Monday, 30 November 2009

Shaun T's Fit Kids Club

Shaun T's Fit Kids Club
Shawn Thompson
Beachbody

I ordered this as a possible workout video for my children. My daughter asks to work out with me often and P90X is a little much for a three year old, even if she likes plyometrics and yoga. This video is a little above her level but it is a great workout. It has two separate 25 minute cardio workouts on it:

Cool Moves
Groove It Out

Now Shaun does some stuff with the neck and head that contradict what Tony Horton teaches, but that might just be a different philosophy of fitness.

The two workouts are pretty good. I broke a sweat on each. I can see why Shaun T's stuff is so popular. It is high energy, musical, moving and grooving. This video will also be a good progression for children as they outgrow Tony and the Kids.

(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Sunday, 29 November 2009

A Monster Wrote Me A Letter - Nick Bland

A Monster Wrote Me A Letter
Nick Bland
Scholastic
ISBN 9780439935739


Nick Bland has created a wonderful book about understanding and being different in this fun book. The artwork has a look and feel reminiscent of M.C. Escher - a classic pen and ink style, predominantly black, white and grey, except for selective color to highlight or contrast. The story is just as wonderful. A young boy receives a letter from a monster, and decides to write back. The monster, upon receiving the letter, realizes that the boy got the letter not his cousin Fred, who lives under the boy's bed, so he decides to meet the boy. Both the boy and the monster try to make the other welcome. The boy spooks up the place and the monster cleans up. They have a great day together. It is a fantastic book for children of all ages.

Books by Nick Bland:
A Monster Wrote Me a Letter (2005)
Aussie Jingle Bells (2006)
I Lost My Kisses (2007)
Donald Loves Drumming (2008)
The Very Cranky Bear (2008)
When Henry Caught Imaginitis (2008)
The Wrong Book (2009)
The Very Itchy Bear (2010)
Twinkle HB (2010)
The Runaway Hug (2011)

Saturday, 28 November 2009

Tony & the Kids - Tony Horton with Judi Williams

Tony & the Kids
Tony Horton with Judi Williams

Beachbody

After doing a round of P90X, and now doing P90X+, when I saw this video I wanted to pick it up for home. My daughter calls Plyometrics Daddy's dancing, but doesn't have the coordination or focus to do it or to do the Yoga X video. I think she is still a little young for this video, but might be ready soon. I did this workout and broke a light sweat. In many ways, Tony's persona is that of a big kid, both in his other series and in this video. There are some great moves for kids that include:


The Wild Horsey Ride
The Tony Shuffle
Wacky Jacks
Ride the Wave
The Dreya Roll
And more.

Tony has kids twisting, stretching, moving and grooving. The video will help children develop coordination, flexibility, strength and establish fitness habits. There is a bonus chat about nutrition and fitness between Tony and the kids at the end of the workout.

(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Friday, 27 November 2009

Zoe's Windy Day - Barbara Reid

Zoe's Windy Day
Barbara Reid

Scholastic

ISBN 9780439989145

Zoe's Windy Day is part of a series that includes Zoe's Windy Day, Zoe's Sunny Day and Zoe's Rainy Day. Zoe is going for an outing on a windy day; she and her father go for a walk. They watch the leaves blow down the street, and they feed squirrels in the park. Her cheeks become very rosy walking against the wind on the way home. Then she and her father sit snug and cozy inside, sipping hot chocolate after a windy day of exciting activity.

Famous for her plasticine illustrations, Canadian author and illustrator Barbara Reid is world renowned. Reid has won just about every Canadian award for children's authors or illustrators. She won the Governor General's Literary Award for Children's Illustration for The Party and this book was nominated for 7 awards.

Book written and illustrated by Barbara Reid:
Zoe's Year (2012)
Picture A Tree (2011)
The Party (2010)
Perfect Snow (2009)
Sing a Song of Mother Goose (2007)
Fox Walked Alone (2009)
Read Me A Book (2004)
The Subway Mouse (2003)
Zoe's Rainy Day (1992)
Zoe's Sunny Day (1992)
Zoe's Windy Day (1992)
Zoe's Snowy Day (1992)
The Golden Goose (2000)
Fun With Modelling Clay (1998)
The Party (1997)
First Look Board Books: Acorn to Oak Tree (1999)
First Look Board Books: Seed To Flower (1999)
First Look Board Books: Caterpillar to Butterfly (1999)
First Look Board Books: Tadpole to Frog (1999)
Two By Two (1992)
Sing A Song of Mother Goose (1987)

Book illustrated by Barbara Reid:

Peg & The Yeti (2004)
Gifts (1995)
Effie (1990)
Have You Seen Birds? (1986)
The New Baby Calf (1984)
Jenny Greenteeth (1983)
Mustard (1983)


Books contributed to:
Read Me A Story (2010)
Dream; a Tale of Wonder, Wisdom & Wishes (2004)
Mother Goose: A Canadian Sampler (1994)

Author Profile and Interview with Barbara Reid

Thursday, 26 November 2009

P90X at 120 Days Out


I have been wo
rking out with Tony Horton for 120 days at the writing of this. I have done a full round of P90X, and am now doing a custom P90X+/One on One Hybrid program. I have had a lot of questions about P90X and thought one of the easiest ways to answer would be to write a concise review of each workout in the series. I can only say thank you Beachbody and Tony Horton for helping me get in the best shape I have been in for years.

How To Bring It
(13 minutes)

This short in
tro video is an overview of the series. It covers both the fitness component and the science and nutrition that went into the food plan and the supporting supplements. I watch it again every few weeks as a reminder and a little motivational pep.

Chest & Back
(54 minutes)

Push and Pull, alternating pushups and pull-ups or weighted exercises. This is a great workout. 12 exercises repeated for 24 sets. I was surprised how much I liked this workout since it only had 3 exercises that used weights, but it really pushes you to the limit.

Plyometrics
(59 minutes)

I really expected to not enjoy this workout. Yet it quickly became one of my favorites. Plyometrics is jump training - 30 moves repeated twice all in under 60 minutes. You will be dripping in sweat when you finish this workout, and aglow with the feeling of accomplishment.

Shoulders & Arms
(60 minutes)

Here are fifteen exe
rcises repeated for 30 sets in under 60 minutes. All but two have weights. I always feel great after this workout. You can feel and see results almost immediately.

Yoga X
(93 minutes)

Yoga X is designe
d to combine strength, balance, and flexibility to help you achieve balance between body and mind. This workout, in my opinion, is the hardest in the set. 45 Minutes of Salutations and poses followed by 45 minutes of holds and stretches. Man, it is a killer.

Legs & Back
(59 minutes)

This is the only weight workout done in all weeks and all phases. It has 23 exercises so be ready to squat, lunge, and do pull-ups like you never have before.

Kenpo X
(56 minutes)


You will burn major calories while throwing punches, blocking and kicking. A very intense high energy workout.

X Stretch
(58
minutes)

Is
designed to help you reach a higher level of athleticism, prevent injuries and to help avoid plateaus. Used in recovery weeks or on your rest day as an option to keep active. Not nearly as difficult as Yoga X but still a good stretch routine to help keep the kinks at bay.

Core Synergistics
(58 minutes)

I literally puked t
he firs t few times I did this workout. It is incredibly intense and because most exercises are designed to target two or three muscle groups simultaneously it will crush you (in a good way).

Chest, Shoulders, & Triceps
(56 minutes)


24 sets back to back, designed to work the whole upper body. This is my favorite of the original P90X workouts. My arms always feel massively pumped after this workout. Pushups, flys, dips and more. An awesome routine.

Back & Biceps
(52 minutes)

Another routine of 24 different exercises. A pull-up, a tricep exercise, then 2 bicep exercises. Tony Horto
n has created some awesome workouts, and this is one of the best.

Cardio X
(44 minutes)

This is a low impa
ct cardio routine that is fun and will have you burning calories. It is used in the Lean and Doubles version of P90X or as an alternate for Plyometrics if you need it when starting.

Ab Ripper X
(17 minutes
)

11 moves, over 300 reps in just under 17 minutes. Talk about killer. It took me about 6 weeks to get the number of reps and another 6 weeks to have good form. Almost everyone starting out questions this one - should they keep pace, or do the reps. It comes down to choice but each day try for better form and or more reps until you're matching Tony and the gang. (Note: this is on the Weight day DVDs also, so you don't need to switch them out.)



Interval X Plus
(40 minutes)

Propels your heart rate up and down with 3 speeds, creating more dramatic change in the shortest period of time. (40 minutes)

Kenpo Cardio Plus
(40 minutes)

This is an advanced version of Kenpo X with new moves to help you reach your ultimate fitness goals.


Upper Plus
(45 minutes)

This upper-body workout will work all your muscles from the hips on up in a completely new w
ay. This is a great workout, and doing a traditional P90X+ you do it twice a week. 20 exercises most done for 60 or 90 seconds straight.

Total Body Plus
(45 minutes)

This one did not really do much for me. 21 Exercises designed to work the whole body.

Abs/Core Plus
(20 minutes)

20 Exercises designed to take your abs to the 6 or 8 pack range. Yet you will really need to have a chin-up bar. Many of these exercises cannot be modified for use with the bands.

Tony Horton is a master motivator. His workouts keep you interested and coming back day after day. This is an excellent how-to fitness program. It is exciting and diverse enough to be challenging and to keep you motivated. For the most part the video's have 4 audio options also, normal Tony talking throughout, music off, music and cues and cues only. There is also a great video series on You Tube on the making of P90X. But what really matters is getting active, being healthy and making wise food choices. I will keep posting at the end of each phase and as I try new workout videos from Tony Horton, Beachbody and others. To the right is my current schedule I am in week 3, and you can download the workout sheets here.

P90X Articles in order Phase I, Phase II, Gear, Phase III, Fitness Options.

(Disclaimer: I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Other Fitness Articles:
Fall 2011 Programs
Workout program March 2012
My Gear February 2012
Fitness My Retrospective

TRX Articles:
TRX an Introduction
TRX Force

TRX Force Tactical
TRX Essential Flexibility

My P90X Series:
Phase I, Phase II, Gear, Phase III, Fitness Options, P90X at 120 Days Out

Health & Fitness Book Reviews:
The Primal Blueprint 21 Day Total Body Transformation - Mark Sisson
The Ten Commandments Of Lifting Weights - Jared Zimmerer

Toadally Primal Smoothies - Todd Dosenberry
Caveman Resurection - Jeff Pickett
40 Days to Optimal Health - Dr. Scott Morris
Eat Stop Eat - Brad Pilon
The Primal Blueprint - Mark Sisson
The New Rules of Lifting - Lou Schuler and Alwyn Cosgrove
Bench Press by: Sven Lindqvist
Sly Moves by: Sylvester Stallone
Fit for Eternal Life: A Christian Approach to Working Out, Eating Right, and Building the Virtues of Fitness in Your Soul by: Dr. Kevin Vost
Body for Life 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strenght by: Bill Phillips
Lose Fat Not Faith by Jeremy R. Likeness
Living The Good Life: Your Guide to Health and Success by: David Patchell-Evans
Dump your Trainer by: Ashley Marriott and Marc L. Paulsen

Wednesday, 25 November 2009

Holy Enchilada! - Hank Zipzer Book 6 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Holy Enchilada!
Hank Zipzer Book 6

Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 0448433532


What kind of trouble can Hank Zipzer get into when his school is hosting a multi-cultural day? All kinds. In this segment
of the adventures of Hank, his friends and family the Zipzers, are selected to host a visiting international student. Yoshi Morimoto and his Father are from PS87's sister school in Tokyo and are
visiting schools in America. The visit coincides with PS87's multicultural day.

The prob
lems begin when the gang, Hank, Frankie, Ashley and Yoshi try to make enchiladas and the task of reading the recipe falls on Hank. With his dyslexia he struggles with the fractions, and the enchiladas end up with a lot of zing. Once again Hank learns that telling the truth is the best way to go. A good story in a great series.


Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Tuesday, 24 November 2009

30-15 Upper Body Massacre - Tony Horton One on One Volume 1 Disk 5

Tony Horton
One on One
Volume 1 Disk 5
30-15 Upper Body Massacre
Beachbody

In this insane workout Tony Horton Does
24 Sets, 30 reps for pushups and 15 for pull-ups. He does twelve different exercises repeated for a total of 24 sets. After completing P90X and over 100 days in a row of working out with Tony, this program crushed me. To me there is a little too much talk and too long a break between sets, but I can't keep up with Tony. Fortunately he says to modify and pick your numbers. Also I use the bands for pull-ups because of a shoulder injury, so I swap it out with the 30 and the 15. I did manage 15 pushups for all 12 sets and 20 pull-ups.

The exercises are:

Standard Push Ups
Wide Front Pull Ups

Military Push Ups
Level Pull Ups
Wide Push Ups
Narrow Grip Pull Ups
Diamond Push Ups
Reverse Grip Chin Ups
Staggered Hand Push Ups

Switch Grip Pull Ups
Standard to Chaturanga
Alternating Hands

One on One with Tony Horton is a workout series that you can either choose individual workouts to purchase or on a subscription where you get a new DVD each month. It's just Tony mostly working out in his home gym at his pace. There is less talk and instruction than his standard series and it moves at a quicker pace and has fewer breaks. They are also intended for people in good shape already, or graduates of Power90, P90X, or other Beachbody or other fitness programs.

To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.

Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout

Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and Belly
Volume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance


Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: Yoga MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X











(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Monday, 23 November 2009

Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me! - Hank Zipzer Book 13 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
Hank Zipzer Book 13

Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Penguin Canada
ISBN 9780448443744

As much as I love this series, some of the inconsistencies in the story line are starting to get to me. I have documented in other reviews inconsistencies regarding Hank's statements of his best mark in school. This time it is something different. In this one the principal of PS87 is talking outside the school to Hank's grandfather about peer tutoring and how it might be good for Hank with his learning difficulties. However in book 11, The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down Hank goes through peer tutoring to improve his marks so he can be in the school play. These are great books especially for children with learning disabilities. Yet these story line inconsistencies are starting to detract from the strength of individual books.

In this one Hank learns that his parents are having another baby. All he can see is how this is going to ruin his life, starting with his birthday party that very weekend. Hank makes two major decisions in this book. First he decides that looking after a pet might help him learn how to help with a baby, so his Grandfather papa Pete buys him a Mexican red-knee tarantula named Rosa. He soon finds out a tarantula can cause all kinds of difficulties especially in a pizza parlour. He also decides to throw himself a birthday party, but neither of his best friends can come because they made commitments to go with Hank's mom to look at baby carriages.

This is another fun light adventure in the Hank Zipzer series.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Sunday, 22 November 2009

Ho' Ala ke Kino - Awaken the Body (Yoga) - Tony Horton

Ho' Ala ke Kino - Awaken the Body (Yoga)
Tony Horton
Beachbody

I really enjoy the two yoga DVDs from Tony Horton's One on One series, Patience Hummingbird and Fountain of Youth; both are excellent. I picked this one up for some more variety and to give it a try. It is a little dated - it came out in 2004, before P90X. It is a good workout, but not wholly yoga.
There is a little kempo, and a little cardio. It is 35 minutes, and I am planning on working it in regularly as an extra workout. Tony mentions in the video that it can be good to start the day if you are really stiff, or to end the day. As I said, the video is a little dated, but working out with Tony on a beach in Hawaii, with the sounds of the waves and the surf, helps enhance the workout. I do personally prefer the One on One yoga workouts but as Tony often states: 'different is good', and this adds one more yoga workout to my catalog.


(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Saturday, 21 November 2009

Fancy Nancy - Jane O'Connor and Robin Priess Glasser

Fancy Nancy
Jane O'Connor
(Author)
Robin Preiss Glasser
(Illustrator)
Harper Collins
Browse Inside

ISBN 9780060542092


Fancy Nancy books were recommended to us both by family and by readers of my blog. They are fantastic books to help children develop a more diverse vocabulary. In this the first of the Fancy Nancy Books, Nancy helps her family dress up fancy and they head out for a night on the town. But sometimes things do not go the way you expect. She does teach her family to be fancy, and they do go out, but Nancy has an accident and does not feel very fancy anymore. This is a wonderful little story, in an oversized picture book with fantastic illustrations. The book is as fancy as the person it features.

Fancy Nancy Picture Books:
Fancy Nancy (2005)
Fancy Nancy and the Posh Puppy (2007)

Fancy Nancy Loves! Loves!! Loves!!! (2007)
Fancy Nancy: Bonjour, Butterfly (2008)
Fancy Nancy: Let's Get Fancy Together! (2008)
Fancy Nancy's Fashion Parade! (2008)
Fancy Nancy's Favorite Fancy Words: From Accessories to Zany (2008)
Fancy Nancy: Explorer Extraordinaire! (2009)
Fancy Nancy: Tea Parties (2009)
Fancy Nancy: Halloween...or Bust! (2009)
Fancy Nancy: Splendiferous Christmas (2009)
Fancy Nancy: Heart to Heart (2010)
Fancy Nancy's Elegant Easter (2010)
Fancy Nancy: Poet Extraordinaire! (2010)
Fancy Nancy and the Sensational Babysitter (2010)
Fancy Nancy and the Late, Late, LATE Night (2010)
Fancy Nancy Ohh la La! It's Beauty Day (2010)
Fancy Nancy and the Fabulous Fashion Boutique (2010)

Fancy Nancy I Can Read Books Level 1:
Fancy Nancy and the Boy from Paris (2008)
Fancy Nancy Sees Stars (2008)
Fancy Nancy at the Museum (2008)
Fancy Nancy: Poison Ivy Expert (2009)
Fancy Nancy: Pajama Day (2009)
Fancy Nancy: The Show Must Go On (2009)
Fancy Nancy: The Dazzling Book Report (2009)
Fancy Nancy: The 100th Day of School (2009)
Fancy Nancy: Every Day is Earth Day (2010)

Friday, 20 November 2009

Fitness Options for the Student Lifestyle

Want to be in better shape, feel the need to de-stress? If so, in this article we will look at the pros and cons of three fitness programs from Beachbody.com and how they can work with your student lifestyle. This article is a follow-up and continuation of my four-part series on my personal lifestyle change using P90X. We will examine 3 different programs from Beachbody and how they can be used to continue P90X or on their own to help bring a greater level of fitness to your life. We will be examining One on One with Tony Horton, P90X+ and the 10 Minute Trainer. As a disclaimer, I have not done the full program for these series but I have done each of the workout videos at least once.

All three of these programs are hosted by International fitness sensation Tony Horton. Last year at one
point, P90X and 10 Minute Trainer were both in the 50 top-selling infomercial products; currently P90X is number 1 after 6 years on the market according to industry tracker IMS (Infomercial Monitoring System). Tony has, over the last 20 years, established himself as one of the premier personal training experts. He has worked with such stars as Tom Petty, Billy Idol, Sean Connery, Annie Lennox, Jason Scheff, Rob Lowe and many others. He is a little quirky and a little verbose but his workouts get the job done. The workouts are hard enough that you can get great results, but enjoyable enough that you keep hitting play. At the writing of this, I have hit play over 100 days in a row and worked out with Tony through his DVDs.

One on One With Tony Horton
This is a fantastic series that can be purchased in two different
ways. It can either be a subscription service and you get billed and receive a new video each month in the mail, or you can just buy specific workouts that appeal to your personal taste. They started the year Tony Horton turned 50. The advantage of the subscription service is they send out freebies and gifts from time to time such as bonus workouts, a special holiday workout, a jump rope and more. The cost is about the same at about $20 each. The workouts in this series so far are:

To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.

Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout

Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and Belly
Volume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance


Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: Yoga MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X


The advantage of this series is you can buy just a few to start and add to your collection over time, or join the subscription service and get a new one each month for less than I spend on coffee in a week. These are heart intense workouts - just Tony in his home gym or on the road, doing the workouts he does to stay in shape. My favorites are the 2 Yoga workouts or Just Arms and Diamond Delts. These advanced workouts are for those already in shape and some require more equipment than P90X. But they are worth it. Most of the workouts come in between 40 and 60 minutes. They are filmed with 2 still cameras and 1 camera man following Tony through his routine and interacting with him. They are a lot of fun and full of new exercises or variati ons from other exercises in Tony's cannon.

P90X+
To be honest, I
was very disappointed in this series. Having graduated from P90X I thought this would be a great way to take it to the next level. It adds 5 more workouts to your collection and they become the core, and the original 12 workouts from P90X supplement this regime. The new workouts are Interval X Plus, Kenpo Cardio Plus, Upper Plus, Total Body Plus, and Abs Core Plus. The problem is you absolutely ne ed a chin-up bar for some of these workouts and for a few exercises you need Beachbody's specific chin-up bar. Nowhere on the product website does it have any information stating this. If you did P90X using exercise bands, you're out of luck or need to figure out the modifications yourself. The other disappointing thing about this series is this: in the original P90X Tony works out with 3 other people in each video and most people are in 2 of the 12 videos. For P90X+ it is the same 2 people for each of the five video s. Where are Pam, Dreya, Joe, or some of the others? My final criticism is the feel of the videos. They feel like infomercials; you are constantly being sold the Tony Horton Power Stands, the Chin-up bar, Bowflex Select Tech dumbbells (which Tony uses and raves about in this series but in his home gym on the One on Ones he uses traditional dumbbe lls), and then the supplements. However these are good workouts. Th ey are intense and do take P90X up a notch, but I really think a better continuation of P90X could have been done, by using more workout partners, by offering modifications like in the original P90X and by being less sales oriented.

10 Minute Trainer
After doing P90X th
ese videos seemed a little cheesy, but after doing each of them I have an even greater respect for Tony Horton. He packs a lot of punch into 10 minutes. These videos can either be done alone or stacked. I have met some people online who do one in the morning and one in the evening. If you use the warm-up on the videos you are looking at under 15 minutes. If you do your own you can cut it down a little. Yes you can achieve results in just 10 minutes of hard exercise a day. You basically do 10 exercises for a full minute; most of the exercises are selected to work multiple muscles at a time. The Abs program crushed me my first time through.

When you buy the kit it comes with an exercise band and a door attachment so you have everything you need. It also comes with workout cards so you can do the workouts on the go without the videos, rapid results guide, 10-minute meals and more. I have met people in the teambeachbody.com forums and chats who have lo st up to 60lbs using this program and the nutrition guide that comes with it. For the extremely busy student this might be a great choice, especially if you cannot squeeze 60 to 90 minutes from your day for P90X. All in all it is a good workout series but not my cup of tea. The other really nice feature is, on Tony's blog every so often, he posts up the exercises to create a new 10 Minute workout.

Tony has created numerous 90 day boot camps that can be done in your home. He is acclaimed as a fitness expert and based on the stars and athletes who have used his programs he is definitely a success. But what matters most is that you make a choice to live a healthier lifestyle, learn to make better choices and start moving with one of the workouts outlined above. It will help give you a start at a lifetime of learning to be healthier and to get fit.

Tony Horton Timeline:
1998 Great Body Guaranteed (with Debbie Siebers)
2001 Power 90 (P90)
2002 Power Half Hour
2003 Tony and the Folks! (with Judi Williams)
2003 Tony and the Kids! (with Judi Williams)
2004 Ho' Ala ke Kino - Awaken the Body (Yoga)
2004 P90X
2005 Power 90 Masters Series
2007 P90X+
2008 10 Minuite Trainer :
2008 Tony Horton - One on One Volume 1
2009 Tony Horton - One on One Volume 2
2010 One on One Volume 3 The Making of P90X MC2

(First Published in Imprint 2009-11-13 as 'Fitness Options for the Student Lifestyle'.)


P90X Articles in order Phase I, Phase II, Gear, Phase III, Fitness Options.

(Disclaimer: I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Other Fitness Articles:
Fall 2011 Programs
Workout program March 2012
My Gear February 2012
Fitness My Retrospective

TRX Articles:
TRX an Introduction
TRX Force

TRX Force Tactical
TRX Essential Flexibility

My P90X Series:
Phase I, Phase II, Gear, Phase III, Fitness Options, P90X at 120 Days Out

Health & Fitness Book Reviews:
The Primal Blueprint 21 Day Total Body Transformation - Mark Sisson
The Ten Commandments Of Lifting Weights - Jared Zimmerer

Toadally Primal Smoothies - Todd Dosenberry
Caveman Resurection - Jeff Pickett
40 Days to Optimal Health - Dr. Scott Morris
Eat Stop Eat - Brad Pilon
The Primal Blueprint - Mark Sisson
The New Rules of Lifting - Lou Schuler and Alwyn Cosgrove
Bench Press by: Sven Lindqvist
Sly Moves by: Sylvester Stallone
Fit for Eternal Life: A Christian Approach to Working Out, Eating Right, and Building the Virtues of Fitness in Your Soul by: Dr. Kevin Vost
Body for Life 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strenght by: Bill Phillips
Lose Fat Not Faith by Jeremy R. Likeness
Living The Good Life: Your Guide to Health and Success by: David Patchell-Evans
Dump your Trainer by: Ashley Marriott and Marc L. Paulsen