupper Hargreaves, Football Genie
The Salt Pirates of Skegness
Falling for Mandy
The Prompter

Picture Books:
A Hole at the Pole
Juggling with Jeremy
A Break in the Chain
Read With Bubble and Float
Dexter's Journey
Frankin's Bear


Contributed to:
On Me ‘ead, Santa
Nice One, Santa
The Usborne Book of Christmas Stories
Heroes and Villains
In the Frame

Midnight Feast

Author Profile and Interview with Chris d'Lacey.