Saturday, 31 October 2009

Barfing in the Backseat: How I survived my family road trip - Hank Zipzer Book 12 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Barfing in the Backseat:
How I survived my family road trip

Hank Zipzer Book 12
Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 9780448443287


The more I read this series the more I love it. Few series could hold my attention past 3 or 4 books yet this one is doing an admirable job. Not only am I excited about reading the books I have not finished yet, I am looking forward to those not yet published. Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver do an amazing job of capturing the angst, struggles and feelings of a young student struggling with a learning disability. I have said it before but reading parts of these books is like reading segments from my own childhood and my personal struggles with dyslexia.


In this segment of Hank's journey, the family is taking a road trip over the Christmas Holidays. Each member gets to choose a stop along the way. Hank's father, Stanley, started it all by wanting to go to the National Crossword championship. His mother, Randi, chose an organic bee farm; his sister a science museum, and Hank chose a roller coaster park. It looked like it would be a great vacation. Then on the last day of school he is handed a homework pack to help give him an advantage after the break. Once his father finds out about it, Hank's problems begin; he must complete it or he cannot go to the roller coaster park. But vacation and travel and hotels are so much fun he keeps putting it off, then he accidentally leaves it behind at one of the hotels. Hank tries to jump through all kinds of hoops to keep his parents from knowing he lost the package but in the end realized, maybe too late, that the truth is always the best plan.

This is another great book in an awesome series.


Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Friday, 30 October 2009

The 90 Days of P90X is really just the beginning.

Upon reaching the end of a journey, or achieving a goal, we often realize it is not in fact the end but really just the first step in a new journey. I started feeling that part way through P90X. At some point late in phase II or early in phase III, I stopped counting down the days until my 90 days were done and started counting up a number of completed days of being more active and living a healthier lifestyle. That was a big mindset change and I am not sure specifically when it happened but it was a very importa nt shift.
P90X is an amazing program. If you follow Beachbody's motto: "Decide, Commit, Succeed", it is possible to start a transformation that can last the rest of your life. My transformation surprised me; in the last 13 weeks I have worked out 90 days straight. I achieved 11 of 13 goals for the fitness test and I have reached 9 of 14 goals on the fitness level (see chart). But what the chart doesn't show is the body transformation. I lost 56lbs of bod y fat, gained 23lbs of lean muscle mass and lost 33lbs on the scale. I went from a 46 inch pants to a 38 being loose, and from a 3XL shirt to a L. I have succeeded in establishing working out each day as a habit in my life. As well I have started creating patterns of healthier food choices.

There have also been some unexpected benefits and changes. First m y asthma seems to have drastically improved. I have used my inhaler only once in the last 60 days. Also for the last few years I had been having problems with heartburn at night and sometimes it would trigger a coughing attack and I would have to get up, sip some warm liquid, use my inhaler and sleep propped up. That has completely clear ed up. Finally, as I gained weight over the last few years I started snoring - the more weight I gained the worse it got, bothering my wife and sometimes waking myself up. That has completely cleared up also. Those things combined were unexpected benefits contributing both to greater health for myself, and as for the snoring, for my wife also. That combined with how much better I feel, the fact that I have more energy, and I am sleeping better and the sleep is much more restful and restorative, makes this journey well worth the effort.


After the first 4 or 5 workouts I did not want to miss any days. Hitting play was hard a few times when I did not get to begin my workout until 9 or 10 pm because of life, but I managed to do it every day. The hardest part for me was the nutrition. My biggest temptation was pizza - almost every week I wanted pizza. My problem was, in the past, I would often eat all or most of a pizza in a single sitting. I was able to avoid this temptation for most of the 90 days; I did have 1 medium slice part way through and one of my first meals after finishing was pizza, but I limited myself to a reasonable portion. It was also hard to give up pop and carbonated energy drinks. I went the full 90 days without either. I have started drinking a lot more water, and find myself choosing green, red or herbal teas. I still have my one coffee a day at work each morning. I am not prepared to give that one up yet. I also avoided alcohol for all but Thanksgiving Day. Speaking of Thanksgiving, that weekend was a blow-off. Only about half of my meals would have been P90X approved, but I had great times with friends and family.
For a number of years now I have written a journal, often answering the following questions from Crusade a Babylon 5 spin off Science-Fiction TV Show. Each episode began with these questions:

Who are you?
What do you want?
Where are you going?
Who do you serve?
Who do you trust?

In part they have become my own personal driving questions. At the beginning of each term I would journal and answer each question. Those questions were also guided by daily goals, which were:

1. To get enough sleep.
2. To eat right & exercise daily.
3. To refuse to be a perfectionist.
4. To carefully control finances.
5. To ask for help when needed.
6. To pray and read the Bible daily.
7. To not pressure self into planning my entire life today.

I can say that in the last 7 years I had lost discipline in all areas of my life. My personal dream or personal mission statement would be: "To learn to live life to the full, while finding balance between body, mind and spiritual development." What doing P90X has helped me to do is achieve discipline in the physical area of my life, but that discipline has been carrying over into the other two areas of my life.

Since I started this journey I have known about 15 people who have also now started it. So far only 2 are still following the plan. I have also encountered about 20 people who ask about my weight loss, and when I say I am doing P90X they have said that they started it, but did not make it out of the first week, or first month. Many have said they wish they had the commitment to start again and see it through. One even said they would have to find the disks. In order not to be in that category I have accountability - the two men I email after each workout to say it was completed, and the Beachbody online community. The forms and online chats have been very motivational.

Yet as this 90 day, 13 week journey ends where do I go from here? First, for the next few weeks I will be experimenting with some other workouts from Beachbody. I will be trying the workouts from Tony Horton's One on One. Also 10 Minute Trainer and P90X+. I have also borrowed some kettlebells from a friend and am going to try some weight routines for them. My goal now is to decide on another plan and do another 90-day challenge, to maybe reach some of those long-term fitness goals. What program that will be is yet undetermined but I will be starting on November 9th. All I know for sure is I will continue to push play, and work out every day, and try each day to improve my food choices. Therefore the journey continues or begins again.
(First Published in Imprint 2009-10-30.)
(Graphic's courtesy Peter N. Trinh.)
P90X Articles in order Phase I, Phase II, Gear, Phase III, Fitness Options.

(Disclaimer: I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Other Fitness Articles:
Fall 2011 Programs
Workout program March 2012
My Gear February 2012
Fitness My Retrospective

TRX Articles:
TRX an Introduction
TRX Force

TRX Force Tactical
TRX Essential Flexibility

My P90X Series:
Phase I, Phase II, Gear, Phase III, Fitness Options, P90X at 120 Days Out

Health & Fitness Book Reviews:
The Primal Blueprint 21 Day Total Body Transformation - Mark Sisson
The Ten Commandments Of Lifting Weights - Jared Zimmerer

Toadally Primal Smoothies - Todd Dosenberry
Caveman Resurection - Jeff Pickett
40 Days to Optimal Health - Dr. Scott Morris
Eat Stop Eat - Brad Pilon
The Primal Blueprint - Mark Sisson
The New Rules of Lifting - Lou Schuler and Alwyn Cosgrove
Bench Press by: Sven Lindqvist
Sly Moves by: Sylvester Stallone
Fit for Eternal Life: A Christian Approach to Working Out, Eating Right, and Building the Virtues of Fitness in Your Soul by: Dr. Kevin Vost
Body for Life 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strenght by: Bill Phillips
Lose Fat Not Faith by Jeremy R. Likeness
Living The Good Life: Your Guide to Health and Success by: David Patchell-Evans
Dump your Trainer by: Ashley Marriott and Marc L. Paulsen

Thursday, 29 October 2009

The Night I Flunked My Field Trip - Hank Zipzer Book 5 - Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
Hank Zipzer Book 5

Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver

Penguin Canada
ISBN 0448433524

As someone with a dual form of dyslexia, I can really relate to these books. Hank's feelings of inadequacy, his desire to hide his disability, and his heightened level of self-consciousness are
all things I can relate to. I wish these books had been around when I was younger. It's the day of the 4th grade field trip. The students are about to spend the night on a tall ship, The Pilgrim Spirit. But Hank's mind, that doesn't always work the way he wants, has once again forgotten something - his permission slip. His teacher gives him an hour to get it to the school. Fortunately his grandfather papa Pete was able to retrieve the signed slip and get it to the school.

Once Hank's class arrives at the ship they realize another 4th grade class from a different school is joining them on the ship. Hank has many adventures on the ship, but the worst is when he takes over his watch at 4am and realizes the ship is adrift, and the crew that has been bossing the students around all evening are no help for they are just actors playing a role. Hank discovers he has Papa Pete's cell phone. Can he save the day? Can he provide leadership to 2 fourth grade classes? Read and find out.

Books by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank Zipzer Books:
1. Niagara Falls, or Does It?
2. I Got a "D" in Salami
3. Day of the Iguana
4.
Zippety Zinger
5. The Night I Flunked My Field Trip
6. Holy Enchilada!
7. Help! Somebody Get me out of Fourth Grade!
8. Summer School? What Genius thought That Up?
9.
My Secret Life as a Ping-Pong Wizard
10. My Dog's a Scaredy-Cat: A Halloween Tail
11. The Curtain Went Up, My Pants Went Down
12. Barfing in the Backseat: How I Survived My Family Road Trip
13. Who Ordered This Baby? Definitely Not Me!
14. Life of Me
15. A Tail of Two Tails
16. Dump Trucks and Dogsleds: I'm On My Way, Mom!
17. A Brand-New Me!


Ghost Buddy Books:
1. Zero to Hero
2. Mind If I Read Your Mind?
3. How to Scare the Pants off Your Pets

Wednesday, 28 October 2009

Super Cardio - Tony Horton One on One Volume 1 Disk 7

Tony Horton
One on One
Volume 1 Disk 7
Super Cardio
Aka Cardio 5/6 +
Beachbody

This is a great Cardio workout. Nine exercises in three sets of three each repeated three times for a total of 27 sets. It's funny -
I never thought I would like intervals, and for years just hopped on a treadmill, elliptical or bike and just sort of sat in front of the TV or with some tunes on. Tony Horton's programs cause you to be much more engaged, using your mind, paying closer attention to your body and pushing hard. As he says in one of the P90X videos, you can do anything for 30 seconds, but it is when you hit that 27th 30 seconds that you need to summon up commitment and determination to keep going. This video is called Super Cardio on the disk but on the wowy supergym it is called Cardio 5/6.

One on One by Tony Horton is a workout series that you can either choose individual workouts to purchase or on a subscription where you get a new DVD each month. It's just Tony mostly working out in his home gym at his pace. There is less talk and instruction than his standard series and it moves at a quicker pace and has fewer breaks. They are also intended for people in good shape already, or graduates of Power90, P90X, or other Beachbody or other fitness programs.

To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.

Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout

Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and Belly
Volume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance


Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: Yoga MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X












(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Tuesday, 27 October 2009

The Bumpy Little Pumpkin by: Margery Cuyler and Will Hillenbrand

The Bumpy Little Pumpkin
Margery Cuyler (Author)
Will Hillenbrand (Illustrator)
Scholastic
ISBN 9780439528344

This is a wonderful little story book. It is the story of Little Nell who lives with Big Mama, Big Sarah and Big Lizzie. When they are sent to the pumpkin patch to find a pumpkin to carve into a jack-o'-lantern the older girls mock the pumpkin Little Nell likes best. She is left there crying when some of her woodland friends come upon her. They help her carve the pumpkin she likes and her Mom likes it too. It is a great little story about difference. Well illustrated with a charming look and feel.

Sunday, 25 October 2009

Diamond Delts - Tony Horton One on One Volume 1 Disk 12

Tony Horton
One on One

Volume 1 Disk 12
Diamond Delts
Beachbody


I was a little leery about attempting this workout because of a past shoulder injury. A workout dedicated to the shoulder was a little frightening after my injury 4 years ago and surgery 3 years ago. Until I started P90X 3 months ago I had not worked out consistently since before my injury. This workout blew my mind. The first time I did it I went with really light weights, I made it through the workout and my shoulder immediately felt stronger. Towards the end Tony talks about rotator cuff injury and also injury prevention. I wish this workout had been part of my fitness regime before my injury.

The exercises are:
2 Sets
Pike Press
Military Press

6 Direction Shoulder Fly

2 Sets
Pike Press
Sit and Bend FLY
Bending Crucifix FLY

2 SETS

Deep Swimmer Press
Upright Row Y PRE
SS
Lying Backhands

This is a great series of workout DVDs. You can either purchase individual disks or join a subscription service and get a new disk every month. The series started the year Tony Horton turned 50, in response to requests from his fan base for more new workouts. Tony is the creator of bestselling workout programs like Power90, Power Half Hour, P90X, P90X+ and the newest, the 10 Minute Trainer. But these workouts are advance workouts; they have less instruction than his series and do not come with documentation. On the Beachbody forms people there started creating workout sheets to accompany these videos. For $20 each you cannot beat the price of these workouts. You can use them independently or combine them with other Beachbody programs to create Hybrid programs of your own.

To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.

Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout

Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and Belly
Volume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance


Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: Yoga MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X












(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Friday, 23 October 2009

Ghost in the Machine: Ghost in the Machine - Patrick Carman

Ghost in the Machine
Skeleton Creek Book 2
Patrick Carman
Scholastic
ISBN 9780545075701

This much-anticipated sequel to Skeleton Creek is written in the same unique fashion. It i
s not just a book but a multimedia arts experience. The story is told in two parts; the first of the book is Ryan's journal and the second is amateur videos from his friend Sarah Fincher. The book also has a collection of websites and supplemental material to make the story more interesting and innovative. As you read through the book, every now nd again you are given a code to access a video on the website www.sarahfincher.com. Combined with Ryan's journal they tell one complete story. Patrick Carman has created a new entertainment medium with this series, and done a masterful job of it. Like the first book in the series, I read the story alone first, then I read it while watching the videos. The book has the power to stand on its own but is incredible with the videos.

The story continues after the first novel. Sarah and Ryan are trying to find out the mystery around the town's name of Skeleton Creek and the old Mining Dredge out in the woods. Because of Ryan's broken leg in the first book, their parents are trying to keep the two apart. But their youthful technology savvy and desire to find the truth drives them on to keep investigating and the more they learn the more afraid they become.

The story is full of ghosts, rumors of murder, and hidden gold, and these two characters are locked in a struggle to find out the truth before all the clues are destroyed when the town burns the dredge to the ground. The story is addictive; the reader will not want to put it down; you will find yourself wanting to read to the next video and then after watching it, deciding to keep reading even longer.

This book is a fantastic story by an amazing story teller. It is riveting, and skillfully written and filmed. It is an intriguing new form of entertainment that I am sure will be copied and emulated. Carman has crafted not only a new media format, combining writing and video into a single book, but does it very well.

(First Published in Imprint 2009-10-23.)

Other of Patrick Carman Books:

The Dark Hills Divide - The Land of Elyon Book 1
Beyond the Valley of Thorns - The Land of Elyon Book 2

The Tenth City - The Land of Elyon Book 3
Into The Mist - The Land of Elyon Prequel
Stargazer - The Land of Elyon Book 4

The House of Power - Atherton Book 1
Rivers of Fire - Atherton, Book 2
The Dark Planet - Atherron Book 3

Saving Mr Nibbles
- Elliot's Park Book 1
Haunted Hike - Elliot's Park Book 2
The Walnut Cup - Elliot's Park Book 3
A Windy Tale - Elliot's Park Book 4

Skeleton Creek - Skeleton Creek Book 1 - A Prereview.
Ghost in the Machine - Skeleton Creek Book 2

Crossbones - Skeleton Creek Book 3
The Raven - Skeleton Creek Book 4

The Black Circle
- 39 Clues Book 5


Trackers #1

Thirteen Days to Midnight

Thursday, 22 October 2009

Cardio Intervals - Tony Horton One on One Volume 2 Disk1

Tony Horton
One on One

Volume 2 Disk 1

Cardio Intervals
Beachbody


In Volume 2 of this series they have made a number of changes. First Mason, the videographer, who was seen in the background and sometimes asked questi
ons, looks like he will be playing more of a direct role. He has a microphone himself and his interaction with Tony is clearer. He has also switched to a wide-angle camera based on feedback from Volume 1 and they have shortened them up. Apparently, about an hour was too long. This makes the workouts more condensed, more compact. They have also added a countdown clock like on the other Tony Horton series, P90X, Power 90, Power Half Hour and more. Finally they have added chapters so you can skip sections or some of Tony's chatter. Of these new features some will really please users and some won't. Abraham Lincoln once said that "you can please some of the people all of the time and all of the people some of the time, but you can't please all of the people all of the time". These changes will fall into that category.

With warm-up and cool-down, this workout comes in at just under 40 minutes. Both the warm-up and cool-down seem rushed because of the new format. My first time through this, it felt like a great workout, but I finished wanting more and debated doing half of it again. This video has an interval circuit of 20 exercises running from 30-60 seconds each and then repeating. I am glad I did not go back and do a third interval; within an hour of the workout I was starting to stiffen up and a few hours later I was sore in places I had forgotten I even had. This is now one of my favorite Tony Horton workouts, and if it is a true sample of what we can expect in Volume 2 of One on One it will be a fantastic series and a great addition to anybody's workout library (but only if you push play and do the workouts). I recommend watching it once or twice before starting it; this was the first Tony Horton workout I did not do that for and the first time through I was hitting pause and rewind a few times. It will make the first time through much smoother if you do preview them.

One on One with Tony Horton has been on the market a little over a year, from Beachbody. It started as a subscription service when Tony turned 50, because so many fans of his other programs were looking for more workouts with Tony. For about $20 a month you get a new workout DVD each month. You can subscribe and get them all or order the specific ones that grab your attention. These workouts are close, intimate and real. These are advanced workouts for those already in good shape looking to take it to the next level. They are intended for graduates of Power90, P90X, or other Beachbody or other fitness programs.

To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.

Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout

Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and Belly
Volume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance


Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: Yoga MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X












(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Monday, 19 October 2009

Spooky Hour by: Tony Mitton and Guy Parker-Rees

Spooky Hour
Tony Mitton
(Author)
Guy Parker-Rees (Illustrator)
Scholastic
ISBN 0439603730


The cover of this book immediately grabbed my attention. A dancing skeleton - what could be better for the Halloween Season. But upon starting the book it got even better, for it is also a numbers book, with magical, mythical creatures gathering through the woods, and up to the castle. From Trolls, Wizards and Knights to spiders, skeletons and ghosts, they all gather in groups by their numbers and make their way to a Halloween gathering. This is a great story with fantastic illustrations. Will become a family seasonal favorite I am sure.

Saturday, 17 October 2009

Plyo Legs - Tony Horton One on One Volume 1 Disk 1

Tony Horton
One on One

Volume 1 Disk 1

Plyo Legs

Beachbody

One on One with Tony Horton new product from Beachbody, it has been out about a year. It came out the year he turned 50 as a subscription service. For about $20 a month you get a new workout DVD each month.
You can subscribe and get them all or order the specific one's that grab your attention. The Promotion for them states: "One on One with Tony Horton gives you The Man, raw and unfiltered, to drive you to new peaks. It's just you and Tony going mano a mano, doing the crazy-intense workouts he's devised to push himself. It's nonstop, heart-pounding action, delivered right to your door every month. Expect to get your butt kicked, in half the time." From the few I have sampled it lives up to that expectation. Just Tony and 1 camera man and 2 other Camera's mounted for some extra angles. Close personal intimate and very real. These are advanced workouts for those already in good shape looking to take it to the next level. Intended for graduates of Power90, P90X, or other Beachbody or fitness programs.

Currently I am only playing with these video's on my off days from P90X. I have however been experimenting with some of the Tony Horton One on One's to help me decide what I want to do when I finish P90X. This is a good workout for the legs and I really appreciate some of the new exercises. It is 68 Minutes of intense, hard leg work. It is a great workout and I will work it in for some extra variety; however I prefer the original Plyometrics from P90X over this one but that is just personal preference. This is an awesome workout routine that will push you hard - if you're not dripping sweat you're really not working.

To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.

Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout

Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and Belly
Volume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance


Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: Yoga MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X












(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)