-->

Wednesday, 30 January 2013

Magnetic A to Z - Chicken Socks - Klutz


Magnetic A to Z
Chicken Socks
Klutz
ISBN 9781591743590


This book was an amazing idea but really failed on execution. The idea was to have a magnet board in your lap, with fun, games and activities all built in and built around learning the alphabet. The problem is, the metal plates bend too easily and the pages do not turn well on the spiral binding.  Just does not hold up to use and wear.

Monday, 28 January 2013

Oracle Hyperion Planning 11.1.2 Installation & Configuration - Oracle University

Oracle Hyperion Planning 11.1.2 Installation & Configuration
Oracle University
Course: D63790GC20
Instructor: Frank Laffey
Virtual Classroom


Six months ago I took over as team lead and systems administrator for a number of Oracle Products, primarily Hyperion, OBIEE and ODI. It is a big change and the 4 Oracle University courses I have taken have all been of some benefit.  But this course was the best so far, in part, due to the instructor Mr. Frank Laffey; he had the best class room control I have seen for a virtual classroom course in over 20 years in university, 2 years in college and numerous courses between CBT Nuggets, Train Signal and other vendor training.  Frank is one of the best presenters I have yet to encounter and to be honest,  I hope to take more courses with him in the future.

Course Objectives:
After completing this course, you should be able to:

  • Identify the Planning installation requirements
  • Install and configure Planning

Index of Lessons:
Lesson 1: Introduction to Planning
Lesson 2: Preparing the Installation Environment
Lesson 3: Preparing the Software Requirements
Lesson 4: Installing Product Components
Lesson 5: Understanding Configurations
Lesson 6: Configuring Shared Services
Lesson 7: Configuring Performance Management Architect and Calculation
Manager
Lesson 8: Configuring Essbase
Lesson 9: Configuring Planning
Lesson 10: Configuring Financial Reporting and Workspace
Lesson 11: Troubleshooting the EPM System Installation
Lesson 12: Accessing Planning
Lesson 13: Switching Application Modes
Lesson 14: Performing System Maintenance
Lesson 15: Upgrading EPM System Products
Lesson 16: Performing Migrations with Lifecycle Management
Appendix A: Integrating with Planning
Appendix B: Working with Performance Management Architect File
Generator

I am a systems administrator, not a developer. But with all the Hyperion products I have encountered and supported to date, it helps to have one foot on each side of the isle. This course helps to bridge that gap. It was a great mix of instruction and hands-on labs, building out a complete environment and testing along the whole process. This course gave me a number of ideas and tips for troubleshooting and improving performance in our environments at work. It is a great course and I recommend it to anyone who supports or uses these products to gather a better understanding of the environment and interactions. It is an excellent course. 




Friday, 25 January 2013

I Love You - Cloth Book With Mirror - Caroline Jayne Church


I Love You
Cloth Book With Mirror
Caroline Jayne Church
Cartwheel Books an Imprint of
Scholastic
ISBN 9780545461405


Caroline Jayne Church's books have been family favorites with all of our children. This latest book is amazing for the youngest members of your families and friends. This cloth book with a mirror on the front will fascinate children for hours. They will ask to have it read over and over and over, and look at themselves in the cover and laugh and play with it. It is an amazing new book by an incredible children's author and illustrator. They have even done an awesome job of keeping the bright vibrant colors in the cloth book. Well done, and fun for the whole family.


Wednesday, 23 January 2013

Hand Art - Chicken Socks - Klutz

Hand Art
Chicken Socks
Klutz
ISBN 9781591741633
It begins with 19 wonderful and wacky art projects for children that begin by tracing your hand or hands. But that is just the beginning. This book will serve as a primer for children's imaginations. Many of the ideas took me by surprise but got me thinking in a lot of different directions. You will make dogs and dragons and more. This will be the beginning of hours and hours of fun.

Monday, 21 January 2013

SQL 101 - Train Signal - Mel Haynes

SQL 101
An introduction to Structured Query Language
Train Signal
Mel Haynes


It is funny. I have done an intro to SQL course three times now over the last 7 years, and then never used it again and every few years do a refresher. It has always been on my long-term goals to really learn SQL but never been a priority because it was not something I was responsible for. Now after a change in roles and a few changes in responsibilities, I manage a number of systems that run SQL in the back end and manage 9 different SQL servers. So it was time to knuckle down and get to it.

I did this course as a quick and dirty intro to SQL to get me going again. It gave me the basics and even a better understanding of the history and importance of language in your queries. It was a great course. Mel provides files and with every lesson you lab and practice what he teaches either with him or on your own.  The course is under 2 hours in length but is a great jumping off point. I really appreciated the course and what it has taught me, and now on to the MS SQL 2012 exams. This course will get you up and running with SQL and Mel presents in a great way; his style is very engaging and humorous. It is a great course for beginners or as a refresher if it has been a few years like in my case. Well done!

Friday, 18 January 2013

The Circle Maker Enhanced eBook Edition - Mark Batterson - dream big, pray hard, think long

The Circle Maker 
Enhanced eBook Edition
dream big, pray hard, think long
Mark Batterson 

Zondervan 
ASIN B0061MBRX0
ISBN 9780310330738


I must admit I read at the same time The Circle Maker and The Circle Maker Enhanced eBook Edition. I went back and forth reading a chapter in the regular and then the enhanced edition, basically reading each chapter twice back to back. I think that had an impact on how much the book has had a profound effect on my prayer life. You can read my review of the regular edition here. I first read Praying Circles Around Your Children and then The Circle Maker Student Edition: dream big, pray hard, think long I finally circled back to read this one. In under a week I read the book and the enhanced eBook edition with audio and video. Having watched part of the video series Curriculum Kit most of the video enhancements look like they come directly from that series. But The extra photos , images, links and articles were amazing. But first to the book itself!

"Drawing prayer circles isn't some magic trick to get what you want from God. God is not a genie in a bottle, and your wish is not His command. His command better be your wish."
"Drawing prayer circles starts with discerning what God wants, what God wills. And until His sovereign will becomes your sanctified wish, your prayer life will be unplugged from its power supply. Sure, you can apply some of the principles you learn in The Circle Maker, and they may help you get what you want, but getting what you want isn't the goal; the goal is glorifying God by drawing circles around the promises, miracles, and dreams He wants for you. God has determined that certain expressions of His power will only be exercised in response to prayer."

"The greatest tragedy in life is the prayers that go unanswered because they go unasked."

"Well-developed faith results in well-defined prayers, and well-defined prayers result in a well-lived life."

"You are only one defining decision away from a totally different life. One defining decision can change your trajectory and put you on a new path toward the Promised Land. One defining decision can totally change the forecast of your life. And it's those defining decisions that become the defining moments of our lives."

I really enjoyed the enhanced version if you have the Kindle application on an iOS device or a color kindle I highly recommend it. This book has the potential to drastically change your prayer life and through that the lives of those you know and even generations yet to come. Give it a try!





Books by Mark Batterson:
The Circle Maker

The Circle Maker Enhanced eBook Edition
Praying Circles Around Your Children
Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge
The Circle Maker Student Edition: dream big, pray hard, think long

The Circle Maker for Kids
Be A Circle Maker
All In
All In Student Edition
Going All In
Praying Circles Around The Lives of Your Children
Jack Staples and the Ring of Time (With Joel Clark)
Primal
Soul Print

ID: The True You
In A Pit With A Lion On A Snowy Day
Wild Goose Chase: Reclaim the Adventure of Pursuing God
Chase the Lion Stepping Confidently Into the Unknown


 






























Wednesday, 16 January 2013

Melty Beads - Chicken Socks - Klutz


Melty Beads
Chicken Socks
Klutz
ISBN 1591743621


This craft book comes with it all - 16 different shapes, but also instructions so you learn how to make your own. Flow flowers to fish, fire trucks to felines. And a bunch of craft ideals for what you can use the art for once you have melted the beads. This book will be the jumping off point for hours and hours of fun for the whole family.

It comes with:
The book
600 Beads
Ironing Paper
Peg board

Monday, 14 January 2013

Oracle Essbase 11.1.2 for System Administrators - Oracle University

Oracle Essbase 11.1.2 for System Administrators
Oracle University
Course: D67704GC10
Instructor: Frank Laffey
Virtual Classroom


Some courses you take because you need to. Some courses you take because you want to, and some if you are lucky fall into both categories. This was the third Oracle University course I have taken. And to be honest, the greatest strength was the instructor, Mr. Frank Laffey.  He had the best classroom control I have seen for a virtual classroom course in over 20 years in university, 2 years in college and numerous courses between CBT Nuggets, Train Signal and other vendor training. Frank is one of the best presenters I have yet to encounter. And because of that this course was great.

Course Objectives:
After completing this course, you should be able to:

  • Configure Essbase for block storage and aggregate storage applications
  • Design and manage Essbase security in native and Shared Services security modes
  • Optimize Essbase system caches
  • Execute database backup, restore, and recovery
  • Perform application migration and task automation

Index of Lessons:
Lesson 1: Introduction to Oracle EPM and BI
Lesson 2: Essbase Overview
Lesson 3: Block Storage Overview
Lesson 4: Aggregate Storage Overview
Lesson 5: Configuring Essbase Servers
Lesson 6: Essbase Data Integrity
Lesson 7: Essbase Security Overview
Lesson 8: Creating Essbase Security Filters
Lesson 9: Securing the Essbase Environment in Shared Services
Lesson 10: Optimizing Block Storage Caches
Lesson 11: Optimizing Aggregate Storage Cache
Lesson 12: Optimizing Buffers and Compression
Lesson 13: Managing Fragmentation
Lesson 14: Application, Session, and Username-Password Management
Lesson 15: Backup, Restore, and Recovery
Lesson 16: Task Automation

Now I need to be honest here.  I am not a developer and have no desire to be. I am a systems administrator. But I like knowing the products I support and being able to support those who do use them. This course was a great intro and helped me understand what finance does, and why, much better. It also gave me a number of ideas to look at for improving our system performance. I have been supporting Oracle Hyperion, OBIEE, ODI, and this course gives me a much greater understanding on how the different pieces integrate together, and the management of data.

This course was a great course and if you every get the chance to sit a class with Frank, do so; you will get even more out of it.




Friday, 11 January 2013

Nightmare at the Book Fair - Dan Gutman

Nightmare at the Book Fair
Dan Gutman
Simon & Schuster
ISBN 9781416579489

 
I have read a number of different books by Dan Gutman over the last few years. And I must say this one is my new favorite. It was an awesome read across genres and the humor was incredible. In many ways it reads like a jaunt across literary genres much like Robert A. Heinlien's Job: A Comedy of Justice. I loved this book and have recommended it to a number of people who all enjoyed it also.

Trip Dinkleman hates to read. He really hates it. But he gets roped into helping set up for the book fair by Mrs. Pontoon. As he is shifting crates of books, one falls and soon he wakes up in a different world. Some characters look the same, some even have same names but something is very wrong and he keeps 'shifting' from episode to episode. He floats through the following Genres:


Horror
Sports
Adventure
Science Fiction
Humor
Mystery
Historical Fiction
Animal Fiction
Fantasy
Fiction for Girls


And along the way he has a couple of intermissions. Trip goes on a real trip and as he transitions from story to story he must figure something out in order to move on.

This story was wonderfully entertaining. It was an awesome read that I know I will go back and visit again. If you are looking for something new or different, give it a try; pick up this book and go for a wild ride.


Books by Dan Gutman:
The Genius Files:
(HarperCollins)
Mission Unstoppable (2011)
Never Say Genius (?)

My Weirder School: (Harper Collins)
Miss Child Has Gone Wild! (2011)
Mr. Harrison is Embarrisin'! (2012)
Mrs. Lilly is Silly! (2013)

My Weird School Daze: (HarperCollins)
Mrs. Dole is Out of Control! (2008)
Mr. Sunny is Funny! (2007)
Mr. Granite is from Another Planet! (2008)
Coach Hyatt is a Riot! (2009)
Officer Spence Makes No Sense! (2009)
Mrs. Jafee is Daffy! (2009)
Dr. Brad Has Gone Mad! (2009)
Miss Laney is Zany! (2010)
Mrs. Lizzy is Dizzy! (2010)
Miss Mary is Scary! (2010)
Mr. Tony is Full of Baloney! (2010)
Ms. Leaky is Freaky! (2011)

My Weird School: (HarperCollins)
Miss Daisy is Crazy! (2004)
Mr. Klutz is Nuts! (2004)
Mrs. Roopy is Loopy! (2004)
Ms. Hannah is Bananas! (2004)
Miss Small is Off the Wall! (2005)
Mr. Hynde is Out of His Mind! (2005)
Mrs. Cooney is Loony! (2005)
Ms. LaGrange is Strange! (2005)
Miss Lazar is Bizarre! (2005)
Mr. Docker is Off His Rocker! (2006)
Mrs. Kormel is Not Normal! (2006)
Ms. Todd is Odd! (2006)
Mrs. Patty is Batty! (2006)
Miss Holly is Too Jolly! (2006)
Mr. Macky is Wacky! (2007)
Ms. Coco is Loco! (2007)
Miss Suki is Kooky! (2007)
Mrs. Yonkers is Bonkers! (2007)
Dr. Carbles is Losing His Marbles! (2007)
Mr. Louie is Screwy! (2007)
Ms. Krup Cracks Me Up! (2008)

Funny Boy: (Hyperion)
Funny Boy Meets the Airsick Alien from Andromeda (1999)
Funny Boy Versus the Bubble Brained Barbers from the Big
Bang (2000)
Funny Boy Meets the Chit-Chatting Cheese from Chattanooga
(2000)

Tales From The Sandlot: (Scholastic)
The Green Monster in Left Field (1997)
The Catcher Who Shocked the World (1997)
The Pitcher Who Went Out of His Mind (1997)
The Shortstop Who Knew Too Much (1997)

And Me Series: (Harper Collins)
Roberto & Me (2010)
Ray & Me (2009)
Jim & Me (2008)
Satch & Me (2006)
Abner & Me (2005)
Mickey & Me (2003)
Shoeless Joe & Me (2002)
Babe & Me (2000)
Jackie & Me (1999)
Honus & Me (1997)

Million Dollar:
The Million Dollar Shot (1997)
The Million Dollar Kick (2001)
The Million Dollar Goal (2003)
The Million Dollar Strike (2004)
The Million Dollar Putt (2006)

Kid Who Ran for President:
The Kid Who Ran for President (1996)
The Kid Who Became President (1999)

Qwerty Stevens Adventures:
Back in Time With Thomas Edison (2001)
Back in Time With Benjamin Franklin (2002)

Homework Machine:
The Homework Machine (2006)
Return of the Homework Machine (2009)

Other Books:
The Day Roy Riegels Ran the Wrong Way (2011)
The Talent Show (2010)
The Christmas Genie (2009)
Recycle This Book: 100 Top Children's Book Authors Tell You
How To Go Green (2009)
Nightmare at the Book Fair (2008)
Casey Back at Bat (2007)
Getting Air (2007))
Jackie Robinson and the Big Game (2006)
The Get Rich Quick Club (2004)
Babe Ruth and the Ice Cream Mess (2004)
Race For The Sky (2003)
The Secret Life of Dr. Demented (2001)
Johnny Hangtime (2000)
Landslide! A Kid's Guide to the U.S. Elections (2000)
Jackie Robinson (1999)
Joe DiMaggio (1999)
Cal Ripken, Jr.: My Story (1999)
Virtually Perfect (1998)
Katy's Gift (1998)
The Way Baseball Works (1996)
Gymnastics (1996)
Ice Skating (1995)
Taking Flight (1995)
They Came From Centerfield (1995)
Banana Bats & Ding-Dong Balls (1995)
World Series Classics (1994)
Baseball's Greatest Games (1994)
Baseball's Biggest Bloopers (1993)
Baseball Babylon (1992)
SuperMemory (1991)
It Ain't Cheatin' If You Don't Get Caught (1990)
I Didn't Know You Could Do THAT With A Computer (1986)
The Greatest Games (1985)

Author Profile and interview with Dan Gutman.




Wednesday, 9 January 2013

The Circle Maker - Mark Batterson - dream big, pray hard, think long

The Circle Maker 
dream big, pray hard, think long
Mark Batterson 

Zondervan 
eISBN 9780310330738
ISBN 9780310330738


Very few authors have grabbed my attention and focus from a spiritual perspective as Mark Batterson has. The last authors who captivated me to this extent were John Eldredge or Henri Nouwen. I have been reading everything by Batterson I could get my hands on. But to be honest, I was weary of reading this book. It has so much hype, and it is 'the book' to read in some Christian circles currently. But after reading Praying Circles Around Your Children and The Circle Maker Student Edition: dream big, pray hard, think long I finally circled back to read this one. In under a week I read the book and the enhanced eBook edition with audio and video. I am currently reading through for the third time.

I did not start highlighting this book until my third run through. So some of the passages that have really grabbed my attention are:

"Bold prayers honor God, and God honors bold prayers. God isn't offended by your biggest dreams or boldest prayers. He is offended by anything less. If your prayers aren't impossible to you, they are insulting to God."

"The greatest moments in life are the miraculous moments when human impotence and divine omnipotence intersect - and they intersect when we draw a circle around the impossible situations in our lives and invite God to intervene."

"It is absolutely imperative at the outset that you come to terms with this simple yet life-changing truth: God is for you. If you don't believe that, then you'll pray small timid prayers; if you do believe it, then you'll pray big audacious prayers."

"Drawing prayer circles isn't some magic trick to get what you want from God. God is not a genie in a bottle, and your wish is not His command. His command better be your wish."

"Drawing prayer circles starts with discerning what God wants, what God wills. And until His sovereign will becomes your sanctified wish, your prayer life will be unplugged from its power supply. Sure, you can apply some of the principles you learn in The Circle Maker, and they may help you get what you want, but getting what you want isn't the goal; the goal is glorifying God by drawing circles around the promises, miracles, and dreams He wants for you. God has determined that certain expressions of His power will only be exercised in response to prayer."

"The greatest tragedy in life is the prayers that go unanswered because they go unasked."

"We pray out of our ignorance, but God answers out of His omniscience. We pray out of our impotence, but God answers out of His omnipotence. God has the ability to answer the prayers we should have prayed but lacked the knowledge or ability to even ask."

"Well-developed faith results in well-defined prayers, and well-defined prayers result in a well-lived life."

"You are only one defining decision away from a totally different life. One defining decision can change your trajectory and put you on a new path toward the Promised Land. One defining decision can totally change the forecast of your life. And it's those defining decisions that become the defining moments of our lives."

So what will be your defining moments? Will you take the risk and pick up this book and learn something new about God? Will you allow scriptures to be opened up to you? Will you become a prayer warrior? This book has tools that could change your life, change the course of your life and through your prayers, generations to come! I personally have found that since starting to read Batterson's books a few months back, I pray far more often, far more regularly and get prompted by the Holy Spirit for praying specific things for specific people on a much more regular basis. I once read that 'reading books can be dangerous' - this is one of those books. I do not believe anyone can read this book with an open heart and ears to listen to the Spirit and not come away changed. Are you ready to begin the adventure?





Books by Mark Batterson: 
The Circle Maker
The Circle Maker Enhanced eBook Edition
Praying Circles Around Your Children
Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge
The Circle Maker Student Edition: dream big, pray hard, think long

The Circle Maker for Kids
Be A Circle Maker
All In
All In Student Edition
Going All In
Praying Circles Around The Lives of Your Children
Jack Staples and the Ring of Time (With Joel Clark)
Primal
Soul Print

ID: The True You
In A Pit With A Lion On A Snowy Day
Wild Goose Chase: Reclaim the Adventure of Pursuing God
Chase the Lion Stepping Confidently Into the Unknown


 






























Monday, 7 January 2013

Exam Ref 70-417 Upgrading Your Skills to MCSA Windows Server 2012 - J.C. Mackin

Exam Ref 70-417 Upgrading Your Skills to MCSA Windows Server 2012
J.C. Mackin
Microsoft Press
ISBN 9780735673045


This book does the trick. I worked through this book over a 2-week period and then went and passed the exam. The book really narrows down the features and objectives to just those covered by the upgrade exam. It is very well written and easy to work through. It highlights the key differences in Server 2012 and how to take advantage of them.

Each chapter has the cores lesson, exam tip boxes, notes, and a review of objectives covered. There are also practice questions at the end of each chapter.  The book is really well written and easily accessible. If you are running Server 2012 either physically or in a VM, you can work through everything along with the book and get good hands-on practice.  J.C. Mackin writes in a very accessible style and it is one of my favorite of the MS Press books I have yet to work through.

The big thing about this exam is how widely they are offering this upgrade. If you hold any one of the following 6 designations you can do this one exam and achieve the new MCSA: Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate Windows Server 2012 designation:


MCSA: Windows Server 2008
MCITP: Virtualization Administrator
MCITP: Enterprise Messaging Administrator
MCITP: Lync Server Administrator
MCITP: SharePoint Administrator
MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator

For those of us who hold one or more of these credentials, the 70-417 is an amazing offer.  A single-exam upgrade path to the MCSA: Windows Server 2012, for the low costs of $150 that all other MS Cert exams cost now. This exam bypasses three separate exams if you were to start the process from scratch:


70-410 Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012
70-411 Administering Windows Server 2012
70-412 Configuring Advanced Windows Server 2012 Services

It is also the first time I believe you can do an upgrade from Desktop certification to server certification. This book and a machine running Server 2012 are all you need to train and pass this exam. So go for it!

 

Friday, 4 January 2013

Oh, What A Christmas! - Michael Garland


Oh, What A Christmas!
Michael Garland
Scholastic
ISBN 9780545242103


An interesting tale about a Christmas Eve like no other. Santa and the reindeer get separated and after a crash, Santa and some barn animals have an adventure to last. The illustrations are breathtaking - so vibrant and real. It is a fun story that children will laugh at and want to read over. 

Wednesday, 2 January 2013

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012

 Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012

This year the top ten non-fiction books are an equal mix of catholic, Christian, Fitness and Technology the same topics I focus on for this blog. It was a very well rounded year for reading and this list made me smile as I composed it so I hope you enjoy it also.

1. Faith At Work - Kevin Lowry
2. Every Body Matters - Gary Thomas
3. Holiness for Everyone - Eric Sammons
4. Wish You Were Here: Travels Through Loss and Hope - Amy Welborn
5. The Circle Maker: Dream Big. Pray Hard. Think Long - Mark Batterson
The Circle Maker Student Edition - Praying Circles Around Your Children - The Circle Maker
6. The Ten Commandments Of Lifting Weights - Jared Zimmerer
7. Reconciled to God Daily Lenten Devotions - Amy Welborn
8. How to Think Like A Neandertal - Thomas Wynn and Frederick L. Coolidge
9.Training Kit Exam 70-461 Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 - Itzik Ben-Gan, Dejan Sarka and Ron Talmage
10. Training Kit Exam 70-462 Admin SQL 2012 - Orin Thomas, Peter Ward and Bob Taylor
11. The Primal Blueprint 21 Day Total Body Transformation - Mark Sisson



Honorable mentions because I read it last year but this year read it as a daily devotion and loved it!
12. Tending the Temple - Dr. Kevin Vost, Shane KaplerPeggy Bowes

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year: 

176- 2012
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Tuesday, 1 January 2013

Top Ten Reading Goals 2013

Last year only hit one but time to try again..

1. Read all 6 book in the Duncton series by William Horwood.
2. Read the rest of the books in The Gardians of Ga'Hoole Series.
3. Read all books by N.D. Wilson and review.

4. Try and hit 100 novels read this year.
5. Create a top ten list each quarter for fiction, and at end of year for fiction, non-fiction and picture books. (1st Quarter, 2nd Quarter, 3rd Quarter, 4th Quarter and Top Ten Book of 2013.)6. Review every book read in 2013.
7. Finish reading at least one book by every contributor in Geektastic.
8. TDB

9. TBD
10. TBD


Statistics Books Read By Year: 
176 - 2012

163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Peace and Strength!
Yours, learning to be
Steven R. McEvoy

http://mcevoysmusings.ca My Homepage
http://bookreviewsandmore.ca My Blog
http://www.linkedin.com/in/srmcevoy LinkedIN
http://twitter.com/SRMcEvoy Twitter

CompTIA IT PRO, A+ ITT, A+ DT, A+ RST, Network+, Security+
Microsoft MCSE, MCSA, MCP, MCTS, MCITP, MOS
Apple ACSP, ACA

"The only reason for being a professional writer is that you can't help it."
- Leo Rosten