Saturday, 31 July 2010

The Golden City - John Twelve Hawks - Book 3 The Fourth Realm Trilogy

The Golden City
Book 3 The Fourth Realm Trilogy

John Twelve Hawks

Doubleday an imprint of

Random House

ISBN 9780385514309


Though this book was much anticipated it took me 8 months to read it. Now to be honest I read it in three sittings. The reason it took so long is that when the first book, The Traveler came out 5 years ago, it was one of the best fiction books I had read in more than ten years. Once I started the book, I realized the series would end, I have heard nothing about more books by John XII Hawks, so I did not want the story to end. Then when I sat down and started it again I raced through to the finish. I plan on reading the whole series again soon.

No one really knows who John Twelve Hawks is, his interviews use a voice modulator, he supposedly has never met with his publisher, and only communicates electronically or through a satellite phone. That mystery was intriguing when the first book came out, and rumors have abounded about who he might be. But I do not think that really matters, he writes under a pen name and wants to keep his privacy. What matters is that he is an excellent story teller and has crafted an excellent dystopian trilogy. If you have not read the first books, I highly recommend them.

A battle rages between two brothers Michael and Gabriel Corrigan, but also between two groups, the Brethern who want to control every person on the planet and will use almost any means to achieve that control, and a resistance movement lead my Gabriel Corrigan, a traveler who can leave this plane of existence and travel to other realms, and his Harlequin guardians. The Harlequins have protected the Travelers for generations. Historically the Harlequins stayed out the of Travelers plans and only protected them from the Breathern who want to hunt them down and kill them. Now Michael Corrigan has usurped control of the Breathern and wants to control the whole world and use his power as a Traveler to plan and achieve that control. Gabriel and an interconnected groups of different people do not want to allow that to happen.

The world is being turned upside down, governments are using fear to control people and systematically strip their freedom. There is a vast machine of security camera's, email sniffing programs, facial recognition … growing in our world, and there are dark forces behind the scenes pulling all those resources together into an electronic prison for each of us.

Michael and Gabriel have both experienced the other realms but both come back with a different vision for mankind. Who will win this battle for mankinds hearts and minds.

The story has a fast pace, and a number of surprising twists in the series storyline. It also leave the ending open to a continuation and a few interpretations. One of the best things about the series is that it will cause readers to ask questions! Questions about what really matters in life, how intentional they are about how they live, about freedom and purpose in life. It is a great book and I can only hope for more from the author.

Fourth Reams Trilogy:
The Traveler
The Dark River
The Golden City

(First Published in Imprint 2010-07-30.)

Friday, 30 July 2010

The Christmas Ship - Dean Morrissey

The Christmas Ship
Dean Morrissey
Harper Collins
ISBN 9780060285753


The artwork in this book is absolutely incredible. I can only find a few books by Dean Morrissey as both writer and illustrator but many more where he illustrated them. It is a pity because both this and Ship Of Dreams are both amazing books. The artwork in this book is wonderful. It is the story of Sam Thatcher, a toy maker in a small town. But on Christmas Eve his shop is condemned. Then Father Christmas stops by and asks Sam for a favour - he needs Sam to deliver the presents in this town because of a great storm. This book is a great story with marvellous artwork.

Thursday, 29 July 2010

You Are Special - Max Lucado and Sergio Martinez

You Are Special
Max Lucado (Author)

Sergio Martinez (Illustrator)

Crossway Books
ISBN 9780891079316

This is another story about Punchinello who is a Wemmick, a wooden person in a village of wooden people. They were all made by Eli, the creator who lives in the worskshop on the hill outside of town. Each Wemmick is different and unique. But the Wemmicks went around every day and put stickers on each other; the beautiful people got golden stars and the rough and chipped people got grey dots. Those who got stars felt better and good about themselves and those who got dots felt sad. Some people had a mix, but poor Punchinello only ever got dots. He soon began to believe he was not a good person because he only ever got grey dots. Then he meets Lucia and she has no dots or stars and they do not stick to her. He asks her why she is different and she says it is because she visits Eli, so he goes to see him. Soon he realizes that he matters because he was made by a creator who loves him. Great illustrations and story for young people of all ages.

Wednesday, 28 July 2010

Glee Backgrounds

I have become addicted to Glee, I love the music, I love the covers. The show is a little cheesy but so was high school. I just created a Vista/Windows 7 Login Screen and a bunch of desktop backgrounds to feed my addiction. I have them alternating on my two monitors at home. Enjoy the Glee love.

This is part of a series of posts on my favourite desktop backgrounds from the last 3 decades. You can read see the rest here: I wrote about my current one's on Day 1-Morbid Backgrounds and some of my favourites from the past on Day 2-Favorites, Day 3-Sci-Fi, Day 4-SciFi Part2, Day 5-Babylon5, Day 6-My Dad's Artwork, Day 7-Misc, Day 8-B5 Pt. 2. and Day 9B5-Pt. 3, The IT Crowd, Backyardigans, and Glee.

Tuesday, 27 July 2010

Ship Of Dreams - Dean Morrissey

Ship Of Dreams
Dean Morrissey
Harry N. Abrams
ISBN 9780810938489

This book and The Christmas Ship by Dean Morrissey are both amazing books. The artwork in this book is all original oil paintings on canvas. The illustrations are tremendous; you can look at them again and again and find new and interesting details. This is the story of young Joey. His friend claims he saw the sandman the night before. So Joey imagines how he would get to see the Sandman. He rides his Redd Rocket , and soon he is soaring off into space; he falls from the rocket and is caught in a strange net. Not only does he meet the Sandman but he starts to learn all of the Sandman's secrets. Wonderful tale, well told.

Sunday, 25 July 2010

If Only I Had A Green Nose - Max Lucado and Sergio Martinez

If Only I Had A Green Nose
Max Lucado (Author)
Sergio Martinez (Illustrator)
Crossway Books
ISBN 9781581343977

I was given this book a few years ago, before I had children. I enjoyed the message of the book, the story and the artwork. Now that I have young children of my own I appreciate the story even more. Punchinello is a Wemmick, a wooden person in a village of wooden people. They were all made by Eli. Punchinello and his friend Lucia think all the other Wemmicks are being silly and having their noses painted green. But soon Punchinello's desire to fit in outweighs his common sense and he gets his nose painted. Soon however he has layer after layer of paint on his nose. It seems that every day a new color is in fashion, and he is tired of following the trend. But can he admit his mistake in following the crowd and go to Eli to be fixed? This is a great story about being true to yourself, to being who you were created to be and rejoicing in your amazing, beautiful, unique and special place in creation. Wonderfully written and illustrated, this is a great book for children in your life, or the child inside of you.

Saturday, 24 July 2010

salamander dream - Hope Larson

salamander dream
Hope Larson
Ad House Books
ISBN 0972179496

This story, the first solo project by Hope Larson, is the tale of a young girl's journey within a magical forest and her friendship with a salamander there, told in a series of encounters at different points in the girl's life. At each stage of her life, as she changes, so does her relationship with the Salamander. It is a wonderful coming of age story, illustrated in just black and green; the artwork is amazing and you can go pages without dialogue or text but still be told much. This minimalist approach adds much to the story. It is a coming of age story done in a wonderful and unique way.

Books by Hope Larson:
Salamander Dream (2005)
Gray Horses (2006)
Chiggers (2008)
Mercury (2010)

Geektastic (Illustrator 2009)

Friday, 23 July 2010

Storm Warning - 39 Clues Book 9 - Linda Sue Park

Storm Warning
The 39 Clues - Book 9

Linda Sue Park

Scholastic

ISBN 9780545060493


With each new book in this series I am impressed again by the skill and talent of the contributors. Ten books by seven different authors in less than 3 years with one continuous story arc. The scope of the project, its ambitious timeline and pace alone are impressive, but to maintain continuity while switching authors every volume, I really did not think they could keep up the pace. However not only have they done so, but as each author builds upon the last, it becomes a better and better story.
In this volume some of the Cahill kids' worst suspicions are confirmed. Amy and Dan must face betrayal, heartache, fear and loss. They travel to the home of Pirates, where in both Bahamas and Jamaica they must find new clues. And the competition is getting more desperate. For some reason Amy and Dan have a knack for figuring things out that no one else has. And the other families are not only frustrated but becoming more and more dangerous. This book races along, and as new things are discovered, new fears and new hopes arise for Amy and Dan, and maybe for all of mankind. Another excellent read in an amazing series. (You can listen to the first part of the audio book here.)
 
Sites With More Info:
http://various.wikibruce.com/39Clues
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_39_Clues
http://39cluesworld.com/
http://forums.unfiction.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=27257


The 39 Clues:
The Maze of Bones - Book 1 - Rick Riordan
One False Note - Book 2 - Gordon Korman
The Sword Thief - Book 3 - Peter Lerangis
Beyond the Grave - Book 4 - Jude Watson
The Black Circle - Book 5 - Patrick Carman
In Too Deep - Book 6 - Jude Watson
 
The Viper's Nest - Book 7 - Peter Lerangis
The Emperor's Code - Book 8 - Gordon Korman

Storm Warning - Book 9 - Linda Sue Park

 Into the Gauntlet - Book 10 - Margaret Peterson Haddix
The Black Book of Buried Secrets - Rick Riordan
Vespers Rising - Book 12 - Rick Riordan


Card Pack #1 - Books 1-3
Card Pack #2 - Books 4-6
Card Pack #3 - Books 7-9
Rare Card Pack


The 39 Clues Cahills vs. Vespers
The Medusa Plot - Book 1 - Gordon Korman
A King's Ransom - Book 2 - Jude Watson
The Dead of Night - Book 3 - Peter Lerangis
? - Book 4 - Roland Smith
? - Book 5 - Linda Sue Park
? - Book 6 - David Baldacci


The 39 Clues Rapid Fire:
Legacy - Book 1 - Clifford Riley
Ignition - Book 2 - Clifford Riley
Hunted - Book 3 - Clifford Riley
Crushed - Book 4 - Clifford Riley
Turbulence - Book 5 - Clifford Riley
Invasion - Book 6 - Clifford Riley
Fireworks - Book 7 - Clifford Riley



Thursday, 22 July 2010

An Incredible Case Of Dinosaurs - Barnes & the Brains Book 4 - Kenneth Oppel

An Incredible Case Of Dinosaurs
Barnes & the Brains Book 4

Kenneth Oppel (blog)

HarperTrophy Canada
Browse Inside
ISBN 9781554685318

Barnes and the Brains, Kevin and Tina Quark, are at it again. This time they have been called to investigate a sea creature in the pool at Miss Frost's. Miss Frost is very wealthy and though she has beautiful items and a beautiful house, it is neglected, and covered in dust and cobwebs. She spends all her time in her office, monitoring stocks, focusing on business deals and a whole bank of TVs and phones. She has hired the local geniuses to determine what she has been seeing each night in the pool. With the aid of the bathysphere, a submersible made by Tina Quark, they investigate the overgrown and algae- filled pool. They soon discover a crack in the bottom of the pool that leads to an underground river. But once they identify the creature as a
Hydrosaurs, Miss Frost wants it trapped. Tina thinks this is her chance for fame but Barnes thinks the dinosaurs are sad and comes up with a scheme to set them free.

This is book 4 in the re-released series by Kenneth Oppel from Harper Collins Canada. The 6 books, re-released this year, were originally published between 1994 and 2004 by Scholastic Canada. With new covers, and artwork interspersed in the books, they will be fun for both young readers and their parents.

Barnes & The Brains Books
A Bad Case of Ghosts
A Strange Case of Magic
A Crazy Case of Robots
An incredible Case of Dinosaurs
A Weird Case of Super-Goo
A Creepy Case of Vampires

Books by Kenneth Oppel:

Half Brother (2010)
The Devil's Cure (2000)
Dead Water Zone (1992)
The Live-Forever Machine (1990)

Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein
This Dark Endeavour (2011)
Such Wicked Intent (2012)

The Silverwing Saga
Silverwing (1997)
Sunwing (1999)
Firewing (2002)
Darkwing (2007)

Airborn Series
Airborn (2004)
Skybreaker (2005)
Starclimber (2008)

Children's Fiction:

The King's Taster (2009)
Peg and the Yeti (2004)
Peg and the Whale (2000)
Emma's Emu (1995)
Galactic Snapshots (1993)
Cosmic Snapshots (1993)
Follow That Star (1992)
Cosimo Cat (1990)
Colin's Fantastic Video Adventure (1985)

Wednesday, 21 July 2010

A Tale Of Two Tales - Hank Zipzer Book 15 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

A Tale Of Two Tales
Hank Zipzer Book 15
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 9780448443782


In the last year I have read or reread the 17 books in this series. These are wonderful books about a young boy learning to live with his learning difficulties. He has a form of dyslexia. They are written in part from the personal experience of Henry Winkler's own life. They are fun reads, light and easy. Each book in the series is enjoyable, and always entertaining.

In this book, Hank enters his dog Cheerio in the school mascot contest. He teams up with his best friends, Ashley and Frankie, to train the dog before the judging. As usual, Hank messes things up, but not only does he learn his lesson, he also discovers what good friends he has. This is another great book in an excellent series.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Tuesday, 20 July 2010

Copper - Kazu Kibuishi

Copper
Kazu Kibuishi
Graphix an imprint of
Scholastic
ISBN 9780545098939

This is the definitive collection of the webcomic Cooper by Kazu Kibuishi, creator of the amazing Amulet series of Graphic novels. This volume enclosed the archive of the webcomic, a few new comics, a special introduction by the artist on how the series came about, and a step by step guide to how Kazu creates a cooper comic.

Cooper is the story of a dog and his boy, just trying to make their way in the world and find their place. Cooper is curious, creative and adventurous, and Fred his dog is fearful and disillusioned. The stories grew out of some of the darkest days in Kazu's life, and yet the comics always seem to end on a note of hope and expectation.

The artwork is amazing. To me it reads like Calvin and Hobbs - a little older, more mature and more productive and helpful. The variety of layouts and designs is stunning. From single-page story lines to multipage pieces it is visually stunning, with a wide variety of pallets and feel, yet always remaining true to a form and style. This will be a book I go back to again and again, sometimes just for fun, sometimes, when life gets difficult, to remind me to hope and try again. It is inspiring, and I am terribly glad I read it.

Monday, 19 July 2010

The Dragon In The Garden - The Old Stories - N.D. Wilson and Peter Bentley

The Dragon In The GardenThe Old Stories
N.D. Wilson - blog (Author)

Peter Bentley (Illustrated)
Canon Press

ISBN 9781591280446

This series is incredibly well done. N.D. Wilson's skilled retelling of biblical tales, in a flowing and poetic style. There is a second book in the series In The Time Of Noah, was released, a third called The Sword of Abram is mentioned on the back of the books but I have been unable to track it down. The illustrations in this book are incredible. The artists representation of the fall if amazing, Peter Bentley these books are pleasant to read and read aloud. My daughter absolutely loves these books. She asks for them again and again. These books are very well done.

Books by N.D. Wilson
100 Cupboards:
 

100 Cupboards
Dandelion Fire - 100 Cupboards Book 2
The Chestnut King - 100 Cupboards Books 3


Ashton Burials:
 

The Dragon's Tooth
The Drowned Vault

 
Leepike Ridge

Parody:
 

Right Behind
Supergeddon


Picture Books:
 

The Dragon and the Garden - The Old Stories
In The Time of Noah - The Old Stories


Non-Fiction:
 

Notes From The Tilt-A-Whirl
Death By Living

Author Profile Interview with N.D. Wilson

 
 

Sunday, 18 July 2010

Grandma's Gloves - Cecil Castellucci and Julia Denos

Grandma's Gloves
Cecil Castellucci (Author)
Julia Denos (Illustrator
Candlewick Press
ISBN 9780763631680

I admit I am a big fan of Cecil Castellucci's writings. I have read all of her novels and some of her short stories this year, and there is not one that I did not enjoy. Yet in this new picture book, there is a power to touch the reader's heart in a very deep and profound way. The first time I read this book it moved me to tears. It stirred memories of my own grandmothers who have been gone for many years. In this story a young girl loves spending time with her grandmother, and usually ends up in her garden, "talking to roses, scolding the succulents and laughing with the birds-of-paradise." But then grandma gets sick, and is in a home. Her grandmother starts thinking that the girl is one of her school friends from long ago. When grandma passes they have to clean out the house, and she wants grandma's gloves for her mother. This is a wonderful story. I have read it to my children a few times, and they talk about helping nana with her flowers. This book will be great for children of all ages, and especially those dealing with grandparents with illness or who have passed.

The artwork is incredible; it looks like a mix of water colors, pen and ink, and pencil. The tenderness between child and adult displayed with both words and pictures is enthralling. This will be a book we will treasure together for years to come and so will you.

Books by Cecil Castellucci:
Boy Proof (2005)
The Queen of Cool (2006)
Beige (2007)
The P.L.A.I.N. Janes (2007)
Janes in Love (2008)
Geektastic (Editor & Contributor 2009)
Rose Sees Red (2010)
Grandma's Gloves (2010)

First Day On Earth (2011)

Music By Cecil Castellucci
Twist Her - Nerdy Girl (1996)
Whoever - Cecil Seaskull (1998)


A Visual Bibliography for Cecil Castellucci
Author profile interview with Cecil Castellucci

Saturday, 17 July 2010

Not That Kind Of Girl - Siobhan Vivan

Not That Kind Of Girl
Siobhan Vivian

PUSH an imprint of
Scholastic

ISBN 9780545169158


Some books when you read them have such an astounding impact upon the reader that you cannot stop thinking about them or talking about them. This book is one such book. I realized some things while reading this book - the curriculum I read in high school was dominated by male authors, even those I read as my picks were all male authors. I was about 25 before I read any female authors for leisure. At the time, my girlfriend and I each picked 5 books the other had to read. Since then, I have discovered a plethora of female authors that I appreciate and admire. Yet even at that, it was not until reading this book that I realized that I was learning a woman's perspective, and the impact of actions that, at the time, may seem inconsequential. This book will reveal to male readers the impact their actions can have, and for women it will show them some people they can relate to, and maybe help them understand themselves better.

The story takes place at Ross Academy, a private school. Natalie Sterling is a senior and prides herself on always making the right choices. She knows that bad choices can haunt you for years. Her best friend is an example of that. But Natalie has it all planned out - win the student Council election, be class president, write the SATs and go to a college far away. But somewhere along the way her plans start to go sideways, as with Spencer Biddle, a freshman Natalie tries to help. Natalie wants Spencer to start making better decisions, and mapping out her life. But Spencer's life is almost ruined when nude pictures of her circulate around the school.

The story follows the students at the Ross Academy through the first term of the school year. It is incredibly well-written. It will transport the reader to high school. You will encounter people like those you know or knew in school. The groups, clicks, pranks and jokes will all seem so familiar it is stunning. The characters are real and well portrayed. The impact of even the smallest actions or words can have long-lasting effects and like a rock once thrown in the pond cannot ever be taken back.

What I learned most from this book, was that if I had read books like this when I was younger, I would have had a greater sense of the impact of my actions. Therefore I would have hurt a lot fewer people in my life, especially the women I interacted with. In the book, Natalie Sterling learns to really understand who she is; she learns to be good at being. And in following her through her journey, we can learn to be better at those things also. It is a great novel and I highly recommend it.

(First published in Imprint 2010-07-16.)













Book by Siobhan Vivian:
A Little Friendly Advice
Same Difference
Not That King of Girl

For Children:
Vunce Upon A Time

Author Profile interview with Siobhvan Vivian.

Friday, 16 July 2010

Monsterology: Fabulous Lives of the Creepy, the Revolting, and the Undead - Arthur Slade and Derek Mah

Monsterology: Fabulous Lives of the Creepy, the Revolting, and the Undead
Arthur Slade (Author)

Derek Mah (Illustrator)
Thunda Books
ISBN 9780887767142


Arthur Slade is an amazing author. He is like a cross between Chuck Palahniuk, Christopher Moore, and Douglas Coupland but without the jaded cynicism, and with a great sense of humor. His books are also written for a younger audience, but can really be enjoyed by readers of any age who like a good story.

In this volume there are profiles of 15 monsters they are:
Dracula
Golem
Medusa
Loki
The Giant
Tera
Frankenstein's Monster
Sasquatch
Loch Ness Monster
Zack (Not the one from Saved by the Bell)
Baba Yaga
Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
Quasimodo
Loba
The Grim Reaper
In a very tongue-in-cheek fashion, Slade presents a short biography of each of these characters. Mixed and mingled with fact, lore, fictions and outright embellishments, the profiles will be fun for children of all ages. And of course if you read this book you will need to read the companion volume Villainology: Fabulous Lives of the Big, the Bad and the Wicked. Together they pack a better punch than Frankenstein's Monster and the Wolfman together. Derek Mah does an amazing job illustrating this book; the character portraits are some of what you would expect but with a new and unique interpretation on them, and the smaller illustrations that add to the profiles are wonderful. An excellent book and I highly recommend it.

Books by Arthur Slade:
John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)


Books as Stephen Shea: 
The Not So Simple Life
Damage
Viper - Short Story


Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea.

Thursday, 15 July 2010

Villainology: Fabulous Lives of the Big, the Bad and the Wicked - Arthur Slade and Derek Mah

Villainology: Fabulous Lives of the Big, the Bad and the Wicked.Arthur Slade (Author)
Derek Mah (Illustrator)
Thunda Books

ISBN 9780887768095

This book and its companion volume Monsterology: Fabulous Lives of the Creepy, the Revolting, and the Undead go side by side like a two pieces of toast. They are wonderful to read. After reading them through the first time, I pick them up and randomly flip through and read different profiles. Wonderfully illustrated with portraits of each villain and small embellishments through the book by Derek Mah, this book is fun and frivolous and just plain fantastic.

In this volume there are profiles of 15 villains are:
The Wicked Witch of The West
Atilla the Hun
The Wolf
Billy the Kid
The Headless Horseman
Morhan le Fay
Qin Hui
Shakespearian Cillians
The Invisible Monster
Emperor Nero
The Queen (from Little Snow White)
Scarface Capone
Scrooge
The Phantom of the Opera (Not the Webbrowser.)
Mephistopheles
Arthur Slade, in a very cheeky fashion, presents a short biography of each of these characters. He tells their story with a mix of the story they come from - myth, legends, and his own twisted take on their life and times. Each profile is an attempt to elicit a response and will probably cause many young readers to pursue some of the classics that they are drawn from. This book is very well done and was a great pleasure to read, and I am sure I will reread it again and again. Bravo.

Books by Arthur Slade:
John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)


Books as Stephen Shea: 
The Not So Simple Life
Damage
Viper - Short Story


Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea.

Wednesday, 14 July 2010

2010 Young Adult Reading Challenge


New Reading Challenge: The 2010 Young Adult Reading Challenge

1. Anyone can join. You don't need a blog to participate.

2. There are four levels:

--The Mini YA Reading Challenge – Read 12 Young Adult novels.

--Just My Size YA Reading Challenge – Read 25 Young Adult novels.

--Stepping It Up YA Reading Challenge – Read 50 Young Adult novels.

--Super Size Me YA Reading Challenge – Read 75 Young Adult novels.

3. Audio, eBooks, re-reads all count.

4. No need to list your books in advance. You may select books as you go. Even if you list them now, you can change the list if needed.

5. Challenge runs from January 1st through December 31st, 2010.

List of all Books Read
Favorite Books Year by Year
Favorite Authors Year by Year

Tuesday, 13 July 2010

Calling All Cars! - Lego City Adventures - Sonia Sander

Calling All Cars!
Lego City Adventures
Level 1 Reader
Sonia Sander
Scholastic
ISBN 9780545155236

I love the artwork in these books. It really does feel as if you are in a Lego World. In this story there is a bank robbery, and the police with the help of a few citizens, must catch the criminals. The illustrations are bright and vibrant. This is a great book in a great series.

The Leveled readers are great books for young children. There are hundreds of titles in these formats, even across different publishers. What makes this particular series, The Lego City Adventures, so good is that little boys will be attracted to them because of the format and styles of both the stories and artwork. They are bright colorful stories with fun illustrations. I can see young boys trying to make with Lego the scenes to act out from the books. As a Level 1 reader geared for Kindergarten to Grade 1, this book is intended to help with sight word recognition, sounding out simple words and sentences.

Lego City Adventure Books:
Fire Truck To The Rescue
Help Is On the Way!
Calling All Cars
All Aboard!
Ready For Take Off
Build This City
City Adventures Sticker Book

Work This Farm
Fight This Fire!
Lego City Heroes!
Trucks Around The City
Escape From Lego City
3, 2, 1 Liftoff
All Hands On Deck
Fire In The Forest!
Catch That Crook!

Lego Star Wars Books:
Save The Galaxy!
Anakin: Space Pilot 3D
Darth Maul's Mission


Sunday, 11 July 2010

In The Time Of Noah - The Old Stories - N.D. Wilson and Peter Bentley

In The Time Of Noah
The Old Stories
N.D. Wilson - blog (Author)

Peter Bentley (Illustrated)
Canon Press
ISBN 9781591280453

N.D. Wilson does an amazing job of retelling bible stories in this series and in this book particularly. They read easily and read out loud well. Combined with the illustrations by Peter Bentley, the book is pleasant to the ears and the eyes. The first night I read this series to my daughter, she asked for them over and over again. My daughter loves the books and the illustrations. The water color illustrations are wonderfully done. This book is the retelling of the story of Noah's Ark by N.D. Wilson and he does it masterfully. A second book in the series The Dragon And The Garden, was released, a third called The Sword of Abram is mentioned on the back of the books but I have been unable to track it down.


Books by N.D. Wilson
100 Cupboards:
 

100 Cupboards
Dandelion Fire - 100 Cupboards Book 2
The Chestnut King - 100 Cupboards Books 3


Ashton Burials:
 

The Dragon's Tooth
The Drowned Vault

Leepike Ridge

Parody:

Right Behind
Supergeddon


Picture Books:
 

The Dragon and the Garden - The Old Stories
In The Time of Noah - The Old Stories


Non-Fiction:
 

Notes From The Tilt-A-Whirl
Death By Living

Author Profile Interview with N.D. Wilson