Thursday, 30 September 2010

Build This City - Lego City Adventures - Sonia Sander

Build This City
Lego City
Scholastic
ISBN 9780545177658


This picture book is done in the same style as the Lego City Adventure books, but is a different size and format. It is not one of the Leveled readers. The artwork is bright, vibrant and fun. In this book a new building is going up in Lego city and from excavation to completion we watch the workers in Lego city construct a new building. It is a fun, light, easy read that will be enjoyed by young readers.

Lego City Adventure Books:
Fire Truck To The Rescue
Help Is On the Way!
Calling All Cars
All Aboard!
Ready For Take Off
Build This City
City Adventures Sticker Book

Work This Farm
Fight This Fire!
Lego City Heroes!
Trucks Around The City
Escape From Lego City
3, 2, 1 Liftoff
All Hands On Deck
Fire In The Forest!
Catch That Crook!

Lego Star Wars Books:
Save The Galaxy!
Anakin: Space Pilot 3D
Darth Maul's Mission


Wednesday, 29 September 2010

Tantalize - Cynthia Leitich Smith

Tantalize
Cynthia Leitich Smith
Candlewick
ISBN 9780763627911

I bought and downloaded this book immediately upon finishing Eternal, which is set in the same world. The story is written around a menu for a new restaurant. Quincie Morris inherited a restaurant when both her parents passed away; her Uncle is running it in trust for her until her 21st birthday. The story begins when the restaurant is closed for renovations - it is being re-imaged as Sanguini's: A Very Rare Restaurant, a theme restaurant with a vampire chef and vampire Goth theme decor. And the chef is to be the unlife of the party. But a few weeks before the grand reopening, the chef, a close family friend, is murdered and it looks like a werewolf attack.

Soon they find a person who appears to be the perfect fill-in, Henry Johnson, a chef whose food is amazing but seems to be struggling with the vampire appearance. But things are not always what they appear. A wedge is driven between Quincie and her best friend, a half-werewolf named Kiernan. Soon she is isolated, not attending school and spending all her time with her uncle and the new chef preparing for the grand reopening.

This story was amazing, I did not want to stop reading it, and often kept reading when I should have put the book down. I read it in less than 48 hours. The story was great, with amazing twists in the plot. The surprises kept coming. The story is told in sections following the menu for the new restaurant, from antipasto, primo, secondo, dolce and finally conforno. I loved the story and how it was written and cannot wait for the third book in this world to come out in 2011.

(As a side note: this was the first book I read on my Blackberry using the Kobo eReader app. I think reading on the Blackberry actually increased my reading speed. There were some pictures in the text that the eReader app and desktop application did not display. Not until it became obvious did I go back and compare with the epub version and find out that there were about a dozen images missed throughout the text. Kobo should have an indication that an image is missing but that is just my opinion.)

Books by Cynthia Leitich Smith:

Young Adult Books:

Tantalize
Eternal
Blessed
Cat Calls - Short Story
Tantalize Kierens Story - Graphic Novel
Haunted Love - Short Story
Diabolical


Books for Kids:

Holler Loudly
Santa Knows
Indian Shoes
Rain Is Not My Indian name
Jingle Dancer

Author Profile Interview with Cynthia Leitch Smith



























Tuesday, 28 September 2010

Eternal - Cynthia Leitich Smith

Eternal
Cynthia Leitich Smith

Candlewick

ISBN 9780763647735


This was the first book I read by Cynthia Leitich Smith. I was amazed by the story, the characters and the world creation. This book was so good that I bought and read Tantalize immediately upon finishing this story. Set in the same world as Tantalize but with a new set of characters, this story is fast-paced, riveting and extremely addictive. It is a story of love, but a love that can never be. It is the story about falling and possibly about redemption.

The story is told in alternating chapters from the perspectives of Zachary a guardian angel and Miranda his 17 year-old charge. But maybe Zachary loves Miranda too much; in an attempt to save her life he reveals himself in full radiance. Miranda is kidnapped by a vampire and is being trained to be Vampire Royalty, a Princess. Zachary is stripped of most of his powers and spirals down until a former colleague appears and tells him he has a new mission and gives him a start and an address. When Zachary gets there it is Miranda's new home and he becomes her personal assistant. He tries to assert his influence and save her soul.

Can an angel who is out of grace redeem himself and more importantly complete his initial mission guarding the soul of Miranda? As the story goes back and forth between their two views, we see both sides of this story. Yet both of them will need to learn who they really are at the core of their being and through that what sacrifices they must be willing to make to live up to who the are.

This story was incredibly addictive. I did not want to put it down. It was hard to go back to work from breaks reading it. Cynthia Leitich Smith has done an amazing job creating a world, and populating it with characters you cheer for, root for and a few who you hope get what is coming to them. She wrote a previous book in this world called Tantalize and has a third book coming out in 2011 called Blessed.

Books by Cynthia Leitich Smith:
Young Adult Books:

Tantalize
Eternal
Blessed
Cat Calls - Short Story
Tantalize Kierens Story - Graphic Novel
Haunted Love - Short Story
Diabolical


Books for Kids:

Holler Loudly
Santa Knows
Indian Shoes
Rain Is Not My Indian name
Jingle Dancer


Author Profile Interview with Cynthia Leitch Smith














Monday, 27 September 2010

Stick Man - Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler

Stick Man
Julia Donaldson (Author)

Axel Scheffler (Illustrator)

Arthur A. Levine Books
An Imprint of Scholastic

ISBN 9780545157612


This book was one of my few disappointments this year. The illustrations are okay, the story is okay, but it was not great. The story is that of a Stick man who gets chased by a dog, then thrown in a river. All he wants is to return home to his family.

Saturday, 25 September 2010

Good As Lily - Derek Kirk Kim and Jesse Hamm

Good As Lily
Derek Kirk Kim (Author)

Jesse Hamm (Illustrator)

Minx a abandoned division of

DC Comics
ISBN 9781401213817

What would you do if on your 18th birthday you encountered alternate versions of yourself, from ages 6, 29, and 70? That is exactly what happened to Grace Kwon. She soon must find a way to balance friends, high school and her parents all while hiding her alternative selves and figuring out why they are here and if she can find a way to make them go back to their own time. At the same time she is trying to salvage the school play that was going to be cut because of budget issues. This was a great story, well told and wonderfully illustrated.

MINX Graphic Novels:

The P.L.A.I.N. Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg (May 2 2007)
Re-Gifters by Mike Carey, Marc Hempel, and Sonny Liew (Jun 6 2007)
Clubbing by Andi Watson and Josh Howard (July 11 2007)
Good as Lily by Derek Kirk Kim and Jesse Hamm (Aug 1 2007)
Confessions of a Blabbermouth by Mike Carey, Louise Carey, and Aaron Alexovich(Sep 12 2007)
Kimmie66 by Aaron Alexovich (Nov 7 2007)
Burnout by Rebecca Donner (Jun 24 2008)
Water Baby by Ross Campbell(July 8 2008)
The New York Four by Ryan Kelly (July 22 2008)
Janes in Love by Cecil Castellucci (Sep 23 2008)
Emiko Superstar by Mariko Tamaki (Oct 14 2008)
Token by Alisa Sheckley (Nov 4 2008)

All Nighter by David Hahn (Unreleased)
Janes Go Summer by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg ( (Unreleased)

Friday, 24 September 2010

Draugr - Arthur Slade - Northern Frights #1

Draugr
Northern Frights #1
Arthur Slade
Orca Books Publishers
ISBN 1551430940

Draugr is the first published novel by Arthur Slade. It was the 7th novel he wrote. It is set in a small town in Manitoba, with three American teenagers visiting their grandfather. The first night of their visit their grandfather tells them ghost stories and tales from his homeland, Iceland. The next day the three youngsters Sarah, Michael and Angie have a very strange encounter; it is almost as if their grandfather's tales are starting to come true. And as the old saying goes 'truth is stranger than fiction'. Soon they find themselves experiencing things that should not be possible but are really happening. In less than 3 days they have a life-changing experience.

The three teenagers are supposed to be visiting for 2 weeks but on their second day there, they are told their grandfather has unfinished business and they will be going home the next day. But the house is attacked that night and their grandfather goes missing. Soon Sarah must summon strength and courage she did not know she had; she will have to defy adults she respects and risk her life to save those who are closest to her. This is a story that has an open grave, strange legends, beasts walking the night, and maybe a Draugr, a dead man walking again. It is both frightening and wonderful.

This story is wonderfully written, like ghost stories told around the campfire, but with a depth of details and great characters. The readers find themselves wrapped in a talk at once both exciting and addictive. You will not be able to put the book down. Considering it is Slade's first published novel, it has a level of polish and skill rarely seen in an author's early works. It is an incredible story.

There are three books in the Northern Frights series by Arthur Slade and they are some of his earliest published works, each story based on Norse mythology. They were published under the name Arthur G. Slade by Orca Book Publishers. They are currently out of print, but they are really worth tracking down. They are incredible stories by a master storyteller.


Books by Arthur Slade:
John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)


Books as Stephen Shea: 
The Not So Simple Life
Damage
Viper - Short Story


Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea.

Thursday, 23 September 2010

Half Brother - Kenneth Oppel

Half Brother
Kenneth Oppel (blog)
Harper Collins
Browse Inside
ISBN 9781554688128

I have enjoyed the 13 books by Kenneth Oppel that I read before reading this one. But I approached the premise of this one with a bit of hesitation; I should have known better. With each book of Oppel's that I read, I become more and more impressed with his skill, talent and range of creativity. Ben Tomlin is an average teenager; he struggles with some anger issues, but his parents uproot him from his home in Toronto and move him to Victoria so his father can start a new experiment.

The experiment was a little different. They were going to raise a chimpanzee as if he were part of the family. Soon Ben has a younger brother named Zan. They are going to raise him as if he is human and teach him American Sign Language. Zan is learning at an amazing speed - he is averaging two new signs a week and soon he is combining them by himself. Helping with project Zan gives Ben an idea and he starts project Jennifer. Jennifer is the girl of his dreams and he will do whatever research he needs to win her over. Soon everything starts falling in place. Things are going well with Jennifer, project Zan is getting a lot of press. But then things take a turn for the worse; Zan gets some bad press and Ben's dad seems to be giving up on the project.

Soon Ben feels like Zan is really his little brother and cannot imagine his life without him. But in science, if a project does not go well, it is sometimes terminated. Ben is now willing to risk everything for Zan whom he once resented. Told from Ben's perspective, the story is believable and incredibly addictive. I stayed up really late reading it when I should have gone to bed early. I just could not put it down. Oppel has written a story about adoption, family, relationships and coming of age. It is an amazing book.

Books by Kenneth Oppel:

Half Brother (2010)
The Devil's Cure (2000)
Dead Water Zone (1992)
The Live-Forever Machine (1990)

Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein
This Dark Endeavour (2011)
Such Wicked Intent (2012)

The Silverwing Saga
Silverwing (1997)
Sunwing (1999)
Firewing (2002)
Darkwing (2007)

Airborn Series
Airborn (2004)
Skybreaker (2005)
Starclimber (2008)

Children's Fiction:

The King's Taster (2009)
Peg and the Yeti (2004)
Peg and the Whale (2000)
Emma's Emu (1995)
Galactic Snapshots (1993)
Cosmic Snapshots (1993)
Follow That Star (1992)
Cosimo Cat (1990)
Colin's Fantastic Video Adventure (1985)

Barnes and the Brains
A Bad Case of Ghosts (1993)
A Strange Case of Magic (1994)
A Crazy Case of Robots (1994)
An Incredible Case of Dinosaurs (1994)
A Weird Case of Super-Goo (1997)
A Creepy Case of Vampires (2002)

Wednesday, 22 September 2010

Ghost Hotel - Arthur Slade - Canadian Chills #2

Ghost Hotel
Canadian Chills #2
Arthur Slade
Coteau Books
ISBN 1550503065

Coteau Books' motto is Amazing stories, Amazing kids. This series by Arthur Slade lives up to that motto. I have now read two of the three and they are great stories. Walter the 'Wart' Bigger Bronson and Cindy his best friend witness a ghost in their school and they follow it to the historic Bessborough Hotel. While there, they are transported back in time to 1936. Walter and Cindy are twelve year old detectives and they investigate the paranormal.

This book is a ghost story that is both intense and humorous. Walter states early in the book: "The main reason this time travel and ghostly otherworldly stuff happens is because I live in Saskatoon. The problem with Saskatoon is that no one believes it exists. Oh sure, the people who live here, Saskatonians (or Saskatoonians or Tooners), they know the place is real, but step outside the city limits and no one believes there is, or ever was, such a place as Saskatoon. … Saskatoon is the Bermuda Triangle of the prairies. It's the ghost capital of Canada." So after encountering a ghost who led them into the past they must now figure out what is bothering the ghost and how to settle its spirit.

Ghost Hotel and the whole Canadian Chills series studies the world of the mysterious, the unknown and attempts to answer questions. It helps readers explore questions and 'what ifs' that often arise in life. Wart and Cindy have a great friendship and the characters are believable, and as they delve into the mystery they must find inner strength and character in order to get through this mystery together. It is a great story in a great series.


Books by Arthur Slade:
John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)


Books as Stephen Shea: 
The Not So Simple Life
Damage
Viper - Short Story


Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea.

Tuesday, 21 September 2010

Here Comes Christmas! - Caroline Jayne Church

Here Comes Christmas!
Caroline Jayne Church

Scholastic

ISBN 9780545118170

Caroline Jayne Church has a wonderful style when it comes to sight and sensory books for young readers. This is the fourth of her books that we have enjoyed together as a family. Almost every page has something to experience by touch and/or sound. The book will spark imagination and wonder, as a boy dreams on Christmas eve about what he will receive the next day, and flaps to open his presents with him. It is a fun story that will be read again and again.

Books by Caroline Jane Church:
Leaf Trouble
Here Comes Halloween!
Here Comes Easter!
Here Comes Christmas!

The More We Get Together
You Are My Sunshine
Goodnight I Love You

Books Illustrated by Carolyne Jayne Church:
I Love You Through And Through
How Do I Love You
A Kiss For You


Monday, 20 September 2010

The Haunting of Drang Island - Arthur Slade - Northern Frights #2

The Haunting of Drang Island
Northern Frights #2
Arthur Slade
Orca Books Publishers
ISBN 1551431114
eISBN
9780986855528

There are three books in the Northern Frights series by Arthur Slade. They are some of his earliest published works and each is a story based on Norse mythology. They were published under the name Arthur G. Slade by Orca Book Publishers. Even though they are currently out of print, they are really worth tracking down.

Michael Asmudson and his father arrive on Drang Island to spend a few weeks camping together, while his dad does research on the myths and legends that surround the island. Michael's first night on the island he meets a strange, strong-willed determined girl named Fiona Gavin. And also that first night, both their tents are vandalized with animal blood written as a warning.
Soon it appears that the legends, myths and tales of spirits, strange sacrifices and sea serpents that surround the island might not be that far from the truth. Soon Michael, his father and Fiona find themselves in mortal danger. Michael must make hard decisions, make sacrifices and take risks to do what is right.

This book was an amazing read. As a teenager I too was fascinated by Norse and Celtic legends and myths. To see them come back to life in a modern day Canadian setting was amazing. Every time I had to put the book down, I regretted it and wished I could just pick it up and keep reading. The story is very well written, the characters believable and the plot full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing right until the end.


Books by Arthur Slade:
John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)


Books as Stephen Shea: 
The Not So Simple Life
Damage
Viper - Short Story


Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea.

Sunday, 19 September 2010

confessions of a blabbermouth - Mike & Louise Carey and Aaron Alexovich

confessions of a blabbermouth
Mike & Louise Carey (Authors)

Aaron Alexovich (Illustrator)

Minx a abandoned division of

DC Comics

ISBN 9781845765828


It was very humorous to find out that a story about a father ghostwriting for his daughter was written by a father and daughter team. This is not my favorite story in the MINX line, but it was a good read with strong female characters that learn to bond together. There are hints at abuse, bullying at school, issues of blended families. There are a lot of good topics covered in this book.

Tasha is headed for a breakdown. Her mother's new boyfriend is a writer who is spurring his daughter on to follow the family vocation. He is overbearing, obnoxious and pigheaded. His daughter starts attending Tasha's school and things get even worse. Then for the holidays they have to take a trip together to America; Tasha is about to lose it.

I loved Mike's first graphic novel in this series, and it provoked my tracking down the others. I was a little disappointed in this one, compared to the series as a whole, and especially compared to Re-Gifters. There are some good themes and topics but as a whole it just did not resonate with me the way some of the others have.

MINX Graphic Novels:

The P.L.A.I.N. Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg (May 2 2007)
Re-Gifters by Mike Carey, Marc Hempel, and Sonny Liew (Jun 6 2007)
Clubbing by Andi Watson and Josh Howard (July 11 2007)
Good as Lily by Derek Kirk Kim and Jesse Hamm (Aug 1 2007)
Confessions of a Blabbermouth by Mike Carey, Louise Carey, and Aaron Alexovich(Sep 12 2007)
Kimmie66 by Aaron Alexovich (Nov 7 2007)
Burnout by Rebecca Donner (Jun 24 2008)
Water Baby by Ross Campbell(July 8 2008)
The New York Four by Ryan Kelly (July 22 2008)
Janes in Love by Cecil Castellucci (Sep 23 2008)
Emiko Superstar by Mariko Tamaki (Oct 14 2008)
Token by Alisa Sheckley (Nov 4 2008)

All Nighter by David Hahn (Unreleased)
Janes Go Summer by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg ( (Unreleased)

Saturday, 18 September 2010

The King's Taster - Kenneth Oppel, Lou Fancher and Steve Johnson

The King's Taster
Kenneth Oppel (blog) (Author)
Lou Fancher (Illustrator)
Steve Johnson (Illustrator)

Harper Trophy Canada

Browse Inside

ISBN 9780002007009

This is a wonderfully fun picture book. It is the story of a dog who eats like a king. For he is the cook's dog but the cook, cooks for the king. Then one day there is a new king, and he does not seem to like anything the chef makes. The chef travels the world to try to find new dishes for the new king but he does not seem to like anything. But then the dog discovers a secret and shows the chef, and things are about to change for the better. The story is fun, and young readers will ask for it again and again. The illustrations are wonderfully done, with great details and a fanciful style.

Books by Kenneth Oppel:

Half Brother (2010)
The Devil's Cure (2000)
Dead Water Zone (1992)
The Live-Forever Machine (1990)

Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein
This Dark Endeavour (2011)
Such Wicked Intent (2012)

The Silverwing Saga
Silverwing (1997)
Sunwing (1999)
Firewing (2002)
Darkwing (2007)

Airborn Series
Airborn (2004)
Skybreaker (2005)
Starclimber (2008)

Children's Fiction:

The King's Taster (2009)
Peg and the Yeti (2004)
Peg and the Whale (2000)
Emma's Emu (1995)
Galactic Snapshots (1993)
Cosmic Snapshots (1993)
Follow That Star (1992)
Cosimo Cat (1990)
Colin's Fantastic Video Adventure (1985)

Barnes and the Brains
A Bad Case of Ghosts (1993)
A Strange Case of Magic (1994)
A Crazy Case of Robots (1994)
An Incredible Case of Dinosaurs (1994)
A Weird Case of Super-Goo (1997)
A Creepy Case of Vampires (2002)

Friday, 17 September 2010

Mockingjay - Hunger Games Book 3 - Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay
Hunger Games
Book 3

Suzanne Collins
Scholastic
ISBN 9780439023511

Some books are so anticipated and so hyped they cannot help but disappoint. This book felt a little that way for me. I know the Hunger Games is dystopian fiction, and the story was resolved but to me it felt flat. I knew that not everyone would survive, and I must admit I was a little surprised by some who died and some who lived. But overall it left me wanting either something more, or something else. The best way to put it is the book left me vaguely unfulfilled. I could put my finger on it directly, until about three quarters of the way through it was living up to expectations. And it is one of the best books I have read this year. But there is this little nagging when I think about the book and the trilogy. I am sure my opinion on this matter will be in the minority but so be it.

As we know from the end of the last book, District 13 was not annihilated as the Capital of Penam would have us believe. A team from district 13 has rescued Katniss from her second trip to the arena of the Hunger Games. But how much can a human body and mind take? Katniss is struggling to keep herself together; she also has plans and motives all her own, no matter how other people want to use her. The resistance's goal is to use her as the Mockingjay, a tool to unite the rebels in the different districts, and a herald that can unite the people in a single cause against the capital and its peacekeepers.

The story is written at a good pace. The reader will find that they cannot put the book down. They will addictively read and read, even when they should go to bed, or back to work. You will want to find out what is going to happen next, and what is going to happen to Katniss, Gale, Peeta and the others we have come to care about in the first two books. You cannot help but appreciate the characters and watch as they grow and change through the books. Even though the end of the book left me feeling a little off, this is a great book in a great series. If you have not read the trilogy, do!

Books by Suzanne Collins:
The Hunger Games trilogy:
The Hunger Games (2008)
Catching Fire (2009)
Mockingjay (2010)

The Underland Chronicles:
Gregor the Overlander (2003)
Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane (2004)
Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods (2005)
Gregor and the Marks of Secret (2006)
Gregor and the Code of Claw (2007)

Other books:
Fire Proof: Shelby Woo #11 (1999)
When Charlie McButton Lost Power (2005)

Suzanne Collins Visual Bibliography

Thursday, 16 September 2010

Eat Stop Eat - Brad Pilon

Eat Stop Eat:
The Radical New Approach to Nutrition

That Can Burn Fat, Improve Your Health

and might Just Save Your Life

Brad Pilon
Strength Works Inc.


A few years back, I read a book called God's Chosen Fast by Arthur Wallis, a medical doctor who had become convinced of the medical advantages of fasting. In this book, based upon personal experience and extensive research, Brad Pilon has become convinced that intermittent fasting is an excellent tool for optimal health, wellbeing and weight control. In this short book he does an amazing job of drawing together different resources. Drawing from cutting edge research and a wide range of medical and scientific resources he presents a very convincing argument. In this short book, under 100 pages, he covers the following topics:

Table of Content:
Preface
How it All Started
Introduction
The Fasted State
The Disappearance of the Fasted State
Forget Everything You Have Ever Read About Fasting
Fasting and Your Metabolism
Fasting and Exercise
Fasting and Your Muscle Mass
Fasting and Hunger 39
The Health Benefits of Fasting
Decreased Insulin Levels & Increased Insulin Sensitivity
Increased Lipolysis and Fat Burning
Increased Glucagon Levels
Increased Epinephrine and Norepinephrine levels
Increased Growth Hormone Levels
Increased Weight Loss and Increased Fat Loss
Health Benefits - The Conclusion
The Eat Stop Eat Way of Life
What to do While Fasting
Eat Stop Eat Conclusions
Eat Stop Eat Frequently Asked Questions
References

This was a wonderful little book; it was a reminder for me but for many it will be new material well worth reading and considering. As the subtitle states, the information just might save your life.

www.EatStopEat.com
www.BradPilon.com
www.TruthAboutProtein.com

Other Fitness Articles:
Fall 2011 Programs
Workout program March 2012
My Gear February 2012
Fitness My Retrospective

TRX Articles:
TRX an Introduction
TRX Force

TRX Force Tactical
TRX Essential Flexibility

My P90X Series:
Phase I, Phase II, Gear, Phase III, Fitness Options, P90X at 120 Days Out

Health & Fitness Book Reviews:
The Primal Blueprint 21 Day Total Body Transformation - Mark Sisson
The Ten Commandments Of Lifting Weights - Jared Zimmerer

Toadally Primal Smoothies - Todd Dosenberry
Caveman Resurection - Jeff Pickett
40 Days to Optimal Health - Dr. Scott Morris
Eat Stop Eat - Brad Pilon
The Primal Blueprint - Mark Sisson
The New Rules of Lifting - Lou Schuler and Alwyn Cosgrove
Bench Press by: Sven Lindqvist
Sly Moves by: Sylvester Stallone
Fit for Eternal Life: A Christian Approach to Working Out, Eating Right, and Building the Virtues of Fitness in Your Soul by: Dr. Kevin Vost
Body for Life 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strenght by: Bill Phillips
Lose Fat Not Faith by Jeremy R. Likeness
Living The Good Life: Your Guide to Health and Success by: David Patchell-Evans
Dump your Trainer by: Ashley Marriott and Marc L. Paulsen

Wednesday, 15 September 2010

kimmie66 - Aaron Alexovich

kimmie66
Aaron Alexovich
Minx an abandoned division of
DC Comics
ISBN 9781401203733

The ghost in the machine is a common theme in science fiction and fantasy and has been for many years. But what if a story were set in the future when most people spent more time plugged into the net then they do in real life interacting with other people? Telly Kade is a typical 23rd century teen, living most of her life in the lairs in a virtual world. But then her best friend goes missing supposedly to commit suicide. Telly cannot handle that and goes in search of Kimmie66, even if it means breaking the rules of VR and laws, to find out who she really was and what happened to her. Her search for the truth will lead her into a deeper understanding of the VR world and of the real world.

The short-lived MINX graphic novel line was supposed to feature stories about strong women and girls and be quality graphic novels for young women. This was a great story well written and with interesting plot twists and surprises. I plan on keeping the whole series set aside for my daughters for when they are older, but I will probably pull this one and a few of the others out again and again from time to time to reread.

MINX Graphic Novels:

The P.L.A.I.N. Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg (May 2 2007)
Re-Gifters by Mike Carey, Marc Hempel, and Sonny Liew (Jun 6 2007)
Clubbing by Andi Watson and Josh Howard (July 11 2007)
Good as Lily by Derek Kirk Kim and Jesse Hamm (Aug 1 2007)
Confessions of a Blabbermouth by Mike Carey, Louise Carey, and Aaron Alexovich(Sep 12 2007)
Kimmie66 by Aaron Alexovich (Nov 7 2007)
Burnout by Rebecca Donner (Jun 24 2008)
Water Baby by Ross Campbell(July 8 2008)
The New York Four by Ryan Kelly (July 22 2008)
Janes in Love by Cecil Castellucci (Sep 23 2008)
Emiko Superstar by Mariko Tamaki (Oct 14 2008)
Token by Alisa Sheckley (Nov 4 2008)

All Nighter by David Hahn (Unreleased)
Janes Go Summer by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg (Unreleased)

Tuesday, 14 September 2010

Purrsnikitty - Kathy Brodsky and Cameron Bennett

Purrsnikitty
Kathy Brodsky (Author)

Cameron Bennett (Illustrator)

Helpingwords

ISBN 9780578050591


This books states that it is intended for cat lovers both old and young. I am not really a cat lover but my daughter, wife, mother-in-law and sister in law all are. This book captures the essence and spirit of a cat and the cat's relationship to the family and the environment it loves in. My daughter loved the book and wanted it read again and again. It is well written and wonderfully illustrated. It has a good discussion guide for helping young children articulate about owning pets and even about their own family dynamics. This is a book we will enjoy over and over again.

Monday, 13 September 2010

Nighttime Too Afraid To Scream - Todd Strasser and Doug Cushman

Nighttime
Too Afraid To Scream
Todd Strasser (Author)
Doug Cushman (Illustrator)
Mike Laughead (Cover)
Scholastic
ISBN 9780545124751

This is the third and final book in this series. This book has seven short stories meant to teach a lesson. They are a little dark but not so scary that most young readers would not enjoy them. They are sort of a book version of ghost stories kids would tell at a sleep over to try to scare each other. Each of the three books in the series is enjoyable and well written but this one is my favorite in the series. In this volume we encounter a phantom text messenger, a black cat that brings good luck not bad luck, and being haunted by the face of whom you lied to last. We also encounter a skeleton that gets up and wanders away and mysterious hitchhikers who perished years ago. Also, it has a story where snobs learn that sometimes they get what they deserve not what they want. And finally there is a story about a family that ends up getting some help from a friendly phantom. Each of the stories is fun and frightening at the same time, in such a way that children will love them.

Books in the Nighttime Series:
Too Scared To Sleep
Too Afraid To Scream
Too Dark To See

Sunday, 12 September 2010

Arthur Slade - The Cover Art

Arthur Slade is one of my favourite contemporary authors. I have set the goal of reading all of his books this year because there were a few of the older and out of print ones I had not read yet. This post is a small homage to his work, and I will keep it up to date as new books come out, a visual bibliography.

The Books:












Island of Doom

Hunchback Assignments Book 4
Harper Collins
ISBN ???
2012




















































Jolted
Harper Collins
Browse Inside
ISBN 9780006395690
2008

Invasion of the IQ Snatchers
Canadian Chills #3
Coteau Books
ISBN 9781550503616
2007













Harper Collins
Browse Inside
ISBN 9780006395706
2006

Ghost Hotel
Canadian Chills #2
Coteau Books
ISBN 1550503065
2004

Return of the Grudstone Ghosts
Canadian Chills #1
Coteau Books
ISBN 1550502123
2002

Tribes
Harper Trophy Canada
ISBN 9780006391708
2002


Harper Canada
Browse Inside
ISBN 9780006485940
2001
eBook
ISBN 9780986855511

2011
















The Loki Wolf
Northern Frights #3
Orca Books Publishers
ISBN 1551431459
2000














The Haunting of Drang Island
Northern Frights #2
Orca Books Publishers
ISBN 1551431114
1998
eBook
ISBN 9780986855528
2011














Northern Frights #1
Orca Books Publishers
ISBN 1551430940
1997
eBook
ISBN 9780986855504

2011












Hallowed Knights

(3 Volume Comic)
Shea Publishing
1997

Books Arthur Slade Contributed To:

All Sleek and Skimming: Stories
Ed. Lisa Heggum
Orca Books Publishers
ISBN 9781551434476
2010


Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea.