Friday, 31 December 2010

Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Some of my reading goals for 2010!

1. Finish all books in progress, down to 4 from over 30 at peak. Only abandoned 3.
2. Read all books by Cecil Castellucci aka Cecil Seaskull - have and have reviewed.
3. Read all books by Arthur Slade - have and reviewed all but 1.
4. Read and review all books by Kenneth Oppel - about half way there with reviews (Gave up way more older ones I did not know about.)
5. Read all book by Barry Lyga about a third done with and reviews.
(Did not complete got off track with some other authors)
6. Read all books by Alexander Gordon Smith over half done with reviews.
(did not complete got off track with some other authors)
7. Try and hit 300 books read this year.
(done for final tally see chart below.)
8. Create a top ten list each quarter for fiction, and at end of year for fiction, non-fiction and picture books. (1st Quarter, 2nd Quarter, 3rd Quarter, 4th Quarter and Top Ten Book of 2010.)
9. Read something completely outside my comfort zone or normal reading habits:
Sea Change - Aimee FriedmanMercury - Hope Larson
Graphic Novels
10. Review over 200 books on the blog.
(Done.)

(Being dyslexic does not affect my ability to count even though Hank Zipzer uses it as an excuse on his list in each book.)

11. Double the number of books I have read on the Scholastic Summer Reading Challenge list.
(Did not double but close.)
12. Read 100 YA novels this year, for the Young Adult Reading Challenge.
(Done.)
13. To be determined at a later date.

It is amazing when you can accomplish once you finish university. After 21 years as an undergrad, I have read more books in the first 6 months of this year than most years totals.


Statistics Books Read By Year:
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap
 

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013


Those are some of my reading goals and results for the year.

Peace and Strength!
Yours, learning to be
Steven R. McEvoy

http://mcevoysmusings.ca My Homepage
http://bookreviewsandmore.ca My Blog
http://www.linkedin.com/in/srmcevoy LinkedIN
http://twitter.com/SRMcEvoy Twitter

CompTIA IT PRO, A+ ITT, A+ DT, A+ RST, Network+, Security+
Microsoft MCSE, MCSA, MCP, MCTS, MCITP, MOS
Apple Certified Associate

"The only reason for being a professional writer is that you can't help it."
- Leo Rosten

Thursday, 30 December 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books of the 4th Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books of the 4th Quarter 2010
1. Blessed - Cynthia Leitich Smith

2. Plain Kate - Erin Bow
3. City Of Bones - Mortal Instruments 1 - Cassandra Clare
4. City Of Ashes - Mortal Instruments 2 - Cassandra Clare
5. City Of Glass - Mortal Instruments 3 - Cassandra Clare
6. The Loki Wolf - Arthur Slade
7. The Knife Of Never Letting Go - Chaos Walking #1 - Patrick Ness

8. Rain Is Not My Indian Name - Cyhthia Leitich Smtih
9. Emiko Superstar - Mariko Tamaki and Steve Rolston10. Rose Sees Red - Cecil Castellucci

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap
 

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Statistics Books Read By Year:
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Wednesday, 29 December 2010

Kind - Good Neighbors Book 3 - Holly Black & Ted Naifeh

The Good Neighbors:
Kind - Book Three

Holly Black (Author)

Ted Naifeh (Illustrator)

Graphix an imprint of

Scholastic

ISBN 9780439855648


This third and final book in the graphic novel series by Naifeh and Black, ties the story together in an amazing way. With even darker narrative and incredible illustrations this book is awesome.

Graphix is the graphic novel arm of Scholastic press, most famous for Jeff Smith's Bone. This book is the third in a trilogy from Holly Black, one of the authors of the Spiderwick Chronicles. The series called The Good Neighbors began with Kin two years ago and Kith last fall. Now the story continues and concludes this year with Kind. This is an incredible graphic novel. The story that started strong and compelling in book one, becomes even better in Kith, becomes absolutely enthralling in book three. A year might be a long time to wait for a graphic novel of 110 pages but the story and artwork make the wait more than worth it.

This is the concluding story of Rue Silver. Previously we found out that Rue thought she was a typical student - she had good friends, hung out, went to class and broke into abandoned buildings to climb and explore in them. But after finding out that her mother was really of the faery folk, she finds out that her grandfather Aubrey wants to take over the town. He wants to surround the whole area in a spell and separate it from the human world. Rue is torn in her loyalties - her family among the faeries or her friends and all the humans in the town. An epic battle is brewing between man and faery and Rue is stuck right in the middle. But now her Grandfather is dead by his own evil spell to separate the town and hide it from the world. Her mother is ruling the faery world. Her friends have been marked for protection, but the rest of the humans are fair game for the faery's entertainment and diversions. But some of them are fighting back.

The Dark edge found in the first two books becomes even more so in this third book. But Rue is also finding an inner strength she never knew she had. She starts to put together the final steps of her Grandfather's plans, and might have a way to help most of the humans get back to our world. But it will require timing, help from her friends and a great personal sacrifice.

It is an awesome book and an amazing trilogy! Well done Black and Naifeh!














Other Books by Holly Black:

The Poison Eaters and Other Stories

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown
Doll Bones

The Modern Faerie Tales
Tithe (2002)
Valiant (2005)
Ironside (2007)

The Spiderwick Chronicles
The Field Guide (2003)
The Seeing Stone (2003)
Lucinda's Secret (2003)
The Ironwood Tree (2004)
The Wrath of Mulgarath (2004)
Arthur Spiderwick's Notebook of Fantastical Observations (2005)
Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide to the Fantastical World Around You (2005)
Care and Feeding of Sprites (2006)


Beyond Spiderwick
The Nixie's Song (2007)
A Giant Problem (2008)
The Wyrm King (2009)

The Good Neighbors
Kin (2008)
Kith (2009)
Kind (2010)

The Curse Workers
White Cat (2010)
Red Glove (2011)
Black Heart (2012)

Anthologies
Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd (2009)
Zombies vs. Unicorns (2010)
Welcome to Bordertown (2011)

Monday, 27 December 2010

Noodles - I Love School - Hans Wilhelm

I Love School
Noodles
Hans Wilhelm
Cartwheel Books an imprint of

Scholastic
ISBN 9780545134743

This is the first of the Noodles books we have encountered. I am sure my daughter will have them all before long. These are part of the Scholastic Leveled reader series. These are fun, playful stories about a young puppy named Noodles who seems to find his way into mischief. In this adventure Noodles wanders his way into school. He is frightened by the bell, he hides behind some boots and then he plays with the children. The illustrations are wonderful watercolor prints with great details that inspire a real feel for the story. Hans Wilhelm has written a wonderful story, that children will enjoy reading many times.

The Leveled readers are great books for young children. They are designed to progress as a child's reading improves. There are hundreds of titles in these formats, even across different publishers. What makes this particular series, The Lego City Adventures, so good, is that little kids will be attracted to them because of the format and style. These books are bright, vibrant, and colorful stories with fun illustrations. As a Level 1 reader geared for Kindergarten to Grade 1, this book is intended to help with sight word recognition, and sounding out simple words and sentences.

Saturday, 25 December 2010

Merry Christmas 2010

Merry Christmas
From Book Reviews and More.


Hope you have a blessed holiday season, and may you find many good books under the tree.


(Could not resist sharing this after all my posts about fitness this past year and a bit. Nothing like a P90X snowman to put a smile on your face.)

Friday, 24 December 2010

The New World - Patrick Ness - Chaos Walking Prequel

The New World
Chaos Walking Prequel
Patrick Ness
Candlewick Press
ISBN 9780763656492

This short story is available as an ebook. It goes back and tells Viola's story of her trip to the planet and her family's crash. In 45 pages it conveys much history, and helps us understand Viola much better. It is a great story and fans of the series should definitely read it.

Currently available for free from Kobo.

Books By Patrick Ness:

The Crash of Hennington (2003)
Topics About Which I Know Nothing (2005)

Young Adult Books:

The Knife of Never Letting Go - Chaos Walking: Book One (2008)
The Ask and the Answer - Chaos Walking: Book Two (2009)
Monsters of Men - Chaos Walking: Book Three (2010)
The New World - Chaos Walking: Prequel (Ebook 2009)

A Monster Calls (Walker Books, 2011)

Thursday, 23 December 2010

Inner Geek Updated - December 2010

It is hard to believe that it has been a year since I updated this series. Over the past years I started more SQL certifications three times, and each time it dropped off the radar and priority list. Now I am mainly focusing on Mac certifications. I am supporting a small fleet of Mac's in a very large pool of Dell computers. I now try and spend about a third of my day on my Macbook Pro, just to immerse myself in it. It is a major shift and though I will probably never become a Mac guy myself, I am excited about learning new skills and stretching myself to be the best I can at supporting them. I am currently running a Macbook Pro 13inch with 8GB ram, and using VMWare Fusion to run Windows 7 In unity mode and also have VM's of both Kubuntu and EdUbuntu for playing around in a more native linux environment.

The certification's I have earned are:




Exams Written:
Mac Integration Basics - Exam 9L0-263
MCITP - Windows 7 Desktop Administrator - Exam 070-686
Pro: MS SQL Server 2008 Design, Optimize and Maintain - Exam 070-450
MCITP - Windows Server 2008 Server Administrator - Exam 072-646
MCITP Windows Server 2008 Enterprise Administrator - 070-647
CompTIA Security+ - Exam JKO-015
MCITP Windows 7 Enterprise Desktop Support Technician - EXAM 071-685
MCTS Windows 7 Configuration - Exam 070-680
Implementing Security in MS Win Server 2003 - Exam 70-299
MCTS System Center Virtual Machine Manager 2008, Configuration - Exam 70-403
MCTS Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Implementation & Maintenance - Exam 70-431
MCTS Upgrading MCSE on Windows Server 2003 to Windows Server 2008- Exam 70-649
MCTS Deploying & Maintaining Vista Client Office System - Exam 070-624
Microsoft PowerPoint - Exam 810
Microsoft Outlook - Exam 813
Microsoft Access - Exam 807
Microsoft Excel - Exam 804
Microsoft Word - Exam 801

My Updated Certification Schedule, at the moment is all MAC certifications. Having taken over as the prime for supporting a small but growing number of Mac's at work has made this an essential skill. I hope to write 2 more Apple certifications in 2011.

Articles in this Series:
These exams were written either at a Prometric Testing Center or at a Certiport Testing Center for the Office exams. The Exams names that have links link to reviews of the books I used to prepare for those exams. These exams are a mix ofCompTIA, Microsoft Exams and Apple certification exams.

Wednesday, 22 December 2010

The Knife of Never Letting Go - Patrick Ness - Chaos Walking Book 1

The Knife of Never Letting Go
Chaos Walking Book 1

Patrick Ness

Candlewick Press

ISBN 9780763647513


Sometimes life is not what it seems; most people would say often it is not what it seems or even what you expect. But for Todd Hewitt it is even more so. Todd is the last boy in Prentisstown. Todd was raised to believe that all women on the settlement planet had been destroyed by a germ from an alien species called the Spackle. That same germ allowed men's thoughts to be visible to others and for men to hear the thoughts of animals and for animals to speak. In thirty days Todd becomes a man, for on your thirteenth birthday on this frontier planet you become a man. But for now he is the last boy and it is lonely because after 13 years of 13 months you become a man and Todd cannot wait, but his world is about to be turned upside down.

Todd is out picking apples when he notices a spot of silence, a void in the noise he is accustomed to coming from everything. He tries to follow the noise and it moves away from him. Soon he loses track of the void in the noise and heads home. He tries to hide this secret as he passes through Prentisstown. When he gets home, his adoptive parents panic when they find out about it, and start gathering stuff to send him away. Bewildered, confused and feeling rejected he struggles against this plan, a plan they have obviously been preparing for a while. Soon he discovers the void in the noise is a girl, and he and the girl are running for their lives.

This book was a wild ride, and I cannot wait to read the rest of the series. From the minute I picked it up, I did not want to put it down. A few of the plot twists I figured out well before the story explicitly told us, but there were so many, and the way they were all woven together was thrilling to read. Of the over 300 books I read in 2010 this is one of the best; I just hope the rest of the series lives up to it.

Books By Patrick Ness:

The Crash of Hennington (2003)
Topics About Which I Know Nothing (2005)

Young Adult Books:

The Knife of Never Letting Go - Chaos Walking: Book One (2008)
The Ask and the Answer - Chaos Walking: Book Two (2009)
Monsters of Men - Chaos Walking: Book Three (2010)
The New World - Chaos Walking: Prequel (Ebook 2009)

A Monster Calls (Walker Books, 2011)

Tuesday, 21 December 2010

Emiko Superstar - Mariko Tamaki and Steve Rolston

Emiko Superstar
Mariko Tamaki (Author)
Steve Rolston (Illustrator)
Minx a abandoned division of
DC Comics
ISBN 9781401215361

This was the second last of the 12 MINX graphic novels that I was able to track down and read. It is one of the best in the series. It is the story of a young girl who does not follow all her friends off to business camp. Who borrows the words of another woman to learn to find her own voice. Emiko is staying home this summer; she is babysitting after being fired as a whipping girl at a coffee bar. She is invited to a Freak Show at a placed called the Factory. At first she goes, but then she auditions and makes the act. Wearing some of her grandmothe's old clothes she finds a new person inside and spends the summer exploring who she really wants to be.

This story is fantastic - the writing, the concept and the artwork. I reread it immediately and know I will reread it again and again. The short-lived MINX graphic novel line was supposed to feature stories about strong women and girls and be quality graphic novels for young women. I plan on keeping the whole series set aside for my daughters for when they are older, but I will probably pull this one and a few of the others out from time to time to reread.

MINX Graphic Novels:

The P.L.A.I.N. Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg (May 2 2007)
Re-Gifters by Mike Carey, Marc Hempel, and Sonny Liew (Jun 6 2007)
Clubbing by Andi Watson and Josh Howard (July 11 2007)
Good as Lily by Derek Kirk Kim and Jesse Hamm (Aug 1 2007)
Confessions of a Blabbermouth by Mike Carey, Louise Carey, and Aaron Alexovich(Sep 12 2007)
Kimmie66 by Aaron Alexovich (Nov 7 2007)
Burnout by Rebecca Donner (Jun 24 2008)
Water Baby by Ross Campbell(July 8 2008)
The New York Four by Ryan Kelly (July 22 2008)
Janes in Love by Cecil Castellucci (Sep 23 2008)
Emiko Superstar by Mariko Tamaki (Oct 14 2008)
Token by Alisa Sheckley (Nov 4 2008)

All Nighter by David Hahn (Unreleased)
Janes Go Summer by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg ( (Unreleased)

Books by Mariko Tamaki:
Cover Me
True Lies
Fake ID
Emiko Superstar ( with Steve Rolston)
Skim (with Jillian Tamaki)
(You) Set Me on Fire

Author profile and interview with Mariko Tamaki.