-->

Saturday, 28 February 2015

Reboot with Joe Fully Charged - Joe Cross - 7 Keys to Losing Weight, Staying Healthy and Thriving

Reboot with Joe Fully Charged:
7 Keys to Losing Weight, Staying Healthy and Thriving
Joe Cross
Greenleaf Book Group
ISBN 9780990937203
eIBSN 9781629670416


This book is one of the best health and fitness books I have ever read! In fact it was so good that as soon as I finished reading it, I started reading it a second time. Joe Cross is just a regular guy who decided to Juice for 60 Days and see if he could turn around some of his health issues. At the time he had no idea he was starting a movement that now spans the globe. This book is the latest from Joe Cross and has some no nonsense approach to finding and maintaining a balanced life. And one of the first things he will tell you is what works for him might not work for you but there are some principles that will help you wind what will work for you.

Early in the book Joes states: "Ornish likes to joke that the first dietary "intervention" was when God told Adam and Eve not to eat the apple. "That didn't work, and that was God talking," he says, "so we're not going to do better than that."." And it is true Joe is not ever going to tell you to never do something or always do something else. Instead he focuses on that last 2 feet of freedom, from you hand to your mouth and learning to make better choices in those last 2 feet. The 7 principles Joe has discovered and shared in this book are:

1. Change Your Relationship to Food (Don't Abuse Food)
2. Change Your Diet (Eat the Right Stuff)
3. Change Your Habits About Food (Find a New Groove)
4. Embrace Community (Get a Little Help From Your Friends)
5. Maintain the Machine (Follow the Upkeep Manual)
6. Practice Mindfulness (Chill Out)
7. Respect Yourself

And to be honest there is not much complicated about hose seven things. That is knowing it versus doing it - KIVDI! Most of us know what we should be doing and some have even done it for periods but when we fail. And a big part of it comes down to community, support and learning why we do what we do. In the book there is a major chapters on each of these 7, and the chapters end with a series of questions to help you go deeper and find your answers. And also a testimony from one of the Reboot With Joe Community members who has or is working on this area. These stories are some of the most incredible and motivating parts of this book.

According to Joe we need to: "Being aware The most basic way to improve your relationship with food is awareness. If you are truly conscious of the food you are consuming, or are about to consume, this will make a huge impact on the way you eat." And we can do that by working through this book. He also states "But we also want to be aware of our food in order to be thankful for it. Not forgetting about it in some mindless act of consumption. Not bolting it down fast on our way to somewhere else. Not being so disconnected from how food is prepared that we are no longer participants in the process." Joe says food is neither good or bad, it is not black or white, buy how we use food can be either beneficial or harmful. There are good better foods to eat and those that are less good for us. We need to find what works for us and then be sure he have the support in our lives to live it out.

This book is not a diet book to help you lose weight in a specific amount of time. It is a book about finding the lifestyle choices for food and exercise that work for you so that you can not only exist but learn to thrive and live life fully charged. It is a great read and I highly recommend it!

Books by Joe Cross:
Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead: How Fruits & Vegetables Changed My Life
The Reboot with Joe Juice Diet: Lose Weight, Get Healthy and Feel Amazing
Reboot with Joe Recipe Book: Plant-Based Recipes to Supercharge Your Life

The Reboot with Joe Juice Diet Recipe Book: Over 100 recipes inspired by the film 'Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead'
The Reboot with Joe Juice Diet Cookbook
101 Juice Recipes
101 Smoothie Recipes
Reboot with Joe: Fully Charged: 7 Keys to Losing Weight, Staying Healthy and Thriving

Documentaries by Joe Cross:
Fat Sick And Nearly Dead
Fat Sick And Nearly Dead 2

Apps by Reboot with Joe:
Reboot with Joe
101 Juice Recipes
101 Smoothie Recipes


(Note: I will continue to post my new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in an EverNote notebook's with links to original sources.


Thursday, 26 February 2015

The Mostly True Story of Jack - Kelly Barnhill

The Mostly True Story of Jack
Kelly Barnhill
Hachette Book Group Canada
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN 9780316175234


This is one of those books where the cover grabbed my attention. Not the current cover but the older version of the cover. There was something so haunting and yet intriguing about it that just grabbed my attention. And I am so thankful that I picked up the book and gave it a read. To be honest it was introduction to the writings of Kelly Barnhill but I know it will not be my last book by her. In fact I started a second as soon as I finished this one. While reading this I could barely put it down, in fact I read it in under 3 days and in three sitting.

This is the story of Jack a young boy who has always felt invisible, even in his own family. But when his parents are going through a separation he is sent to live with family in Hazlewood, Iowa to live with his aunt and uncle. And he no longer seems invisible, in fact everyone one seems to see him and want him for something. He makes friends for the first time with Frankie, Wendy and Anders. He is also beaten up by the town bully Clayton Avery. Clayton's farther MR. Avery is the most powerful man in town and he seems to have it out for Jack from the time he becomes aware he is in town.

This is a story about friendship, about healing, about magic and about finding your place in the world. Jack encounters each of those elements and as the story progresses it also becomes a tale about sacrifice. Sacrifice for a greater good, for those you care about, for friendship and for doing what is right even if it is really really hard.

This was a great read. I highly enjoyed it and can also highly recommend it. One of the greatest compliments I can give a book is my plans to share it with my children when they are older. This book is on that shelf waiting to be read again this time with them. Overall a very good book!


(Note: The cover that grabbed my attention was this one below.)




Books by Kelly Barnhill
The Witch’s Boy
The Mostly True Story of Jack
Iron Hearted Violet

Books in Progress:
The Boy Who Loved Birds
The Sugar House
Nathaniel Barrow and The Mermaid
The Firebirds of Lake Erie

Wednesday, 25 February 2015

Manual for Spiritual Warfare - Paul Thigpen

Manual for Spiritual Warfare
Paul Thigpen
Tan Books
ISBN 9781618906533
ASIN B00SZDHHJ6


Like it or not, you are at war.

This book is excellent. To be honest I had no idea where to begin with writing a review. So I went back to the book and copied my highlighted texts from the introduction and first chapter to give you a taste.  To begin with we have: "First, belief in Satan's existence and activity is today widely dismissed as an outdated superstition. As a result, most Catholics hear very little about him, leaving them unprepared to understand and defeat him. They need to know their Enemy and his strategies." Having been involved in university campus ministry for over 20 years this statement is true not only of most Catholics but also most non-Catholic Christians. From there Paul states: "The first part of this book lays out the biblical and theological foundations for our warfare with the Devil. The second part offers aids for the battle: Church documents, scriptural texts, words and anecdotes from the saints, prayers and hymns, and further resources for study." It absolutely lives up to that goal. I have already read this book twice and know I plan on reading it again.

One of the mail goals of the book sis "Our hope is that countless Catholics, and other Christians as well, will find this manual so helpful that they will carry it with them and make frequent use of it. For this reason, the book has been produced in a sturdy, compact edition that allows you to keep it handy and refer to it often." And I honestly believe it will do that. I have already recommended it to a number of Catholics and other Christians for I know it will be an invaluable tool in their life and ministry.

"Like it or not, you are at war." Every time I see this it stirs something in me. To be in a war and be unaware of it will only lead to failure. There have been many quotes about the church being a field hospital for wounded hurting people. This book can server as a weapon for those on the front lines, and those helping to tend the wounded. We are the army of Christ but our biggest responsibility is to support the field hospital.  And on that same note "God allows evil because He's powerful enough to bring out of even the greatest evil a much greater good." God can work all things for our good and to fulfil his plans.

The last quote I will leave you with is from the end of the first chapter. "Meanwhile, our days in this life provide a season for God to test, purify, strengthen, and perfect us, making us fit to live with Him forever in heaven. To that end, the demons serve as useful tools for Him as they constantly test us by tempting us, so that we become purer and stronger and closer to perfection every time we resist the temptation." Those are just a few of the gems from the first few sections of the book. The Contents of the book are:

How to Use This Manual
Part One: Preparing for Battle


1. Know Your Enemy
2. Know Your Battle
3. Know Your Commander and Comrades
4. Know Your Weapons
5. Know Your Armor
6. Keep the Enemy out of the Camp


Part Two: Aids in Battle


7. Church Teaching About Spiritual Warfare

  • From Catechisms
  • From Church Councils
  • From Papal Documents
8. Scriptures for the Battle
  • Scriptural Names and Images for the Devil and Demons
  • Incidents in Scripture Involving the Devil and Demons
  • Scripture Verses for Warfare
9. Help From the Saints
  • Words From the Saints
  • Spiritual Warfare in the Lives of the Saints
10. Prayers, Devotions, and Hymns for Battle
  • Prayers to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit
  • The Blood of Jesus
  • Litany of Christ Our Champion
  • The Name of Jesus
  • Prayers to Our Lady, Vanquisher of the Enemy
  • Rosary Meditations for Spiritual Battle
  • Prayers to the Saints and With the Saints
  • Prayers to the Angels and to God for Their Assistance
  • Prayers for the Church
  • Prayers for the Family and Home
  • Prayers With Sacramentals
  • Prayers From Traditional Liturgies
  • Prayers for Strength and Deliverance
  • Scriptural Prayers for Deliverance
  • Hymns for Spiritual Warfare
For Further Study

I cannot recommend this book enough for anyone wishing to go deeper in the spiritual life. As soon as you pursue God and his will you will encounter opposition. This book will help you understand that opposition and strengthen you and provide tools and knowledge to stand against it. Be bold. Follow Chris and stand firm!

This is an amazing book you need to read it!




Tuesday, 24 February 2015

Stone in the Sky - Cecil Castellucci - Tin Star Book 2

Stone In The Sky
Tin Star Book 2
Cecil Castellucci
Roaring Brook Press
A division of Holtzbrinck Publishing

ISBN 9781596437760
eISBN 9781626721517

I read this book about 6 months before its release date. It was an absolutely incredible read. It was my 3rd favorite read in 2014 out of 187 books. I have said it before but with every book by Cecil Castellucci that I read I am more impressed. This one was amazing. Literally I finished it and started reading it again at a slower pace to savor it because the first time I could not pause and raced through the book to finish the story. 

One of the greatest strengths of Castellucci's writing is her strong female characters. In this case we return to the story of Tula Bane. I thought the first book in the series had plot twists and unexpected turns, this second part of the story make it look like a walk in the park. Tula is now a wandering human alone in space, trying to warn other humans and still intent on seeking revenge. But she is also finding that her path is a different one than she expected. 

This story is a strange mix of revenge, love, family and some sense of redemption of justice. I know I plan on going back and rereading both books back to back again. The writing is incredible. It is an excellent read and if you have not picked up the first book give it a try. 

Books by Cecil Castellucci:
Boy Proof (2005)
The Queen of Cool (2006)

Beige (2007)
The P.L.A.I.N. Janes (2007)

Janes in Love (2008)
Geektastic (Editor & Contributor 2009)
Rose Sees Red (2010)
Grandma's Gloves (2010)

First Day On Earth (2011)

Odd Duck (2013)
Tin Star (2014)

Stone in the Sky (2015)

Music By Cecil Castellucci
Twist Her - Nerdy Girl (1996)
Whoever - Cecil Seaskull (1998)


A Visual Bibliography for Cecil Castellucci
Author profile interview with Cecil Castellucci

Monday, 23 February 2015

Updated 2016-04-13


This post has been redacted because of personal conviction. I would appreciate if you say a prayer for me. 

Hail Mary, full of grace.
Our Lord is with you.
Blessed are you among women,
and blessed is the fruit of your womb,
Jesus.
Holy Mary, Mother of God,
pray for us sinners,
now and at the hour of our death.
Amen.



Saturday, 21 February 2015

Carrot Ginger Surprise


Carrot Ginger Surprise

Awesome color and flavor. Great alone or to use as a base and experiment with adding greens or other root vegetables. 

Ingredients:
3 Carrots
Green Apple
Red Apple
Lemon
Lime
Golden beet
3 inch piece Ginger 
Turmeric

Directions:
Wash all and juice. Really nice juice. Balanced, smooth, The Ginger just popped!



I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. 

Monday, 16 February 2015

The Juice Fountain Compact - Breville

The Juice Fountain Compact
Breville
Model BJE200XL
ASIN B000MDHH06


For those familiar with the documentaries Fat Sick and Nearly Dead and Fat Sick and Nearly Dead 2, yes this is the model Joe Cross used in his car while travelling across America during his 60 day juice fast. And I got mine about 2 months ago and have used it at least once a day since then.

The Benefits:
This model is durable
Easy to clean
Compact
Great price point
Large 3.3 inch diameter chute

The Drawbacks:
Pulp container is internal, to juice a lot you need to take a part and clean
Single speed
Centrifuge style with blade is much louder than other models

This is a great entry point juicer. It you are tight on kitchen space or like Joe looking for a travel model there are some serious benefits to this model. If you are not sure you will be a big time juicer and looking to test the waters, it is a fantastic model for the price point. As mentioned I have used this every day I have been in town since I got it. I have juiced a wide variety of fruit, veggies, and herbs. It has made some amazing juices and will get the job done and done well. This has been one of the best gifts I have ever received, and I am sure it will serve you well.


(Note: To check out some of the juices I have tried check my juicing blog posts or my  OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. )

Saturday, 14 February 2015

Kitchen Sink Juice



Kitchen Sink Juice

Good flavor, great colour and awesome mix of ingredients. But I have a feeling this will be a little different every time. I just threw in some of everything that was in the house. Made up a 2L batch, half for that night half for breakfast the next day. 

Ingredients:
4 Carrots
1/2 Head Green Cabbage
1/2 Head Red Cabbage
2 Golden Beets
2 Red Beets
1 Cucumber
1 Orange
1 Grapefruit
4 inch piece of Ginger
2 pieces Turmeric
2 Watermelon Radish 
2 Green Apples
2 Pears
2 Limes
2 Lemons

Directions:
Wash all and juice. Yes I take pictures of the ingredients with almost every juice I make. That way I can make notes and decide to do it again, tweak it, or go back to the drawing board. This one was good, such a variety of flavors and colors. And great taste! 




I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. 

Thursday, 12 February 2015

Fat Business Man: A Cautionary Tale - Mark Campanale

Fat Business Man: A Cautionary Tale
Mark Campanale
Amazon Digital Services
ASIN B00KQTGPCW


Few books that I have read have been as open, honest and transparent as Mark has been in sharing his story. Mark is able to objectively look back at the mistakes he mad, some time and time again, and say 'yeah it was my choice, my fault, I screwed up' but in saying that he has turned a corner and is now in a very different place.

This short biography follows Marc from his youth to the low point in his life. He shares his darkest secrets and biggest failures. He shares photo's that embarrass him, and stories he regrets. But he does so to show us that change is possible. This book clocks in at 65 pages and most of it is raw. Mark does not hold back, on analyzing his own mistakes, so that they can be an example to others who need to make changes in their own lives.

Once I got into it I could not put it down. Which makes it good that it is short and to the point. Mark's vulnerability is what makes this book most powerful. I believe anyone could read this book and come away looking at their own life in a different way, and looking for ways to make improvements. This book will motivate you without a doubt.

Books by Mark Campanale:
Fat Business Man (Summer 2014)
Fit Business Man (Spring 2015)
Fit Dad Cooking (Spring 2015)


Wednesday, 11 February 2015

Product Review - Chromium Gold - Nutrigold

Chromium Gold
Nutrigold


I was approached by NutriGold and given a selection of products I could choose to review. There were a number I was interested in but I wanted to try something I had not used before. Therefore Chromium Gold was one of the two products I decided to give a test run.


Some of the benefits of Chromium are:

  • Designed to modulate cell signaling for healthy insulin function
  • Supports healthy insulin function trending toward normal range
  • Modulates markers for insulin function
  • Supports healthy blood sugar levels within normal range
  •  Monitors the blood sugar
  • Aids metabolism
  • Reduces food cravings
  • Regulates fat and cholesterol
  • Prevents hypertension
Chromium can and does come from a number of natural sources, but vegetarians and vegans can end up with a deficiency, as well as others. I am not in that category and I have been eliminating sugars from my diet also. But I was intrigued to give this product a try. Mainly because it is designed to help with healthy digestion and glucose balance.

I am very impressed with their research, dedication to achieving purity, potency and perfection in the products. I will continue to use this supplement and try other vitamins and supplements from NutriGold in the near future.


Saturday, 7 February 2015

Citrus Blast Juice



Citrus Blast Juice

Awesome refreshing juice. Will be doing this and variations on it often.. 

Ingredients:

2 Handfuls Fresh Spinach
1 Grapefruit Pealed
1 Lime Pealed
2 Oranges Pealed
3 Limes Pealed

Directions:
Wash the spinach and set aside. Wash the citrus fruit well, then peal. Juice and enjoy.  




I will continue to post new recipes from time to time on Saturday as I experiment with Smoothie and Juice recipes. And I collect mine and favourites from around the web you can find them shared here in a OneNote notebook, there are subsections for Juices, Smoothies, Gluten Free Options and Other. 


Wednesday, 4 February 2015

Product Review - Vitamin K2 - MK-7 Gold - NutriGold

Vitamin K2
MK-7 Gold
NutriGold


I was approached by Nutrigold and given a selection of products I could choose to review. Vitamin K2 was one I had been reading about for almost a year but had yet to give a try. I had specifically read about it in re-mineralization of teeth. Some of the benefits of Vitamin K are:

  • calcium uptake and bone mineralization
  • healthy bones
  • healthy cardiovascular function
  • healthy kidney function
  • healthy aging

Now I cannot really speak to all of those without having done a longer trial and extensive clinical testing. But I can speak to my experience. I believe this specific vitamin had specific benefits. I also find it very interesting that the capsules are specifically made with an olive oil mixture because this is a fat soluble vitamin and needs that to ensure uptake.

As a product I was already researching I found that this one surpassed expectations. I had never used NutriGold products before but will be sure to expand into other products as I need refilling. Overall I am very impressed with their research, dedication to achieving purity, potency and perfection in the products.


Monday, 2 February 2015

Updated 2016-04-13


This post has been redacted because of personal conviction. I would appreciate if you say a prayer for me. 

Our Father, Who art in heaven
Hallowed be Thy Name;
Thy kingdom come,
Thy will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread,
and forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who trespass against us;
and lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil. Amen.


Sunday, 1 February 2015

Thinking About Lent 2015

Thinking About Lent 2015

Lent beings in 18 days, but to be honest I have been thinking about it since Christmas. Many years I have made reading plans for lent, chosen to give up one or more thing, chocolate, meat, coffee, … over the years I have had more focused or less focused times of reflection through lent. This year as I turn 45 for some reason lent has had a greater focus in my thoughts and prayers leading into this holy season. This year I will be doing a few things to focus on body, mind and spiritual development throughout the 40 days of lent.

Best Lent Ever - Matthew Kelly


Matthew Kelly has a challenge out to make this the best lent ever. And he is begging you not to give up chocolate. Check out his promotional video and sign up for the daily emails throughout Lent!


Lenten Companion - Lent 2015
The Magnificat
February 18th-April 5th
Ed. Father Peter John Cameron, O.P.
eISBN 9781941709016


I have used the Magnificat Lent and Advent books the last few years. They are always nourishing to the spirit, and often a challenge to action and change. The eBooks are very reasonable priced and are worth the effort for the daily readings.


Sacred Space for Lent 2015
The Irish Jesuits
Ave Maria Press
ISBN 9781594715549
eISBN 9781594715556


I stumbled upon this while searching for the ebook above. It looked really interesting and I decided to add it to this year's readings. I will read one in the morning and another in the evening.


Everyone's Way Of the Cross
Clarence Enzler (Author)
Annika Nelson and Gertrude Mueller Nelson (Illustrators)
Ave Maria Press
ISBN 9781594714306
eISBN 9781594714559


I remember the older version of this from my childhood. I still have the paper edition of Everyman's way of the cross before the language was made more inclusive. I grabbed the ebook of this also to have on hand for lent this year. I look forward to this devotion again.

7 Ways to Practice Lent
Joe Paprocki, DMin
Loyola Press


Right now in preparation I am reading this book which is currently available for free. It is an interesting read so far. And for the price how can you not check it out. It is interesting in that it looks the history and practice of each of the 7 ways:
1. Ash Wednesday
2. Prayer
3. Fasting
4. Almsgiving
5. Reconciliation
6. Stations of the Cross
7. Holy Week
But give examples from grade school to adult for how to practice these traditions.

So those are my thoughts as we head into this season, what are yours?

Other Article or Books on Lent:
Lent 2014 Some Reflections
Reconciled to God Daily Lenten Devotions - Amy Welborn
Magnificat Lenten Companion 2012
In Conversation With God Volume 2 Lent and Eastertide - Francis Fernandez Carvajal
Lenten Preparation 2007
Holy Week Reflections 2007
Lent Readings 2006
The Way of the Cross Part II - Reviews of 5 more version
The Way of the Cross Part I - Reviews of 5 different versions