Tuesday, 31 August 2010

Burnout - Rebecca Donner , Inaki Miranda and Eva de la Cruz

Burnout
Rebecca Donner (Author)

Inaki Miranda (Illustrator)
Eva de la Cruz (Inker)

Minx a abandoned division of

DC Comics

ISBN 9781401215378


This book is a story about abusive relationship, love, environmentalism and learning who you are and who you are willing to be. It is a coming of age story written as a graphic novel set in the Pacific Northwest. Danni and her mother moved to a small logging town after her father disappeared. They are getting by but her mother wants more. Soon they move in with her mother's boyfriend, who turns out to be an alcoholic. Her soon-to-be step brother is an angry young man named Haskell, who she has been crushing on in school. Danni is confused and feels alone. But she soon discovers that Haskell has a secret - he is an eco-terrorist and Danni soon finds herself helping him, but she must learn how far she is willing to go.

The story delves into dealing with the issues of growing up, mixed families and learning who you want to be. The MINX graphic novels all have female-centric leads. The stories deal with young women learning to believe in themselves and to stand up for themselves. They are great stories and this is an awesome one.

MINX Graphic Novels:

The P.L.A.I.N. Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg (May 2 2007)
Re-Gifters by Mike Carey, Marc Hempel, and Sonny Liew (Jun 6 2007)
Clubbing by Andi Watson and Josh Howard (July 11 2007)
Good as Lily by Derek Kirk Kim and Jesse Hamm (Aug 1 2007)
Confessions of a Blabbermouth by Mike Carey, Louise Carey, and Aaron Alexovich(Sep 12 2007)
Kimmie66 by Aaron Alexovich (Nov 7 2007)
Burnout by Rebecca Donner (Jun 24 2008)
Water Baby by Ross Campbell(July 8 2008)
The New York Four by Ryan Kelly (July 22 2008)
Janes in Love by Cecil Castellucci (Sep 23 2008)
Emiko Superstar by Mariko Tamaki (Oct 14 2008)
Token by Alisa Sheckley (Nov 4 2008)

All Nighter by David Hahn (Unreleased)
Janes Go Summer by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg ( (Unreleased)

Sunday, 29 August 2010

Miss Fortune - Poison Apple Book 3 - Brandi Dougherty

Miss Fortune
Brandi Dougherty
Poison Apple Book 3
An Imprint of Scholastic

ISBN 9780545202664

This third book in the new series, Poison Apple Books from Scholastic, is darker and a little more sinister than the first two offerings. These books are geared for readers who enjoyed the softer and gentler Candy Apple Books but are looking to read something with a little more edge. They are not as dark as what their older siblings or parents might be reading. Brandi Dougherty winds a wonderful tale of friendship and mayhem as Young Zoe is cursed by a fortune teller at a carnival and her whole life starts turning upside-down.

Zoe goes to the fair with her friends as a group one evening. Everything seems to be going perfectly; the boy she likes has asked for her number and won her a giant bear. But while leaving the fair they notice a fortune teller and Mia and Zoe have their fortunes told. Mia's is nice and encouraging but Zoe's is dark and scary. But that just seems to be the beginning of her problems. Soon she is accident prone, her cell phone and computer both seem possessed and things keep getting worse. She soon realizes she is under a curse, and she and Mia must find a way to break the curse.

This story is very engaging - almost addictive. The reader finds himself wondering what can go wrong next, and can Zoe and Mia find a way not only to lift the curse but to make things right for those affected by the blowback from the curse. It is well written, and the characters so well written, we can only hope to encounter Mia and Zoe again in a future book in the series.

Poison Apple Books:
The Dead End - Mimi McCoy
This Totally Bites! - Ruth Ames
Miss Fortune - Brandi Dougherty
Now You See Me
- Jane B. Mason & Sarah Hines Stephens
Midnight Howl - Clare Hutton
Her Evil Twin - Mimi McCoy
Curiosity Killed the Cat - Sierra Harimann
At First Bite - Ruth Ames

Rotten Apple Books:
Mean Ghouls - Staci Deutsch
Zombie Dog - Clare Hutton


Friday, 27 August 2010

Token - Alisa Kwitney and Joelle Jones

Token
Alisa Kwitney (Author)
Joelle Jones (Illustrator)
Minx a abandoned division of
DC Comics
ISBN 9781401215385

This is the story of Shira Spektor; it is 1987 and all she wants is for things to be the way they were. But her father is dating his secretary; her best friends are her Grandmother and her friend. And then she meets a strange guy. She could use some advice but her mother passed away when she was three. Between the conflict with her dad at home and the other girls at the Jewish school, Shira needs an outlet and she finds shoplifting. Yet she realizes that her life is spiraling out of control but does not know if she wants to put the brakes on.

Wonderfully written and illustrated, this is another example of a great graphic novel geared for girls. The MINX line was announced with much fanfare but DC Comics canned the line in less than two years and now has even removed the webpage supporting these great books.

MINX Graphic Novels:

The P.L.A.I.N. Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg (May 2 2007)
Re-Gifters by Mike Carey, Marc Hempel, and Sonny Liew (Jun 6 2007)
Clubbing by Andi Watson and Josh Howard (July 11 2007)
Good as Lily by Derek Kirk Kim and Jesse Hamm (Aug 1 2007)
Confessions of a Blabbermouth by Mike Carey, Louise Carey, and Aaron Alexovich(Sep 12 2007)
Kimmie66 by Aaron Alexovich (Nov 7 2007)
Burnout by Rebecca Donner (Jun 24 2008)
Water Baby by Ross Campbell(July 8 2008)
The New York Four by Ryan Kelly (July 22 2008)
Janes in Love by Cecil Castellucci (Sep 23 2008)
Emiko Superstar by Mariko Tamaki (Oct 14 2008)
Token by Alisa Sheckley (Nov 4 2008)

All Nighter by David Hahn (Unreleased)
Janes Go Summer by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg ( (Unreleased)

Thursday, 26 August 2010

Emily the Strange: The Lost Days - Rob Reger, Jessica Gruner and Buzz Parker

Emily the Strange: The Lost Days
Rob Reger & Jessica Gruner (Authors)
Rob Reger & Buzz Parker (Illustrators)
Harper an imprint of
Harper Collins
ISBN 9780061452291

To be honest, I knew nothing about this book when I picked it up. I had seen the cover a few times and found I instantly liked it. It was a little Wednesday Addams, a little dark and a little cute. It ended up being a lot of fun. Emily likes to make lists, usually of 13 items. On the dust jacket it states:


"13 Elements you will find in the first Emily the Strange novel:
1. Mystery
2. A beautiful golem
3. Souped-up slingshots
4. Four black cats
5. Amnesia
6. Calamity Poker
7. Angry ponies
8. A shady truant office

9. Top-13 lists
10. A sandstory generator
11. Dopplegangers
12. A secret mission
13. Earwigs

And that is just the beginning of the fun. Usually I write my review of a book within a few days of finishing it. This book was so unique, so weird, so wonderful, that it sat on my desk for a few weeks waiting to be reviewed. This book is amazing but it is hard to put that into words. It is sort of a scrapbook told from Emily's perspective, with pictures, drawings and more. It is an adventure, but also the story of discovery and self understanding. Emily is brilliant and creative and amusing and funny, and so is this book. This book leaves me nearly speechless, so go buy it and read it; see for yourself.





Wednesday, 25 August 2010

Chest Back & Balls - Tony Horton One on One Volume 3 Disk 1

Tony Horton
One on One
P90X - MC2
Volume 3 Disk 1
Chest Back & Balls
Beachbody

For the first time I am truly disappointed in a product from Beachbody and Tony Horton. A few of the other workouts in the series I have not been fond of, but some of that was personal preference. But now in Volume 3 of One on One with Tony Horton, they have rebranded it P90X One on One, and Tony is the first tester for new routines for the next evolution of P90X. I have to be honest - I am a little tired of hearing Tony say: "I have never done this routine", or worse "I have never tried this exercise before". He is supposed to be the fitness expert, been doing this for years, and these workouts are supposed to give us some more variety. If Tony can barely make it through the routine and even hits failure at less than a quarter of the reps he wants on his last exercise, how are we mere mortals supposed to make it through? Also in the original P90X you could do everything with just bands, or weights and a chin up bar. Now it seems almost every workout being presented requires more equipment. In this video, about a third of the exercises are directly from the last video of Volume 2. That being said, there were some good new exercises in this routine. There are 20 exercises with the goal of 20-30 reps for each.

The Exercises are:
Pull-Up X
Stability Ball Plyo Push Up
Core Crunch Chin Up
2 Ball Push Up with Side Arm Balance
Levers
4 Ball Push Ups
Chin-Pull
The Impossible Pushup
L-Pull Ups
3 Ball Plyo Push Up
Switch Grip Pull Up
Elevated Stability Ball Push Ups
In & Outs
Swimmer's Push Ups
Flip Switch Pull Ups
Double Wide Push Ups
Double Wide Pull Ups
Military Push Ups on Medicone Balls Feet on Stability Ball
2-Towel Pull Ups
One Ball Plyo Push Ups

Equipment Needed:
Stability Ball or Balance Ball
4 Medicine Balls
Pull-up Bar or Powerbands
2 Hand Towels
Yoga Matt or Exercise Mat

It is a hard workout. The final version in P90X-MC2 might be really interesting, after going through a test group and final filming, but this workout seemed a little too rough even for the One on Ones. I hope it is not a sign of things to come in all of Volume 3.

To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.
Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout

Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and Belly
Volume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance

Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: Yoga MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X

(Disclaimer: I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Monday, 23 August 2010

Goodbye Curate - Fred Secombe

Goodbye Curate
Fred Secombe

Harper Collins

ISBN 97800006276852


Also in
Chronicles of a Curate
ISBN 9780006280532


This third book in the Chronicles of the Curate series is even funnier than the first two, in part because of all Fred has been through, you
would expect better results. Yet it seems that anything that can go wrong does for Fred and his fiancée Eleanor. Life should be settling down into a pattern in the parish but with weddings, funerals and Christmas, who can imagine the events that will befall poor Fred. Laugh-out-loud funny, this book is worth picking up, either as the single volume or as the 3-in-one collection along with How Green Was My Curate and A Curate for All Seasons.

Saturday, 21 August 2010

The Greatest Goal - Mike Leonetti and Sean Thompson

The Greatest Goal
Mike Leonetti (Author)

Sean Thompson (Illustrator)

Scholastic
ISBN 9780545986847

I do not remember the '72 series first hand, but heard stories from those that do. This book captures the spirit of a nation during that incredible series. It is told through the eyes of a young hockey player who looked up to and admired Paul Henderson. It recounts the events of those amazing 8 games and especially Paul Henderson's winning goal. Wonderfully illustrated and written, this will be treasured by hockey fans both old and young.

Thursday, 19 August 2010

Upper Body Balance - Tony Horton One on One Volume 2 Disk 12

Tony Horton
One on One
Volume 2 Disk 12
Upper Body Balance

Beachbody

This One on One workout whipped my butt. Twice I failed
while trying to hold the position balancing on the balls. A quick tip: place the balance ball against a wall or furniture until you get the balance down. The goal is to try to keep up with Tony, aiming for between 20 and 30 reps for each of the 16 exercises below it is a killer 53 minutes.

The exercises are:
Stability Ball Push-Ups
Superman v-Up

The Impossible Push-Up
Row Your Boat
2-Ball Push-Up Stacked Feet

Balancing Bicycle
4-Ball Push-Up
Boat Scissors
Push-Up Side Arm Balance On Balls
Scissor Roll Ups
Plyo Push-Ups on Stability Ball
Mason Twist With Straight Legs
Traveling 3-Ball Push-Ups
Oblique Roll Crunch
Swimmers Push-ups On Balls
V-Gate
Bonus: Body-Buster On A Ball

Equipment needed:
Body Ball Or Balance Ball
3 or 4 Medicine Balls
BasketBall, Soccer Ball, Football, or Rugby Ball
Yoga Matt or Exercise Mat

Mason, who films these, tried a few of the exercises and could only get 1 and 3 reps. I had been working out with Tony for over a year when I tried this workout. I have done P90X and P90X+ and all of the One on One workouts. This was by far the hardest. It will take me a number of times through it before I hit reps on all the exercises. It engages all the core, your balance and shoulders, arms, wrists. It works the whole body and works it hard.

To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.

Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout

Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and Belly
Volume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance

Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: Yoga MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X












(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Tuesday, 17 August 2010

How To Build A Snowman - Little Scholastic - Jo Moon

How To Build A Snowman
Little Scholastic
Jo Moon

Scholastic
ISBN 9780545000666


The books in the Little Scholastic series are great for young children. Both my children love them and read them again and again. This story is wonderfully put together with lots of textures and items to touch and feel and experience. Every page has something new to touch and feel. The bonus is that it will actually teach a child the steps to building a snowman.

Sunday, 15 August 2010

Here Comes Easter! - Caroline Jayne Church

Here Comes Easter!
Caroline Jayne Church
Scholastic
ISBN 9780545118163

The books in this series by Caroline Jayne Church are wonderful. The first one we read was Here Comes Halloween! and now we have this one. These books are wonderfully illustrated and have great stories. It is the story of a young girl's Easter - finding hidden eggs, following a jelly bean trail and finding a big surprise. There are textures to touch and items embedded in the pages for younger children to explore and the story will keep older children entertained.

Books by Caroline Jane Church:
Leaf Trouble
Here Comes Halloween!
Here Comes Easter!
Here Comes Christmas!

The More We Get Together
You Are My Sunshine
Goodnight I Love You

Books Illustrated by Carolyne Jayne Church:
I Love You Through And Through
How Do I Love You
A Kiss For You


Saturday, 14 August 2010

Invasion of the IQ Snatchers - Arthur Slade - Canadian Chills #3

Invasion of the IQ Snatchers
Canadian Chills #3

Arthur Slade

Coteau Books

ISBN 9781550503616

Arthur Slade is one of my favorite contemporary Canadian authors. His biography states that he is a best-known and respected children's author. His books may have been written and published for a younger audience but they are written so well they can be enjoyed by readers of any age. This third book in the Canadian Chills series is a shining example of such a book.

Nanaimo is under attack, and it is up to Gordon Whillickers and Sophia Morrison and Gordon's extremely intelligent parrot Archie, to do something about it. It all begins when Gordon has a plate of Nanaimo bars stolen from his desk by a very hairy assailant. Soon Gordon and Sophie realize the whole town is being turned into mindless zombies watching TV from the 70s and eating tasty bars.

With a mix of robot ants, robot bees, aliens and even a Big Foot this story has something for everyone. Slade does an amazing job of writing a funny, frightening and fantastic book. Kids will love it and parents will enjoy reading along (or maybe even just reading it themselves). This is a third book in a series and it left me desperately wishing I had all three to read.


Books by Arthur Slade:
John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)


Books as Stephen Shea: 
The Not So Simple Life
Damage
Viper - Short Story


Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea.

Friday, 13 August 2010

Clockwork Angel - Cassandra Clare - Infernal Devices Book 1

Clockwork Angel
The Infernal Devices Book 1

Cassandra Clare
McElderry Books an imprint of

Simon and Schuster
ISBN 9781416975861

This is the first novel in a new series by award winning author Cassandra Clare. This series is written as a prequel to the Mortal Instruments series. Her first book, City of Bones was nominated, short listed or won 17 awards. It is also the first of her novels I have read. She is often asked if people should read the Mortal Instruments or the Infernal Devices books first. She states, and I believe, it does not matter.

This story is set in London in 1878; it revolves around three main characters, and their involvement with our world and a supernatural world. Our main character is Tessa Gray, a young woman who has just journeyed to London to connect with her brother, originally from New York. She arrives to be absconded by the Dark Sisters, who are training her in a talent she never knew she had. The other two main characters are Jem (James) Corstairs and Will (William) Herondale, both of whom belong to a group known as Shadowhunters. They help defend humans from those who are downworlders and demons. Downworlders are all of those creatures on earth who are not human - vampires, werewolves, warlocks, fairies and more. Set as part of a historic conflict between good and evil, the Shadowhunters have stood between mankind and slavery or destruction for generations.

The story is incredibly well written. The reader becomes transported back in time and into the city of London. As the story progresses, you find yourself thinking about it again and again. The characters and the story will just not leave your thoughts. At one point early in the story Tessa declares: "One must always be careful of books, and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us." That really is true of all good books. The reader comes away changed - changed either in their outlook on the world, their philosophy, or even in their intentions towards their fellow humans. This book does that. The reader will see the battle between light and darkness differently. They will look at the world around them differently and wonder if what they are seeing is really real, or just seems to be real.

Prior to reading this book I had only read two short stories by Cassandra Clare. I enjoyed both but this novel shows the skill and power over words that Cassandra Clare has. It was an incredible novel and I now plan on reading all of her other books.


Books by Cassandra Clare:

Mortal Instruments:
City of Bones - Book 1
City of Ashes - Book 2
City of Glass - Book 3
City of Fallen Angels - Book 4
City of Lost Souls - Book 5 (May 2012)
City of Heavenly Fire - Book 6 (September 2013)

Infernal Devices:
Clockwork Angel - Book 1
Clockwork Prince - Book 2
Clockwork Princess - Book 3


Bane Chronicles:
1. What Really Happened in Peru
2. The Runaway Queen
3. Vampires, Scones, and Edmund Herondale
4. The Midnight Heir
5. The Rise of The Hotel Dumort
6. Saving Raphael Santiago
7. The Fall of The Hotel Dumort
8. The Course of True Love (and First Dates)
9. What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (And Who You're Not Officially Dating Anyway)
10. The Last Stand of the New York Institute


The Dark Artifices Trilogy
Lady Midnight
Prince of Shadows
The Queen of Air and Darkness

Magisterium Series: (with Holly Black)
The Iron Trial 


Contributor:
Geektastic
Vacations From Hell
Eternal Kiss
Zombies versus Unicorns

Thursday, 12 August 2010

Wolverine - Old Man Logan - Mark Millar and Steve McNiven

Wolverine - Old Man Logan
Mark Millar (Author)

Steve McNiven (Illustrator)

Marvel Comics

ISBN 9780785131595


I have a new-found enjoyment in graphic novels. I had not read comics in twenty years, and now find myself sampling different genres and styles of comics. This book is a compilation of a special series of comics. X-man comics and cartoons came out after I had stopped reading or watching them. I liked the X-Men movies and loved Wolverine. This story is set in a dystopian future, where the criminals have taken over the world. Most of the super heroes were massacred in a single night. Wolverine survived but was so traumatized by the events that he vowed never to unleash his claws again. The states have been split up into four separate kingdoms run like fiefdoms of old. Wolverine now just goes by the name Logan and is a simple farmer, with a wife and children. But the Hulk clan is threatening their lives because they cannot pay rent. Logan goes on a road trip across the continent for the pay because he needs the rent money, but still swears he will not fight.

What I loved about this book was the change in Logan/Wolverine; he is man tormented by his past, by his mistakes, and he is trying to change his life. It is the story of facing your own personal demons and deciding either to give up, or move on. It is a redemptive story. It is very well written and illustrated. It is a powerful story. I enjoyed it immensely.

Wednesday, 11 August 2010

Nana's Getting Married - Heather Hartt-Sussman and Georgina Graham

Nana's Getting Married
Heather Hartt-Sussman (Author)
Georgina Graham (Illustrator)
Tundra Books
ISBN 9780887769115


This book was wonderfully done. It is the story of a young boy who likes things they way they are. Nana lives with them and he has her all to himself. She makes him cookies and lets him eat the dough; she knits him socks, and mittens and sweaters and spends a lot of time with him. Then Nana meets Bob, and they start dating. And her grandson DOES NOT APPROVE. He does everything he can to interfere with the relationship. Then Nana sits him down and explains that she loves Bob and Bob loves her and together they are happy. So Nana is getting married and he realizes he will have to share her forever. This is a great story with wonderful illustrations. It is a first book by Heather Hartt-Sussman, and she has done a great job on it.

Monday, 9 August 2010

Grumpy Bird - Board Book - Jeremy Tankard

Grumpy Bird - Board Book
Jeremy Tankard
Scholastic
ISBN 9780545990219


This is the second edition of this book. The first, a large picture book, has been out for a while now. I did a side by side comparison and to be honest really like both editions. In this board book edition the pictures are resized and there are a few things you can see in the glossy board pages that you cannot in the picture book. This is a great story, and is a good story as a cure for your own bad mood. This edition is great for younger children and the picture book for older children. My daughter and son are each carring around one of the editions and ask me to read them back to back. They love that they each have a different version of the same book.

Sunday, 8 August 2010

Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010

Some of my reading goals for 2010!

1. Finish all books in progress, down to 4 from over 30 at peak. Only abandoned 3.
2. Read all books by Cecil Castellucci aka Cecil Seaskull - have and have reviewed.
3. Read all books by Arthur Slade about half way there with reviews.
4. Read and review all books by Kenneth Oppel - about half way there with reviews.
5. Read all book by Barry Lyga about a third done with and reviews.
6. Read all books by Alexander Gordon Smith over half done with reviews.
7. New goal try and hit 300 books read this year, currently at 197.
8. Create a top ten list each quarter for fiction, and at end of year for fiction, non-fiction and picture books. (1st Quarter, 2nd Quarter)
9. Read something completely outside my comfort zone or normal reading habits:
Sea Change - Aimee FriedmanMercury - Hope Larson
Graphic Novels
10. Review over 200 books on the blog.

(Being dyslexic does not affect my ability to count even though Hank Zipzer uses it as an excuse on his list in each book.)

11. Double the number of books I have read on the Scholastic Summer Reading Challenge list.
12. Read 100 YA novels this year, for the Young Adult Reading Challenge.
13. To be determined at a later date.

It is amazing when you can accomplish once you finish university. After 21 years as an undergrad, I have read more books in the first 6 months of this year than most years totals.


Statistics Books Read By Year:
178 January-July 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap
 

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Those are some of my reading goals and where I am at so far.

Peace and Strength!
Yours, learning to be
Steven R. McEvoy

http://mcevoysmusings.ca My Homepage
http://bookreviewsandmore.ca My Blog
http://www.linkedin.com/in/srmcevoy LinkedIN
http://twitter.com/SRMcEvoy Twitter

CompTIA IT PRO, A+ ITT, A+ DT, A+ RST, Network+, Security+
Microsoft MCSE, MCSA, MCP, MCTS, MCITP, MOS

"The only reason for being a professional writer is that you can't help it."
- Leo Rosten

Saturday, 7 August 2010

Fancy Nancy: Ooh La La! It's Beauty Day - Julie O'Connor & Robin Priess Glasser

Fancy Nancy: Ooh La La! It's Beauty Day
Jane O'Connor (Author)
Robin Priess Glasser (Illustrator)
Harper Collins

Browse Inside
ISBN 9780061915253


The Fancy Nancy Series is very well written and also extraordinarily well illustrated. In this latest installment, Fancy Nancy decides to treat her mother to a day at the spa, because her mother's birthday is the next day, and Nancy wants to give her a makeover for her big date out with daddy. The book has wonderful recipes for both snacks to serve on a spa day, and for items used for the spa treatments. There are also step by step instructions to perform some of the spa treatments that a child and parent could do together. As always this book will help expand your child's vocabulary in a fun and playful way. It will be fun both to read and try out.

Fancy Nancy Picture Books:
Fancy Nancy (2005)
Fancy Nancy and the Posh Puppy (2007)

Fancy Nancy Loves! Loves!! Loves!!! (2007)
Fancy Nancy: Bonjour, Butterfly (2008)
Fancy Nancy: Let's Get Fancy Together! (2008)
Fancy Nancy's Fashion Parade! (2008)
Fancy Nancy's Favorite Fancy Words: From Accessories to Zany (2008)
Fancy Nancy: Explorer Extraordinaire! (2009)
Fancy Nancy: Tea Parties (2009)
Fancy Nancy: Halloween...or Bust! (2009)
Fancy Nancy: Splendiferous Christmas (2009)
Fancy Nancy: Heart to Heart (2010)
Fancy Nancy's Elegant Easter (2010)
Fancy Nancy: Poet Extraordinaire! (2010)
Fancy Nancy and the Sensational Babysitter (2010)
Fancy Nancy and the Late, Late, LATE Night (2010)
Fancy Nancy Ohh la La! It's Beauty Day (2010)
Fancy Nancy and the Fabulous Fashion Boutique (2010)

Fancy Nancy I Can Read Books Level 1:
Fancy Nancy and the Boy from Paris (2008)
Fancy Nancy Sees Stars (2008)
Fancy Nancy at the Museum (2008)
Fancy Nancy: Poison Ivy Expert (2009)
Fancy Nancy: Pajama Day (2009)
Fancy Nancy: The Show Must Go On (2009)
Fancy Nancy: The Dazzling Book Report (2009)
Fancy Nancy: The 100th Day of School (2009)
Fancy Nancy: Every Day is Earth Day (2010)