-->

Tuesday, 31 March 2015

Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2015

Well this has been a good quarter. 47 books read not counting what I reread with the children. I have been reading with the kids almost every night before bed and helping them develop reading habits. There have been some great reads this quarter both in fiction and non- fictions books. So here they are The top ten books of the first quarter 2015!

Fiction:
1. The Blood Gospel - James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell - Sanguines Book 1.0
2. Stone in the Sky - Cecil Castellucci - Tin Star Book 2
3. Welcome, Baby - Barbara Reid
4. Blood Brothers - James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell - Sanguines Book 1.5
5. Skeleton Cat - Krystyn Crow and Dan Krall
6. A Bad Case of Stripes - David Shannon
7. Jack Plank Tells Tales - Natalie Babbit
8. Polar Bear Night - Lauren Thompson and Stephen Savage
9. Lizard Radio - Pat Schmatz
10. Thief of War - Beth Bernobich

Non-Fiction:
1. The Manual For Spiritual Warfare - Paul Thigpen
2. Reboot with Joe Fully Charged:7 Keys to Losing Weight, Staying Healthy and Thriving - Joe Cross
3. Fat Business Man: A Cautionary Tale - Mark Campanale
4. God Rides a Yamaha - Kathie Shaidle
5. Grit in Your Craw: The 8 Strengths You Need to Succeed in Business and in Life - Robert Luckadoo  
6. 7 Ways to Practice Lent - Joe Paprocki, DMin
7. Bad Yogi Cleanse Kit: Be Good, Fell Good. - Erin Motz
8. Redacted
9. Redacted
10. Confessions of a Failed Slut - Kathy Shaidle - Thought Catalog

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

47 - 2015 - January-March
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996






Monday, 30 March 2015

Grit in Your Craw - Robert Luckadoo

Grit in Your Craw:
The 8 Strengths You Need To Succeed in Business and in Life
Robert Luckadoo
Southern Flair Communications
ISBN 9780990785606
eISBN 9780990785613


This book was one of my surprise reads so far this year. I had never head of the author. But the title of the book really grabbed my attention. I am in the middle of a yearlong leadership program at work and I have already recommended they add this to the reading list. It is one of the best business books I have read in years. At under a hundred and thirty pages it packs a lot of punch into a few pages.

In the introduction Robert states: "So the term "a little grit in your craw" refers to qualities like courage and determination that people use to "break down" challenging situations into manageable situations-qualities that we can use to take advantage of the opportunities God gives all of us." And also "My hope is that you find the eight essential strengths I cover in this book to be a road map for your success, a small prism of clarity in a world shrouded in fog. I hope you'll embrace these eight must-have qualities-diligence, tenacity, optimism, flexibility, discipline, resilience, confidence and purpose-and use them to your great advantage." And those 8 points are also the key chapters. The sections in the book are:

Foreword
Eight Strengths You Can't Succeed Without
The Foundation
1 Diligence
2 Tenacity
3 Optimism
4 Flexibility
5 Discipline
6 Resilience
7 Confidence
8 Purpose
A Closing Note
Acknowledgments

To be honest this book was so good that a few times I put it down to really work through the chapter. Even though they are short and to the point, a few times I restarted a chapter to really set the points.

Robert declares that "I hope the eight qualities that are the focus of this book inspire you to become a beacon of light for those in your life. I hope they help you to meet the challenges of your life with hope and promise. And most of all, I hope they inspire you to take advantage of every opportunity that God provides you." And having finished this book twice through now I know that it can do that if you are willing to read, be open and learn.

Chapter 4 was one of the most powerful for me, Flexibility! "Make a point to be more flexible in both your career and your personal life. You'll be a lot happier, and your family will, too." This was probably the single most important lesson for me. I love rules and procedures and under certain conditions that dedication has really helped me thrive professionally, but it has been a hindrance in family life, with my wife and children. This chapter had so many takeaways that I am trying to apply.


In the closing notes Robert declares: "If the window you aspire to reach is the one at the top of the carousel, the one that seems so far out of reach, all you have to do is embrace the eight qualities I've focused on in this book and make them a part of your daily routine. Success doesn't come easily-it comes through a calculated, deliberate, mode of operation in your daily life-and these eight qualities will act as a foundation for that success. If exercised diligently and with a tenacious spirit, they'll take you to the next level in your career and in your personal life. They'll take you to the top of the carousel, where you can jump through the window that's offering you the opportunity to achieve your greatest ambitions." And it is so true.

This is a great book. I have already recommended it to a number of people. It will help you have greater success in both your personal and professional life.


Saturday, 28 March 2015

Citrus Surprise Juice

Citrus Surprise

Almost all fruit but awesome taste and great change up.

Ingredients:
1 Stalk Lemon Grass
Large piece Ginger 
1 Grapefruit
2 Orange's
2 Lime
2 Lemon
1 Cup Strawberries

Directions:
Wash all and juice. Super refreshing!


Directions:
Wash all and juice. Nice flavour if it is too strong reduce the ginger or remove some or all of the skin from the lemon and lime. Be careful this one separates fast so either drink quick, or use a straw and keep stirring as drinking. 



I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in an EverNote notebook's with links to original sources.


Monday, 23 March 2015

Updated 2016-04-13


This post has been redacted because of personal conviction. I would appreciate if you say a prayer for me. 

Our Father, Who art in heaven
Hallowed be Thy Name;
Thy kingdom come,
Thy will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread,
and forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who trespass against us;
and lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil. Amen.


Saturday, 21 March 2015

Kickin' All Greens Juice

Kickin' All Greens Juice

What a kick, Jalapeno goes a long way!

Ingredients:
3 Collard greens Leaves
3 Green Char Leaves
1/2 Fennel
1 Green apple
1 Green Onion
4 Red lettuce Leaves
1 Medium JalapeƱo 
1/2 Bunch Parsley 
1/2 Bunch Cilantro 
4 Celery Stalks
1 Cup Spinach

Directions:
Wash all and juice. Jalapeno goes a long way too much and your lips will tingle! 




I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in an EverNote notebook's with links to original sources.


Saturday, 14 March 2015

Lime It Up Juice

Lime It Up

Nice refreshing juice. 

Ingredients:
2 Carrots
2 Collard Greens Leafs
1 Lime with Skin
1 Lemon with Skin
3 inch piece of fresh Ginger
1 Bartlett Pear
1/2 Red Apple

Directions:
Wash all and juice. Very refreshing flavour if it is too strong reduce the ginger or remove some or all of the skin from the lemon and lime.




I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in an EverNote notebook's with links to original sources.


Wednesday, 11 March 2015

Updated 2016-04-13

This post has been redacted because of personal conviction. I would appreciate if you say a prayer for me. 

St. Michael the Archangel, defend us in battle. 
Be our defense against the wickedness and snares of the Devil. 
May God rebuke him, we humbly pray, and do thou, 
O Prince of the heavenly hosts, by the power of God, 
thrust into hell Satan, and all the evil spirits, 
who prowl about the world seeking the ruin of souls. 
Amen.


Tuesday, 10 March 2015

Blood Brothers - James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell - The Order of Sanguines Book 1.5

Blood Brothers
Sanguines Book 1.5
James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell
William Morrow an imprint of
Harper Collins
ISBN 9780062326621


As I have stated before about this series, it has been a long time since a new author or series has seized me as much as these authors and this series. In a few days I read this short story, the first novel and the prequel short story. In fact The only reason I did not jump into book 2 was to take some time to write reviews of the first three I read. 

The Order of Sanguines is a secret society within the Catholic church, they are sworn to fight the Strigoi, vampires, but they also have other secrets. And this story follows two brothers Christian and Arthur, it also follows a series of murders that took place in the 70's and the story is being recounted by Arthur. It provides some interesting backstory about the Order of the Sanguines. It really wets the appetite foe book 2 Innocent Blood.  

I know it has become a trend for publishers to want short stories set in and around series. Either to draw attention or hype to new books, back fill stories, and keep readers interested. But sometimes these stories are just fodder to fill time, this is not one of those books. This was a great little read. The introduction to Christian and his story is excellent. In fact it left me desperate to read book 2. In fact this short story was so good it is a pity there was not one before book three came out. 

A great short story well worth checking out.

Books by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell:
The Order of the Sanguines Trilogy

0.5 City of Screams
1.0 The Blood Gospel
1.5 Blood Brothers
2.0 Innocent Blood
3.0 Blood Infernal

Tucker Wayne Series with Grant Blackwood:
The Kill Switch
War Hawk

Books by James Rollins:
SIGMA Force Series:

1. Sandstorm
2. Map of Bones
3. Black Order
4. The Judas Strain
5. The Last Oracle
6. The Doomsday Key
6.5 The Skeleton Key
7. The Devil Colony
7.5 Tracker
8. Bloodline
9. The Eye of God
10. The Sixth Extinction
11. The Bone Labyrinth

Kids & Adult Series
Jake Ransom and the Skull King's Shadow
Jake Ransom and the Howling Sphinx

Stand-alone Novels:
Subterranean
Excavation
Deep Fathom
Amazonia
Ice Hunt
Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
Altar of Eden

Written as James Clemens:
The Banned and the Banished Series:

Wit'ch Fire
Wit'ch Storm
Wit'ch War
Wit'ch Gate
Wit'ch Star

The Godslayer Series:
Shadowfall
Hinterland

Saturday, 7 March 2015

Roots and Greens Juice


Roots and Greens Juice

Interesting flavor, the watermelon radish and golden beets combined in an interesting way. 

Ingredients:
4 Celery Stalks
2 Collard Greens Leafs
2 Golden Beets
2 Watermellow Radish
1/2 Cucumber
3 inch piece of fresh Ginger
1 Bartlett Pear
1 Green Apple

Directions:
Wash all and juice. Nice flavour if it is too strong reduce the ginger or remove some or all of the skin from the lemon and lime. Be careful this one separates fast so either drink quick, or use a straw and keep stirring as drinking. 






I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in an EverNote notebook's with links to original sources.


Friday, 6 March 2015

Top Ten Things I Have Learned From a Month of Juicing

Top Ten Things I Have Learned From a Month of Juicing

I got a The Juice Fountain Compact from Breville for Christmas and to be honest it one of the best gifts I have ever received. I have used it every day I have been in town, and for the last month have done at least 2 Juices a day. I may not be a juice veteran like Joe Cross of the Fat Sick and Nearly Dead 1 and 2 Fame, is going on 8 years of juicing. But I hope to get there some day, one juice at a time. So here are the Top Ten Things I Have Learnt From a Month of Daily Juicing!

1. You can juice almost any fruit and vegetable!

       (Not Banana or Avocado save those for smoothies)

2. Do not give up on something the first time you do not like it!

    The first time I did a leek it was giant, 3 inch diameter, 14 inches long and I combined it with 3 green onions. Way too much from the same family. I have since done one of the other almost every day and they work great and provide a lot of punch.

3. Try different fruits and vegetables!

    Try something new, sweet potatoes are awesome in juice, lemon grass, fresh turmeric or ginger wow. Mix and match.

4. Find a balance.

    Joe recommends and 80/20 balance, 80 % vegetables and 20% fruit and most of the time that works perfect. Occasionally you can reverse it for more of a desert beverage. Or if you are trying to get kids into it up the fruit to start and slowly scale it back.

5. If you are making up your own as you go keep track of what you are juicing!
    I take a picture of my prepped ingredients, and my finished juice. That way I can share the really good ones, and do them again. I can also make modifications and make them better (See note above about combining leeks and green onions.).

6. You will be amazed by your energy and focus!

    I have not had a coffee or black tea in 3 weeks. I really cannot believe the energy, focus and balance that fresh juice provides.

7. There are a lot of blogs, websites tweeters out there talking about juicing!

    Check them out. But to be honest it is more fun to experiment. Use these resources as jumping off points. But also find your own way.

8. Try new things but use caution!

    Do not go out and buy 30 new ingredients you have never tried juicing before. Each shopping trip pick up 2 or three things and slow expand your stock. You will find key ingredients you use over and over again and other you can interchange and switch out. For example I keep 2 or 3 of the following in the house at a time for my green juices, but not all at same time, kale, red kale, black kale, spinach, Swiss char, red char, collard greens, basil, dandelion greens. If I bought them all I would not get through them before they started to turn. Buy fewer items but shop more often.

9. Add some spices!

    I have just started adding Jalapeno and Cayenne and chili peppers into juices. I have also tried mint, parsley, cilantro and more. Herbs can go a long way to changing the flavor and boosting the health benefits of your juices.

10. Juice On!

    Experiment and have fun, get those fresh fruits and veggies into you. There is a rainbow of colors out there try and get some green, red, orange into yourself each and every day.And if you juice something that you think is great come back and share it!

I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in an EverNote notebook's with links to original sources.


Thursday, 5 March 2015

Confessions of A Failed Slut - Kathy Shaidle - Thought Catalog

Confessions of A Failed Slut
Kathy Shaidle
Thought Catalog
ASIN B00JBRD12M


I have been a fan of Shaidle's writings for a number of years. He God Rides a Yamaha is one of my favorite books from this past decade. When I saw that she had a new short eBook out I had to give it a read. And to be honest I had a literary crush on her. But that aside this was a piercing book.

Kathy has deep penetrating insight, into culture, trends and an uncanny ability to call bull when she sees or smells it. But unlike many critiques , she can turn that intense scrutiny upon herself and through honest look at herself, then criticize the follies in society at large.

She states "I sometimes wish I didn't see the world like this, through a Gen-X filter of self-defensive snark. I didn't always." But she does and she does it very well. This book is equal parts criticism and humour at how we got here as a society. She also declares "As my fiftieth birthday looms, I feel myself finally growing into my lifelong fogey-dom, and it's a comfortable fit, for me if not for anyone else." And she may be a self-described fogey be she is also a firecracker and political analyst.

If you want a great read that will make you think and make you laugh give this book a try!


Books by Kathy Shaidle:
gas station of the cross (1990)
Round Up The Usual Suspects: More poems about famous dead people (1992)
Lobotomy Magnificat (1997)
God Rides a Yamaha (1998)
A Seeker's Dozen: The 12 Steps for Everyone Else (2004)
A Catholic Alphabet: The Faith from A to Z (2005)
Acoustic Ladyland: Kathy Shaidle Unplugged (2007)
The Tyranny of Nice (2009 with Pete Vere)

Confessions of A Failed Slut (2014)

Author Profile Kathy Shidle Interview (2011)
Author Profile (2006)


Other Posts and Links:

Kathy Shaidle's Blog
More Books That Will Change Your Life

Some Old Stuff Some New
Trends: Female Authors
Meme Booked by 3 - December 
Meme - A fun Book Meme


Wednesday, 4 March 2015

Seat Cushion - Bael Decor - Firm Orthopedic, Coccyx Cushion with Natural Balance Ball

Seat Cushion
Firm Orthopedic, Coccyx Cushion with Natural Balance Ball
Bael Decor
AISN B00HUJWBHY


I was offered one of these in exchange for an honest review. I was really interested in it for my father, he has suffered from Sciatica and I thought it would be great to try it, get him to try it and write the review.  The title of the product on Amazon is: "Seat Cushion - Firm Orthopedic, Coccyx Cushion with Natural Balance Ball Relieve Back Pain, Coccyx Pain, Sciatica & Corrects Postures. Sure Shot Results or 1 Year Hassle Free Money Back Guarantee!" Which is rather long and wordy - but this is an amazing seat cushion. I was at the point of planning on replacing my desk chair. After trying it with this there is no more need to do so. This cushion is so comfortable that I am planning on getting one for work. My dad has yet to try it but I have been so impressed with it that I had to write the review now.

The Bael Seat Cushion is an award winning and extremely popular seat cushion. There are a couple of different styles cushions around the office that I have tried and to be honest none compare to this product. To be honest I was not even aware that I was having any discomfort until I had been using this for a number of days. I could not believe the difference between using this at home and not using it at work. And I work I have a very high end desk chair.

Benefits of this seat cushion are:
1. Reduces tailbone or coccyx pain
2. Corrects postures
3. Reduces back pain
4. Appeases risk of sitting long hours
5. Provides natural balance­ball effect

This device really surprised me. I was expecting to try it, think it was ok and pass it on to my dad. Now I think it is a great product and highly recommend it. If you spend any serious amount of your day in a desk chair you need to give this a try!


You can get it from:
Amazon.ca
Amazon.co.uk
Amazon.com





Monday, 2 March 2015

Updated 2016-04-13


This post has been redacted because of personal conviction. I would appreciate if you say a prayer for me. 

Oh, Saint Joseph, whose protection is so great, so strong, so prompt before the throne of God, I place in you all my interests and desires.
Oh, Saint Joseph, do assist me by your powerful intercession, and obtain for me from your Divine Son all spiritual blessings, through Jesus Christ, our Lord, So that, having engaged here below your heavenly power, I may offer my thanksgiving and homage to the most Loving of Fathers.
Oh, Saint Joseph, I never weary contemplating you and Jesus asleep in your arms; I dare not approach while He reposes near your heart. Press Him in my name and kiss his fine head for me and ask him to return the Kiss when I draw my dying breath.
Saint Joseph, Patron of departed souls – pray for me. 
Amen